Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Making your own .ini guide

9 replies to this topic
Skeeter
  • Skeeter

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#1

Posted 20 December 2005 - 11:25 AM Edited by Skeeter, 20 December 2005 - 11:31 AM.

Keep in mind this was for a mate so he could make some ini games for me to host so it could be incomplete in some places but i hope it helps those who want to try making there own ini files for vcmp.

Clean ini file
QUOTE

; -----------------------------------------------
;  VC:MP Server Configuration File.
; -----------------------------------------------

[GENERAL]

; Set ListenPort to the port this server will listen on.
; Set MaxPlayers to the maximum number of players allowed
; to connect to this server.

MaxPlayers = 15
ListenPort = 4661

; General password configuration. Set NeedPassword to True
; if the server requires a password to connect.

NeedPassword = false
Password = "none"

; IT'S MANDATORY THAT YOU SET THE ADMIN PASSWORD!
; THE SERVER WILL NOT START WITHOUT A VALID PASSWORD.

AdminPassword = "EDIT ME"

; -----------------------------------------------
; BELOW IS GAMEMODE SPECIFIC CONFIGURATION.
; ONLY CHANGE IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING!!!
; -----------------------------------------------

[GAME]

;------------------------------------------------
; Authored by jax of the SA:MP team.
;------------------------------------------------

GameName = "EDIT ME"
GameMode = "generic" ; reserved for future use.
GameModeVersion = 0.2 ; reserved for future use.

FriendlyFire = true

PlayerPos = -1000.0 185.5 11.43 ; Where the local player model is initially placed
CamPos = -1000.0 191.5 12.0 ; Where the camera is situated for class selection
CamLook = -1000.0 185.5 11.5 ; Where the camera is looking for class selection

WorldBounds = 5000.0 -5000.0 5000.0 -5000.0 ; Confine the world to these boundries

Teams = 5 ; Number of teams (use -1 for deathmatch)

; -----------------------------------------------
; <<<<< START OF CLASSES >>>>>
;
; Class =
; #team (0 based / -1 = independant) #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z
; #z_angle #weapon_1 #weapon_1_ammo #weapon_2 #weapon_2_ammo #weapon_3 #weapon_3_ammo
; (use -1 to keep the weapon assignment empty)



; -----------------------------------------------
; <<<<< START OF VEHICLES >>>>>
;
; Vehicle =
; #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z #z_angle #color1 #color2 (use -1 for auto-color from carcols.dat)



; -----------------------------------------------
; THE END


Guide:

QUOTE

How to make ur own ini file

ok first off use a clean ini file provided...

Next we need some paper to jot down id for things, and which weapons for which spawn ppl.

Right this is how i do it, lets add a spawn for a cop....

now we need to go to debug mode of normal vice city..  to do this we just add this command in a shortcut at the end of the location where its installed to -d add that and apply and close the properties thing and then were set to goto debug mode.

Click on ur new shortcut.  Once ingame dont do anything yet,  three things u need to know:

/BUILD 

Activates build mode, and takes you out of the camera mode.

/V <Vehicle ID> 

Creates a vehicle with the type specified. Vehicle IDs can be seen in Vice City\data\default.ide file.

/SAVE 

Writes your car's position, ID and colors to savedpositions.txt file (in your VC directory)
If used when on foot, this command will create an empty player class.

So goto build mode by pressing the key to the left of 1 (or press t i supose i dunno never tried using t to do commands yet).

So now where a vercitti person which we can now go around placing things and saving the co-ordinates.  Ill tell u how.

Right exit the building and make sure ur in a open area (enough for car to spawn) (things usually spawn to the left of u).

So lets have some fast transport and spawn a P90 bike so we just do this first get command mode on press ` (ket left to number 1) or t)

/v 191

then press enter

So we now have spawned a bike, so let hop on it (look about if u cant see it in front of u).  And go to the cop station.

Right get off bike and stand where you want the cop to spawn when ppl choose that person to play as.  Now simply do this

` or t to enter command mode then

/save

then enter/or return

Then thats it, we have saved the co-ordinates smile.gif

To see them in the save file created by debug mode locate the file in ur vice city main directory as called (savedpositions.txt)

Simply alt and tab from the game and open this .txt file with notepad.

Then u will see this

Class = 0 0 -657.5859 761.9145 11.5998 140.5259 0 0 0 0 0 0

This is a clean spawn info so no team or skin or weapons have been made into it yet, heres mine and what i changed

Class = 3 1 -657.5859 761.9145 11.5998 140.5259 [4 1] [17 70] [19 40]

3 = team 3
1 = cop skin
[-657.5859] [761.9145] [11.5998] [140.5259] = is the co-rds
4 1 = 4 is a weapon u pick from default.ide and the 1 is a how many of them u want.  So the 4 is a Nightstick and the 1 is we want 1 of them or if it was a gun it is the ammo value instead. 

So lets break up them last numbers into weapons easier to see (but dont add these brackets to when ur doing the .ini file ok this is just for learning purposes.)

[4 1] = Nightstick (1 of them)
[17 70] = colt 45 and ammo is 70]
[19 40] shotgun with 40 ammo]

Now the value can be weird as ingame the shotgun 40 would be divided into clips so keep this inmind.


Remember it should NOT be like this when u do this in the ini

Class = 3 1 -657.5859 761.9145 11.5998 140.5259 [4 1] [17 70] [19 40]

It SHOULD be like this

Class = 3 1 -657.5859 761.9145 11.5998 140.5259 4 1 17 70 19 40

Ok?  Good..

So now where ready to put this info into our first clean ini file.

So heres where i put it.

; -----------------------------------------------
; <<<<< START OF CLASSES >>>>>
;
; Class =
; #team (0 based / -1 = independant) #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z
; #z_angle #weapon_1 #weapon_1_ammo #weapon_2 #weapon_2_ammo #weapon_3 #weapon_3_ammo
; (use -1 to keep the weapon assignment empty)


; Cops
Class = 3 1 -657.5859 761.9145 11.5998 140.5259 4 1 17 70 19 40

; -----------------------------------------------

As you can see this is where spawns section is.  See the key guide here

; Class =
; #team (0 based / -1 = independant) #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z
; #z_angle #weapon_1 #weapon_1_ammo #weapon_2 #weapon_2_ammo #weapon_3 #weapon_3_ammo
; (use -1 to keep the weapon assignment empty)

This is a guide on how it should be layed out, im not explained all that as i dont have time but i trust you can work it out for yourself. smile.gif

Ok if you want different weapons here is a site where all the weapons are thats usable for this release.

http://vc-mp.gtaconn...TML/ini_ids.htm

The ones in black are usable and the ones in grey arnt working properly yet and would most likly crash the server.

Right so now we have sorted out ur new .ini file and should now look like this:

; -----------------------------------------------
;  VC:MP Server Configuration File.
; -----------------------------------------------

[GENERAL]

; Set ListenPort to the port this server will listen on.
; Set MaxPlayers to the maximum number of players allowed
; to connect to this server.

MaxPlayers = 15
ListenPort = 4661

; General password configuration. Set NeedPassword to True
; if the server requires a password to connect.

NeedPassword = false
Password = "none"

; IT'S MANDATORY THAT YOU SET THE ADMIN PASSWORD!
; THE SERVER WILL NOT START WITHOUT A VALID PASSWORD.

AdminPassword = "EDIT ME"

; -----------------------------------------------
; BELOW IS GAMEMODE SPECIFIC CONFIGURATION.
; ONLY CHANGE IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING!!!
; -----------------------------------------------

[GAME]

;------------------------------------------------
; Authored by jax of the SA:MP team.
;------------------------------------------------

GameName = "EDIT ME"
GameMode = "generic" ; reserved for future use.
GameModeVersion = 0.2 ; reserved for future use.

FriendlyFire = true

PlayerPos = -1000.0 185.5 11.43 ; Where the local player model is initially placed
CamPos = -1000.0 191.5 12.0 ; Where the camera is situated for class selection
CamLook = -1000.0 185.5 11.5 ; Where the camera is looking for class selection

WorldBounds = 5000.0 -5000.0 5000.0 -5000.0 ; Confine the world to these boundries

Teams = 5 ; Number of teams (use -1 for deathmatch)

; -----------------------------------------------
; <<<<< START OF CLASSES >>>>>
;
; Class =
; #team (0 based / -1 = independant) #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z
; #z_angle #weapon_1 #weapon_1_ammo #weapon_2 #weapon_2_ammo #weapon_3 #weapon_3_ammo
; (use -1 to keep the weapon assignment empty)

; Cops
Class = 3 1 -657.5859 761.9145 11.5998 140.5259 4 1 17 70 19 40


; -----------------------------------------------
; <<<<< START OF VEHICLES >>>>>
;
; Vehicle =
; #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z #z_angle #color1 #color2 (use -1 for auto-color from carcols.dat)



; -----------------------------------------------
; THE END


And save that as a new .ini called somit like TEST.ini

And when your doing a server use the vc-mp.exe and in the menu thing at the bottom change vanillia.ini to TEST.ini and then click host or whatever it is lol.  Then enter ur ip and port settings  (port setting can be changed to look at other ports if u wish see this:

MaxPlayers = 15
ListenPort = 4661

So just change to the port that is open to u.

Then save it again or somit so new port info is saved.

Then time to test it out, goodluck in spawning as a cop smile.gif

Its bascially same thing as doing cars in debug mode, except when ur wanting a spawn a person and ur standing in the spot, just park the vehicle where u want it to be in ur game and hop in and then do the /save to save the co-ords

at the end of the vehicle info saved in savedpositions.txt last 2 sets of numbers like

Vehicle = 216 -1017.4315 192.7341 11.1919 352.8697 6 76

the end numbers

6 76 are

1st colour and 2nd colour values, use -1 -1 to make it auto colour from the default game colour picker system.  and when adding cars or somit set it out like

; -----------------------------------------------
; <<<<< START OF VEHICLES >>>>>
;
; Vehicle =
; #model_id #spawn_x #spawn_y #spawn_z #z_angle #color1 #color2 (use -1 for auto-color from carcols.dat)

; bikers bikes -

Vehicle = 166 -588.5901 655.7967 10.5657 147.3603 -1 -1
Vehicle = 166 -586.8683 655.9906 10.5657 152.1566 -1 -1
Vehicle = 193 -585.1315 656.2911 10.5660 152.2803 -1 -1
Vehicle = 193 -583.4587 656.6058 10.5657 154.6295 -1 -1
Vehicle = 193 -581.9373 656.7519 10.5653 152.6518 -1 -1
Vehicle = 193 -580.3585 656.8563 10.5659 155.3832 -1 -1



; -----------------------------------------------
; THE END

So basically that.

Oh and one note.  When i add say a cop spawn point and a few cop cars very near the spawn point, and im in savedpositions.txt i just copy the info and paste into ini and then select all in the savedpositions.txt and delete that info and go back to game and place more things, I do this to make sure that savedpositions.txt doesnt get filled with lots of stuff and i just do a few things at a time, like a biker spawn then some bikes, then get co-ords then copy the info then delete the info in savedpositions.txt then do somit else (remember to save savedpositions.txt after clearing it.


gmgo
  • gmgo

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2005

#2

Posted 20 December 2005 - 11:40 AM Edited by gmgo, 20 December 2005 - 11:43 AM.

OK, i got a question. When editing the characters, whenever i put a number higher than 99 at the char's ID (like 112 for Phil Casady), the character doesn't have the skin. Instead, it uses the skin of the character next to him. For example:

QUOTE
; Law
Class = 0 1 -657.076294 762.287720 11.599755 130.7 0 0 17 136 19 30
Class = 0 2 509.309021 513.825317 12.103368 186.0 0 0 17 136 25 300
Class = 0 3 -821.818481 824.249023 11.084617 196.1 0 0 17 136 26 180

; The Sharks
Class = 1 87 82.608452 1102.561401 25.491444 75.4 9 1 22 180 21 32
Class = 1 88 17.008881 1148.772461 23.527164 180.7 0 0 18 36 27 360

; Bikers
Class = 2 93 -597.619446 653.861145 11.071777 13.4 1 1 24 300 19 46
Class = 2 94 -539.271362 696.654358 11.084653 247.7 1 1 24 300 19 46

; Army
Class = 3 4 -1720.858887 -155.850555 14.868327 265.6 5 1 17 136 32 400
Class = 3 112 -1082.766357 323.651916 11.263037 265.6 30 5 28 100 34 12

; Undercover Cops
Class = 4 97 -874.322998 -683.454102 11.290915 326.8 0 0 17 136 25 300
Class = 4 104 -870.946533 -685.190857 11.212971 334.6 0 0 17 136 25 300

; Chick Gang
Class = 5 14 -758.352966 -1584.810913 18.566093 332.0 0 0 17 136 20 56
Class = 5 21 -746.899353 -1589.474365 18.566097 342.2 0 0 18 36 27 360

; Vercetti Gang
Class = 6 95 -410.094330 -585.276733 11.628822 323.7 0 0 23 136 26 180
Class = 6 96 -379.328278 -593.527954 10.362345 187.7 0 0 23 136 31 400
Class = 6 108 -379.328278 -593.527954 10.362345 187.7 11 1 33 500 20 49

; Worker's Syndicate
Class = 7 61 123.041610 -372.577178 9.071595 187.7 7 1 18 35 19 46


IN this case, the undercover cop character is the one alredy set up at the default vanilla.ini. But the skin of PHil (at army team, ID:112) and the skin of Ken Rosenberg (at Vercetti Gang, ID:108) are messed up. WHen i choose say Phil, either has the skin of the previous char or the one afterwards. How do i fix this, or, what am i doing wrong?

P.D.: When i mean skin, i also was referring to the model blush.gif

Jamming
  • Jamming

    [AP] Assassins in Paradise [AP]

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2005

#3

Posted 20 December 2005 - 05:00 PM

Finally some one has made a guide for this. Now how would you host this after you created it?

Bobesz
  • Bobesz

    Just a random member

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2004

#4

Posted 20 December 2005 - 05:33 PM

QUOTE (gmgo @ Dec 20 2005, 11:40)
OK, i got a question. When editing the characters, whenever i put a number higher than 99 at the char's ID (like 112 for Phil Casady), the character doesn't have the skin. Instead, it uses the skin of the character next to him.
P.D.: When i mean skin, i also was referring to the model blush.gif

That's a known problem. You should only use special(99 and above) or not special(before 99) caracters.

f3llah1n
  • f3llah1n

    God

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2005

#5

Posted 20 December 2005 - 08:11 PM

QUOTE (Jamming @ Dec 20 2005, 17:00)
Finally some one has made a guide for this. Now how would you host this after you created it?

On a server turn.gif

gmgo
  • gmgo

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2005

#6

Posted 20 December 2005 - 09:54 PM

QUOTE (Bobesz @ Dec 20 2005, 17:33)
That's a known problem. You should only use special(99 and above) or not special(before 99) caracters.

I'm sorry, but i dont understand what you mean.

Skeeter
  • Skeeter

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#7

Posted 21 December 2005 - 01:23 AM

About the skins

You cant use certain skins like single player specific ones i think, (read erm Grand Theft Auto_Vice City\vice_city\data\default.ide) with notepad. You can use all but the ones with "special" in and i dont think the special vice squads either)

Someone on the forums made a zip of pics of all known skins so this would be good to use for visual picking of skins. Also for cars you can use the default.ide as well but visual car list i think on this forum is also posted is also better as you can pick a car by the looks unless you know the game quiet well.

To make this work start vcmp and then point the ini box to point to your new ini that you made. Set the port to whatever port you specified in the ini and choose max players. Enter ip of the server and if your hosting it can be 127.0.0.1 as that is default for the computer your on and will use ur ip automatically for the game. Share the port and ip and share that with other people who you wish to play with in ur server. (www.whatsmyip.com for proper ip to share) Start the server a dos box pops up then you can let ppl know to join the server now as its up. Then join ur self. Once in pick ur skin/spawn and then play.

gmgo
  • gmgo

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2005

#8

Posted 22 December 2005 - 06:00 PM

Using the IDs from the zip, with all the pictures, i can't cause the highers than 99.

Skeeter
  • Skeeter

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#9

Posted 31 December 2005 - 09:26 PM

Just that zip shows all skins ingame, doesnt mean there all usable, just select any skin below 90 and ur game should be ok.

Serafim
  • Serafim

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2005

#10

Posted 31 December 2005 - 09:43 PM

Good topic, man. This topic will help some ppl to do a script. I have a problem with my script too, I can put only 83 cars. You can check in this topic:
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=228241




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users