Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Brume engine

31 replies to this topic
wapwork
  • wapwork

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#1

Posted 17 November 2005 - 11:34 PM

Hi !

I found this 3D engine on SourceForge.net

Brume

If you go to the project home page there are a lot of screenshots from Vice City.
It seems that the engine can load GTA objects with textures. A guy has even made GTA skinned animations !!!

Maybe you can do something with this...
Is it possible to code en entire mod with that ? The engine is in C#.

Spuds725
  • Spuds725

    Party Animal

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2003
  • United-States
  • Contribution Award [GTAF]

#2

Posted 18 November 2005 - 06:07 PM Edited by Spuds725, 18 November 2005 - 06:10 PM.

Moved to modding>editting>misc...from VC>general discussion.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#3

Posted 18 November 2005 - 10:52 PM

looks interesting, but i really really really dislike C#.

aru
  • aru

    *poof*

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005
  • None

#4

Posted 19 November 2005 - 08:52 AM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Nov 18 2005, 17:52)
looks interesting, but i really really really dislike C#.

Why... C# is the perfect implementation of an high level OOP language. Minimal length tokens for commonly used language constructs... fully type safe... runs in a JIT compiled environment.. fully managed and garbage collected... access to the .net libraries... the language specification is published as a standard. Doesn't get any better than that smile.gif

But indeed, the 3d engine does look very interesting. But it's just a 3d rendering engine, nothing more. You can create a game ontop of it, but I doubt its very useful for writing a mod for GTA... You could possibly write some form of utility that uses it and the dff loader it has.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#5

Posted 19 November 2005 - 09:09 AM

QUOTE (aru @ Nov 19 2005, 09:52)
You could possibly write some form of utility that uses it and the dff loader it has.

maybe importer / exporters..

GTAnarcist
  • GTAnarcist

    FINALLY BACK!

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2004

#6

Posted 20 November 2005 - 12:56 AM

is this just the same as GGMM?

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#7

Posted 20 November 2005 - 02:07 PM

QUOTE (GTAnarcist @ Nov 20 2005, 01:56)
is this just the same as GGMM?

what do you mean?

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#8

Posted 21 November 2005 - 04:00 AM

QUOTE (GTAnarcist @ Nov 19 2005, 19:56)
is this just the same as GGMM?

GGMM is a Mod installer. Brume is a game engine. They are not the same.

QUOTE
You can create a game ontop of it, but I doubt its very useful for writing a mod for GTA...

i've always thought it would be an interesting idea/project, to recode gta, on one of these free game engines. a ton of work yea, but think of the payoff. Do it you slags!

cBonky
  • cBonky

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2005

#9

Posted 21 November 2005 - 04:13 AM

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Nov 21 2005, 04:00)

i've always thought it would be an interesting idea/project, to recode gta, on one of these free game engines. a ton of work yea, but think of the payoff. Do it you slags!

Yesss massster... -hobbles back to his cubicle-

*thinks how familiar this is to working for the big M*

wapwork
  • wapwork

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#10

Posted 25 November 2005 - 10:07 PM

I asked the developpers for the source code of the gta part.

It seems that someone used Brume to load levels, meshes and play skinned animations.
They try to contact the guy to get the source code.
I will post as soon as they release something or send me some samples.

May be interesting colgate.gif

aru
  • aru

    *poof*

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005
  • None

#11

Posted 26 November 2005 - 02:34 AM

It's an open source project. The source code should already be available on SF.

brume/Brume/3DEngine/Meshes/Complex/DffMesh.cs
brume/Brume/Utils/Dff.cs
brume/Brume/Utils/DffStructs.cs

wapwork
  • wapwork

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#12

Posted 28 November 2005 - 08:15 PM

Yes it's true but what for the txds ? And that won't load an entire Level !
The screenshots look really better than just a mesh load....

wapwork
  • wapwork

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#13

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:19 PM

Ok here it is !

It took me a long time to get the project because Brume's team is working on the 3D engine and on another game.
They released version 1.2 of the engine so they had also to recode some parts of the GTA project to make it work.

They shared the project here : GTAViceCity
But I don't know how long it will be available.

All you have to do is to get Brume's dlls and data (v1.2) : Brume dlls
The "Data" directory must be placed outside the project's directory or you will have to adapt paths.


From your Vice City installation dir, extract the img file into the main game directory (into gta3vc_img for example) and edit the source file GTA3Manager.GTAVC to change the gtaPath variable in the constructor to adapt it to your installation.

Once done, just run the project and enjoy !
You can also edit GTA3ViceCity.GameInit() and uncomment the testXXXX methods to see all demos.

Good luck !

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#14

Posted 07 February 2006 - 08:29 PM

So, what exactly can you do with this? Can you walk around Vice City? confused.gif

wapwork
  • wapwork

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#15

Posted 07 February 2006 - 10:33 PM

Yes ! That's it !

You can walkaround the entire level (il you load all the stuff). You can see peds (with anims), vehicles and levels.
There is also a start of car physics with ODE (but not really finished, you can walk sit in the car and drive but it needs some tuning).
There is enough stuff to experiment.

You can also have a look at their screenshots on the website.

I thing it's a good beginning for tools or other stuff. Ah yes I forgot : there is also a GTA San Andreas project. But I did not manage to fix it sad.gif

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#16

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:28 PM

txd.cs:

CODE
   // txd image info header
   public struct TxdImage {
       public ulong containing; // 4 = image
       public ulong gameType;  // 268697599= GTAVC, 134283263= GTA3, 201523199= ?
       public ushort texturecount; // texture count if this is the first image!
       public ushort unknown0; // ???

       public ulong split;        // 21

       public ulong sizeA;        // size of data + 116
       public ulong gametype2;    // 268697599= GTAVC, 134283263= GTA3, 201523199= ?
       public ulong unknown1;     // alaways 1, what could it be...
       public ulong sizeB;        // size of data + 92
       public ulong gametype3;    // 268697599= GTAVC, 134283263= GTA3, 201523199= ?
       public ulong unknown10;    // 8


hmm well, they used my work without saying thanks, i recognize those comments sad.gif

X-Seti
  • X-Seti

    Retro modding.

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2005
  • Mars

#17

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:51 PM Edited by Mc-Kay, 08 February 2006 - 01:58 PM.

Could this be the next band-wagon or do we stay with the devil we know?
our highly modded engine for SOL, with extra bugs.

Teun, is this worth a look, least we could have access to the soucecode

This isn't the only engine i've come across, i've tried another that can load GTA mesh (dff+txd)

Sadly the site I found this project on no longer exists, there was a thread on gtaforums about 6 months ago about this?

tux.coder
  • tux.coder

    Mission Coder@GTA:SOL

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2004

#18

Posted 08 February 2006 - 02:32 PM

Oh man ! That must be heaven, no more sh*tty limits, no more limited MAIN threads, no more ! Which editor can I use to do scripting for this engine ?

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#19

Posted 08 February 2006 - 02:57 PM Edited by teun.steenbekkers, 08 February 2006 - 03:07 PM.

Well, I don't really know... I think we should finish the mod for VC first off course, and then we should think of a new engine... But who's gonna study how the engine works and allow for GTA like mission coding, nice rendering (maybe even better rendering) animations, all that stuff... It has to stay moddable. smile.gif

EDIT: @Tux: I found this link on their site, it's the new site I think, with tutorials for the engine like Specular light, video tuts though. 65 MB each... Brume thingy

tux.coder
  • tux.coder

    Mission Coder@GTA:SOL

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2004

#20

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:01 PM

Since it's open-source, it's always moddable ! We should contact with the developers of it, they know much more than we do.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#21

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:12 PM

QUOTE
nice rendering (maybe even better rendering)

yea, thats what has me the most enthused. anything is better than the vice default. personally im going to look into the broom rendering topics and see what i can do. i dont even care if the project takes off, i just want to make Vice look better.

2 other things to consider - object streaming, and water, neither of which look like they're there yet. but i gotta give those guys credit, they did get a good start on this. dont like the sky though. but still..

edit:lol, mostly you SOL guys eh.. tounge.gif

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#22

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:18 PM

The Stack Video is pretty cool! It shows a pile of balls falling down on eachother and stuff, nice pshysics (I dunno really, I think it's good) biggrin.gif

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#23

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:23 PM

So, DexX, if you get Vice looking better, would it be possible to put this in the RenderWare engine of GTA?

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#24

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:40 PM

QUOTE (teun.steenbekkers @ Feb 8 2006, 10:23)
So, DexX, if you get Vice looking better, would it be possible to put this in the RenderWare engine of GTA?

anything i attempt on this will be in the brume engine, so i need/want full access to the rendering pipeline, and is NOT transferable to renderware-based gta. with the source available, its more a matter of "how" to do something, like say telling a shader to use <whichever> lights in the scene, or how to blend the textures. i haven't looked yet, but if they have any kind of HLSL support, i'll probably wet myself with glee.

in rw-based gta, without compileable source to the game, this is only possible by loading external dll's and memory hacking and even then, the access is farily limited and obtuse. for vice i probably wouldnt even bother, since i would have to keep compiling against d3d8 anyway.

thats all a very fancy way of saying "no, its not transferable".

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#25

Posted 08 February 2006 - 03:45 PM Edited by teun.steenbekkers, 08 February 2006 - 04:07 PM.

Hmmm, I downloaded this, but do I have to put the GTA3ViceCity.rar contents into the folder with bin in it? And how do I change the path in which the dff's and txd's are in?

EDIT: I get an error, dammit! Well, I'm gonna mod, someone else can try this... biggrin.gif

wapwork
  • wapwork

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#26

Posted 08 February 2006 - 07:11 PM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Feb 8 2006, 13:28)
txd.cs:

CODE
   // txd image info header
   public struct TxdImage {
       public ulong containing; // 4 = image
       public ulong gameType;  // 268697599= GTAVC, 134283263= GTA3, 201523199= ?
       public ushort texturecount; // texture count if this is the first image!
       public ushort unknown0; // ???

       public ulong split;        // 21

       public ulong sizeA;        // size of data + 116
       public ulong gametype2;    // 268697599= GTAVC, 134283263= GTA3, 201523199= ?
       public ulong unknown1;     // alaways 1, what could it be...
       public ulong sizeB;        // size of data + 92
       public ulong gametype3;    // 268697599= GTAVC, 134283263= GTA3, 201523199= ?
       public ulong unknown10;    // 8


hmm well, they used my work without saying thanks, i recognize those comments sad.gif

Delfi, dont't be so sad.

I think that your work helps all the comunity. Ok they didn't say "thanks" but they used your work (as we all do ?) because it was good work ! colgate.gif

SO I SAY THANKS !

I just read steve's post (on his website) on lack of info from GTA developpers and lack of a modding sdk and I think that we have to use every tool or info to achieve better modding tools.


X-Seti
  • X-Seti

    Retro modding.

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2005
  • Mars

#27

Posted 09 February 2006 - 03:59 AM Edited by Mc-Kay, 09 February 2006 - 04:18 AM.

We have another thing to think about asfar as the Vice City engine goes.

Limit and size of the GTA3.img file (I've looked into ways of splitting it up), I don't really like the idea of having a 3.Gig img file?.

Game crashes at 1.8Gig, no room for the rest of the SA files. smile.gif

Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#28

Posted 09 February 2006 - 06:10 AM

SA has multiple IMG files, all loaded in the gta.dat. So I think if we'd put SA's files into a separate IMG, it'd load OK. smile.gif

X-Seti
  • X-Seti

    Retro modding.

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2005
  • Mars

#29

Posted 09 February 2006 - 06:45 AM

QUOTE (teun.steenbekkers @ Feb 8 2006, 23:10)
SA has multiple IMG files, all loaded in the gta.dat. So I think if we'd put SA's files into a separate IMG, it'd load OK. smile.gif

No, it wouldnt work, The engine needs to know how to load the new img files and it doesnt know the IMG tag what would have to be put in the GTA_VC.Dat.




Quadropheniac90
  • Quadropheniac90

    Confused Clown

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 15 Feb 2005

#30

Posted 09 February 2006 - 01:40 PM

Noobquestion: Is it technically possible to make the VC engine able to load GTA3 Peds too? biggrin.gif Guess not...

EDIT: And make Brume do this off course!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users