Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[Official] Myriad Islands Train

371 replies to this topic
insomniacnumba1
  • insomniacnumba1

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2006

#361

Posted 21 February 2007 - 10:26 PM

is there any progress on getting tracks4.dat working yet?

MajesticNL
  • MajesticNL

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2005
  • Netherlands

#362

Posted 27 April 2007 - 08:06 PM

I aszume that there are people here that now much about trains, well I have a problem, This one works when i start SA:

CODE

10
438.46 231.597 18.2 0
180.0 231.597 18.2 0
152.108 233.802 18.2 0
150.065 233.991 18.2 0
122.904 240.539 18.2 0
121.094 240.99 18.2 0
95.2912 251.706 18.2 0
93.5591 252.42 18.2 0
69.7503 267.041 18.2 0
68.2697 267.944 18.2 0


And this one not...
CODE

11
438.46 231.597 18.2 0
180.0 231.597 18.2 0
152.108 233.802 18.2 0
150.065 233.991 18.2 0
122.904 240.539 18.2 0
121.094 240.99 18.2 0
95.2912 251.706 18.2 0
93.5591 252.42 18.2 0
69.7503 267.041 18.2 0
68.2697 267.944 18.2 0
47.2412 286.109 18.2 0


As you see, i only edit one more line in the second code.
Anyone knows why ???

dj_chrismanno
  • dj_chrismanno

    GTT Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006

#363

Posted 02 May 2007 - 03:48 PM

Hi My Name is Chris and I am a path writer for trains in San andreas and a plane path writer for Vice city.
As for the train paths and spawning . i see it as to modes. Mode one is in a mission script where you make a train spawn at one of the many grid references in a path file and set the speed to run at. This way is good if you want to use many trains and see more then one train at once. You can Also change the structure of the train by writing in the mission script to add coach# Name.

in a mission a train is not chosen to drive on a specific path. It is just given a grid reference out of one of the paths and the path with the grid reference selected is used. Where as in pony farm Only tracks.dat is used.


I like mode 2 better.

Mode 2 is purely relying on the power of the exe. (not on mission Mode) The exe makes a train spawn at any grid reference in the tracks.dat file. from a point set by the radius of the characters position.

I don't know for sure if you have solved the trains stopping problem but you must do 2 things. Make sure you have 6 destinations along the path. This means that 6 of the lines in the path file will have a 1 at the end and not a 0. if you build your path and it does not crash then .. i would then add in the 6 station points in the path file. The exe wont handle more the 6 stations. or less. Having less causes a random stop and having more causes crash at loading screen.

By not adding the the grid references forces the train to stop randomly which is set in the exe and the train will stop accelerating at the last grid reference.

---
I have an idea for the structure of the path file that will work if you have 4 or 3 destinations: if you have 2 tracks side by side in a circuit, and have stations on both sides of the track you can have the train drive on each track in 1 circuit on the same path file. when the train has made one revolution of the circuit, make the train shift from one track to the other and it will do a second revolution on the 2nd track. After making this revolution, the train will start again and merge back to the 1st track. You will just have to add a little bit of track between the two tracks to make it look like it is changing tracks... not jumping the tracks. note: i made a mod in San Andreas which made a train do what i described. Behind millies house(gf) it was single track, so this is where i made the path file start. If this post is unhelpful i apologies.

cheers
dj_chrismanno

jessrocked
  • jessrocked

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006

#364

Posted 08 May 2007 - 01:32 PM

just a suggestion...

i think its cool to have a school building, hospitals, more accessible malls, and another island which has a different atmosphere...

benshelock
  • benshelock

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2007

#365

Posted 02 June 2007 - 03:19 PM

Wow this is truely amazing! I Can't belive how you guys can do this alien.gif

benshelock
  • benshelock

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2007

#366

Posted 02 June 2007 - 03:56 PM

Im not much of an expert on this. In fact im a real noob but i found something that might be of use to you.

Train Track Editor

With that you can edit the train track. you could put it in the island.

I hope ive helped you biggrin.gif

trains
  • trains

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2005

#367

Posted 18 June 2007 - 10:53 PM

Just wondering but how is this going guys? I loved Myrid for Vice and now that I own San An I am getting it for there to. I really hope you guys get the railroad in soon.

dj_chrismanno
  • dj_chrismanno

    GTT Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2006

#368

Posted 16 July 2007 - 02:42 PM

Ahh yes, the train track editor is a good program. I personally find writing paths and station stops easier when i do it manually but for some people the train track path editor is really good. icon14.gif smile.gif

Gforce
  • Gforce

    "Segregate and Rearrange" "The Hills"

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#369

Posted 17 July 2007 - 05:02 PM

the trains were pretty much sorted out quite a long time ago.

as can be seen in my posts Here and Here

trains
  • trains

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2005

#370

Posted 22 February 2008 - 08:20 PM

Welcome to 08. Just wondering but how is the progress on the railroad coming?

Gforce
  • Gforce

    "Segregate and Rearrange" "The Hills"

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#371

Posted 24 February 2008 - 12:06 AM

the train network is pretty much in the same condition that it was in the 0.69b release.

feel free to participate and do some work with it, it does include 6 stations in the .dat but its experimental.

we've been busy with fixing up other important aspects of the mod instead of working on the train stuff.

ashutoshekka
  • ashutoshekka

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2011

#372

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:11 AM

[COLOR=blue] When r u all going 2 complete this its 4 past years! nervous.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users