Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Inserting a map object

12 replies to this topic
dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#1

Posted 30 July 2005 - 07:23 AM Edited by Suction Testicle Man, 13 September 2005 - 12:39 PM.

dertyjerzian's San Andreas Max Mapping Tutorial. V0.2
*Allow me to tell you first and foremost that putting a custom-made map into San Andreas is currently a tough thing to accomplish without plenty of testing effort. This tutorial is meant to show you how to put an object into the game and begin your map.

What you will need, Mr Max Modeler, sir~
•An img archiving tool. I use !Spark because all changes are stored in memory so changes aren't made until you confirm them in a save. It also has a smart-compile feature that eliminates the need for the user to compile the img after editing.
•You'll also need the Panda DirectX plug-in. I've got the R7 version for you here.
Steve-M's ColMaker. (col-editor II on the way!) It comes along with a very well written README outlining the proper way to setup your PandaX plugin for export.
•Note-Pad is currently a necessity, but I'm very sure you'll be glad you did it this way first. I found a more eye-friendly version of note-pad by REspawn made specially for GTA games with loads of cool features here. I highly recommend you check it out. You'll be glad you did that, too.
•TXD Workshop. If I need to say more, you might need to wait a bit before doing maps. It's home is here.
•Head over here and grab Kam's latest DFF I/O script. *READ* THE README and install the script.

Step One: Have A Model
•First thing you're going to have to do is model something and UV Map it. I'm going to assume you have already done just that.
In fact, I'm sure that you've copied me and modeled something like this. Further, I have assumed that confiscated this picture from you:

user posted image

•I've taken the time to delete the bottom of this model. This paractice will always come in handy when you begin working with larger projects:

user posted image


Step Two: Prepare The Building
•You're going to want to be sure that the absolute position of your building is 0.0 for all axis before you move on to exporting it, like so:
•New to max? Right clicking the Move transformer tool icon provides you with this nifty transport box for ultimate accuracy in placing objects throughout 3D f*cking space.)

user posted image


Step Three:
•Now we need to export our model in Panda text DirectX format for use with Steve-M's ColMaker. Follow steve's readme and export to the X file will be simple.
•Next, MaxScript>Run Script and run Kam's script so we can turn out our building in DFF format.
•Export should look like this!

user posted image


End Part One
•Now that we have our Panda DX file and our DFF format model of our building in a safe spot, we can move on. Finished with max, we can now close it.

Jay.
  • Jay.

    3-D Modeler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2004

#2

Posted 30 July 2005 - 07:45 PM

Lol, that tutorial is ace! Nice work, chief.

Doesn't need changed at all in my opinion. For one thing, we are modding an adults only game...



-Jay

djjack
  • djjack

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2005

#3

Posted 31 July 2005 - 06:29 AM

Thanks for the tutorial, i noob for this MAP questions, great job biggrin.gif

jancooo
  • jancooo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2005

#4

Posted 03 August 2005 - 06:02 PM

when will be avaible part 3?

Tanjes
  • Tanjes

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2005

#5

Posted 14 August 2005 - 07:11 PM

Hello,

( Afflicted if my English is false, but I am French... )

Here I have a problem on the level of the creation of col, at the beginning any outward journey super good, but for some time I do not arrive any more has to make col has each time in the play I pass through the object. And I however block on that... I did everything correctly.

As I would like to know how made as a col and not to make plusior col file for each dff ?

Thank you

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#6

Posted 15 August 2005 - 06:08 AM

QUOTE (Tanjes @ Aug 14 2005, 14:11)
Hello,

( Afflicted if my English is false, but I am French... )

Here I have a problem on the level of the creation of col, at the beginning any outward journey super good, but for some time I do not arrive any more has to make col has each time in the play I pass through the object. And I however block on that... I did everything correctly.

As I would like to know how made as a col and not to make plusior col file for each dff ?

Thank you

I think that what you said was that your col is there, just not in-line with your model? If do, refer to the tutorial for a picture of the move transform picture to help you understand that all axis must be set to zero upon export of your buildings.

You're model must be at 0,0,0 (x,y, and z) in order to export two matching files.

Tanjes
  • Tanjes

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2005

#7

Posted 15 August 2005 - 12:10 PM

In made they are building Vice City, therefore the axis (0,0,0)

But I have another problem, I do not manage to put more than 3 objects in the play, 4 fact quite simply of planting the play.

Here lines of IPL, IDE and the IMG

CODE

19000, havhotel, lhhotelbg, 1, 599, 0
19001, mansion1gardens, star4, 1, 599, 0
19002, mansion3_base, star5, 1, 599, 0


CODE

19000, havhotel, 0, 2405.9509, 977.785, 197.03235, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
19001, mansion1gardens, 0, 2405.9509, 977.785, 97.03235, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1
19002, mansion3_base, 0, 2605.1029, 913.027, 98.28026, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1


user posted image

as soon as I add for example a building moreover and I puts the following lines

19003, mansion3gardens2, star3, 1, 599, 0
-
19002, mansion3gardens2, 0, *****, ********, *******, 0, 0, 0, 1, -1

and files, dff, txd, and col in the img.


Does the play plant quite simply, a solution against this probléme? Thank you

( It would be said that it is limited has 3 objects, but however maps like "Ocram" one no probléme ...)

sbn
  • sbn

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2005

#8

Posted 15 August 2005 - 12:43 PM

Try using a lower numbers like 18000, maybe you're already at the end of the number range (Don't ask me how I can think this.)And if that doesn't work. Maybe try to make your objects bigger (like putter 2 objects in 1 dff & col file).
-
Greatings sbn

Tanjes
  • Tanjes

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2005

#9

Posted 16 August 2005 - 09:14 PM

Even by using different numbers Ca always plants.

t is for when part 3 of the tutorial ?
Ca will help me enormously because I remain to block...: /

Thank you

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#10

Posted 02 September 2005 - 07:58 AM

Updated to put on site, tables added. You can still look over the older, more complete tutorial here

Some of the problems above are because sa allows only 5 new objects with all of SA still present.

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#11

Posted 12 September 2005 - 05:28 AM

Ok...

With Kam's script for Map IO out, I'll want to actually refine this entire tutorial while finishing it. I need to learn the new features added with the release of the script, expect a decent guide for many aspects soon.

edit: whoops... that's me right above blush.gif

Alega!
  • Alega!

    The Webmaster

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2004

#12

Posted 10 May 2006 - 12:38 PM

QUOTE (sbn @ Aug 15 2005, 12:43)
Try using a lower numbers like 18000

Very THANK YOU!!!

Edit: ooops, the thread is old sorry

NeonLytton
  • NeonLytton

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2007

#13

Posted 07 August 2007 - 02:47 PM

So far so good. colgate.gif

But nows the twist. I'm getting everything right till here.
But when I try importing the model into the game(VC), it doesn't work. dontgetit.gif

I used Panda Exporter to make a .X file, then Collmaker to make a .col file.
I used MapEditor to import the model into game, I can even see the model where its supposed to be in MapEd and MooMapper.

But when I come close to it in game, VC crashes. nervous.gif

Hopefully the next part of your tutorial will expound on this. rolleyes.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users