Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|Alpha] GTA Map Viewer

94 replies to this topic
steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#1

Posted 08 July 2005 - 06:35 PM

Since I won't have much time to continue working on my map viewer the next weeks, and due to the many requests I received, I decided to publish the current alpha version. Works for GTA III, VC and SA (all PC). SA PS2 should work too, but very ugly and buggy.

[ Download GTA Map Viewer ]


NOTE: This an early, user-unfriendly, slow alpha version - don't complain! tounge.gif

And before using, read the complete readme! You won't get it working otherwise. And I will ignore questions that are already answered there.

Edit: Good descriptions how to create the games.cfg can be found here.

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
  • nick7 likes this

ThaKilla
  • ThaKilla

    I'm not wack, im all wacked-out!

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2004

#2

Posted 08 July 2005 - 06:38 PM

Thanks.. I have been waiting on this, from the time I saw it working on the PS2.

At least we can get a feel of how the map is setup.

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#3

Posted 08 July 2005 - 06:39 PM

Looking fabulous. Intentions question: Will this one day grow to be the map editing tool that MooMapper was? Kudos for making it work with all GTA3Ds smile.gif

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#4

Posted 08 July 2005 - 06:52 PM

QUOTE (Demarest @ Jul 8 2005, 20:39)
Looking fabulous. Intentions question: Will this one day grow to be the map editing tool that MooMapper was? Kudos for making it work with all GTA3Ds smile.gif

No. But the techniques and algorithms I'm using will be made available to the MooMapper coders, so we can see some better quality there some day. Or a completely new tool from scratch. wink.gif

Gforce
  • Gforce

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#5

Posted 08 July 2005 - 07:43 PM

oh yes, this is just what the doctor ordered, now i can see if any of my models actually show up in the SA engine.

on a side note i think you and Delfi should join forces and turn Ked/Moomapper into one big kick-ass map editor for the masses wink.gif

Massive thank's for releasing this Steve...................... cookie.gif cookie.gif

jacob.
  • jacob.

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2004

#6

Posted 08 July 2005 - 07:54 PM

Hey steve, nice release.. unfortunately it's not working for me.

I create a 'games.cfg' in MapViewer's directory, with these contents:
CODE
C:\Program files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto San Andreas\
C:\Program files\Rockstar Games\GTA Vice City\


I load MapViewer.exe, press F1 - nothing, press F2 - nothing. Am I doing something wrong? I doublechecked the readme file.

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#7

Posted 08 July 2005 - 07:56 PM Edited by dertyjerzian, 08 July 2005 - 08:04 PM.

Hey steve, why is there no way to close this thing man?
other than that, cool.

Edit: Don't start it without creating the config file tounge.gif I knew I'd need one, just wanted to look at it. Everything is working over here.

So what all can be done with this little tool? Just look? What should I look to utilize this in?

Gforce
  • Gforce

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#8

Posted 08 July 2005 - 08:07 PM Edited by Gforce, 08 July 2005 - 09:59 PM.

user posted image
user posted image

works great, i used this line in games.cfg ---------> C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas

@dertyjerzian try hitting escape key wink.gif

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#9

Posted 08 July 2005 - 08:10 PM Edited by dertyjerzian, 08 July 2005 - 08:21 PM.

works nice though, if you dont draw too far, it's actually pretty smooth. Been waiting to see this thing, Nice work Steve-M.

EDIT: Steve-M, you cad! "You? You're Good Youuu" This is my favorite feature by far:

right mouse button - show information (dff, txd, id) about the focused
object in the title bar (not in fullscreen mode)

How hard would it be to implment some kind of way to choose a "spawn" point for the cam, or save a position in some kinda config snapshot?

RainingAcid
  • RainingAcid

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2005

#10

Posted 08 July 2005 - 09:05 PM

I hope this become a map editor soon=). Nice tool Steve!

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#11

Posted 08 July 2005 - 10:49 PM

QUOTE (dertyjerzian @ Jul 8 2005, 22:10)
How hard would it be to implment some kind of way to choose a "spawn" point for the cam, or save a position in some kinda config snapshot?

You can save your camera position by pressing ctrl and a number from 0 to 9, and you can load it by just pressing the number. There is currently no way to move to specific coordinates, other than entering them in the cam pos file with a hex editor.

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#12

Posted 08 July 2005 - 11:21 PM Edited by dertyjerzian, 09 July 2005 - 03:53 AM.

QUOTE (steve-m @ Jul 8 2005, 22:49)
QUOTE (dertyjerzian @ Jul 8 2005, 22:10)
How hard would it be to implment some kind of way to choose a "spawn" point for the cam, or save a position in some kinda config snapshot?

You can save your camera position by pressing ctrl and a number from 0 to 9, and you can load it by just pressing the number. There is currently no way to move to specific coordinates, other than entering them in the cam pos file with a hex editor.

I thank you for stating for me the all too obvious, I bow to you steve-m.

LeeDFXP
  • LeeDFXP

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2004

#13

Posted 09 July 2005 - 03:41 AM

awesome job m8, as usual hehe, gonna have alot of fun with this one.. thx wink.gif

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#14

Posted 09 July 2005 - 05:05 AM

excellent. know what would be even better? col rendering devil.gif
unless i missed it, which i dont think i did..

nonetheless, a very neat app tounge.gif

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#15

Posted 09 July 2005 - 06:13 AM

I know that that feature for dff and txd viewing is making this file go "right off the shelves" and Mr. M's server is running a little hot by now. More props where it due, yet not yet seen*

Eclipse_nl
  • Eclipse_nl

    Grand Tani Islands

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2004

#16

Posted 09 July 2005 - 11:38 AM

Steve,

You're GREAT!!! biggrin.gif

AleXXX
  • AleXXX

    (-:-)

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2004

#17

Posted 09 July 2005 - 12:24 PM

Very very very nice program! I hope, you with Delphi will make KED/MooMapper for San Andreas.
Mapviewer has opened Myriad for GTA SA too.
Pics:
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

uNi
  • uNi

    instantrum

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 14 May 2004
  • None

#18

Posted 09 July 2005 - 01:29 PM

Awesome work Steve. inlove.gif

user posted image

Mike
  • Mike

    Hustler

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2002

#19

Posted 09 July 2005 - 04:16 PM

Sweet work.

My PC didn't like it but i got some shots:

user posted image

user posted image

Thesord
  • Thesord

    Lacking time

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2003

#20

Posted 09 July 2005 - 04:29 PM

Greate work as usual steve! cookie.gif
It would be interesting to see an editing tool like you mentioned..

Marklund
  • Marklund

    GTAStunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2005

#21

Posted 09 July 2005 - 06:51 PM

QUOTE (jacob. @ Jul 8 2005, 19:54)
Hey steve, nice release.. unfortunately it's not working for me.

I create a 'games.cfg' in MapViewer's directory, with these contents:
CODE
C:\Program files\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto San Andreas\
C:\Program files\Rockstar Games\GTA Vice City\


I load MapViewer.exe, press F1 - nothing, press F2 - nothing. Am I doing something wrong? I doublechecked the readme file.

Got the same problem.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#22

Posted 09 July 2005 - 07:27 PM Edited by spaceeinstein, 09 July 2005 - 07:29 PM.

Did you try putting four or more directories?

jacob.
  • jacob.

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2004

#23

Posted 09 July 2005 - 07:39 PM

Marlurk: My problem was solved just by removing the \'s at the end.. wink.gif

silver007
  • silver007

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2003

#24

Posted 10 July 2005 - 02:26 AM

Great Work Steve M. as usual, however, i have a problem, i have the same problem in moo mapper

user posted image
(the VC Mansion)
im 100% sure its my stupid video card, dosent support DXt compressed textures, though they will appear in Vice City fine

so i guess it sucks to be me, o well, great program anyways!

i also am wondering, i dont have San Andreas, but i have the gta3.img and the map files, i tired loading in the map in your veiwer and it didnt let me, mostl likely because i was missing some files, would you mind telling me what files you need in order to make it work?

Im also wondering if you map veiwer can load in and see Liberty City in SA, cause that would help me alot in my mod im doing for GTA:LC

corevil
  • corevil

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2005

#25

Posted 10 July 2005 - 09:15 AM

how do i make the games.cfg file?
i gotta make an empy file named games.cfg?

GT-1
  • GT-1

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2003
  • None

#26

Posted 10 July 2005 - 10:14 AM

@ corevil, when extracted you should see a file named settings.CFG. You could just copy and paste this remove the contents from within the file replace it with the directory listings and then rename it games.CFG. Or you could just create a new file and name the extension .CFG.

@ Steve, very nice work. Will surely help with mapping placement and for looking at object information though I have not looked at that yet.

In simple flight mode, with distance culling enabled and set to full screen should be fun for those with older computers. wink.gif

user posted image

@ Jacob., try pressing F4.

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#27

Posted 10 July 2005 - 11:55 AM

QUOTE (silver007 @ Jul 10 2005, 04:26)
im 100% sure its my stupid video card, dosent support DXt compressed textures, though they will appear in Vice City fine

Yea, I think that's the problem. My tool uses hardware decompression for the textures. You probably have a txd.img, but the map viewer won't load it. You can try to add all the txd files inside the txd.img to gta3.img, replacing the old ones. The game should still work then as well.

QUOTE (silver007 @ Jul 10 2005, 04:26)
i also am wondering, i dont have San Andreas, but i have the gta3.img and the map files, i tired loading in the map in your veiwer and it didnt let me, mostl likely because i was missing some files, would you mind telling me what files you need in order to make it work?

It looks for 'gta_sa.exe', 'models\gta3.img' and 'data\gta.dat' to verify the game. So just set up the directory structure properly, and create a dummy exe (can be empty). But you will need a complete data directory, and also 'models\generic\vehicle.txd'.

Vercetti Gangsta
  • Vercetti Gangsta

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jan 2004

#28

Posted 10 July 2005 - 12:41 PM

Steve..... That's just so awesome smile.gif It looks beautiful. Very nice job!

Marklund
  • Marklund

    GTAStunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2005

#29

Posted 10 July 2005 - 05:15 PM Edited by Marklund, 10 July 2005 - 05:40 PM.

QUOTE (jacob. @ Jul 9 2005, 19:39)
Marlurk: My problem was solved just by removing the \'s at the end..  wink.gif

Why do everyone call me marluk? dontgetit.gif
And I wrote:
C:\Program\Rockstar Games\Grand Theft Auto San Andreas

But it doesnt load. And I did press F1 - F4.


Edit: Wahaha, C:\Program\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas was the right. Silly me.

Edit #2: COuld you make a coordinate viewer?

evndude
  • evndude

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2004

#30

Posted 12 July 2005 - 01:17 AM

QUOTE (GT-1 @ Jul 10 2005, 10:14)
In simple flight mode, with distance culling enabled and set to full screen should be fun for those with older computers. wink.gif

user posted image

I can't wait until the Grand Theft Auto series looks like that in-game.

Maybe it could be achieved with lots of modding to SA though, but the computer would probably need to be pretty top of the line. sad.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users