Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[WIP|Thread] SA Mission Master Mod

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
54 replies to this topic
PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#1

Posted 29 June 2005 - 12:14 AM Edited by PatrickW, 29 June 2005 - 09:05 PM.

user posted image
The SA Mission Master Mod enables you to start any mission in the game at any time.
It displays an ingame menu, that lets you select any of the available missions.
The ingame menu is currently triggered with the key-combination:
"Group CTRL back" and "conversation - no"
In de default key-config this should be "h" and "n"

At this point all the storyline missions are in the menu, allthough there are a couple that
cannot yet be activated, as their implementation still needs some special handling.

The release version will have all storyline missions available, and in additions also all
of the side missions and challenges.

I'm posting this mainly to get feedback, on wether or not the various missions work, when started from this menu. So any feedback is appreciated at this stage, as are idea's and suggestions.

Here are some ideas, I'm toying with for inclusion:
• Include all side-missions and challenges ( certain)
• Include a submenu that mimics the ammunation menu, with which you can obtain all weapons. (probably)
• Include a submenu that allows you to spawn cars ( probably not)

The WIP-version of this mod can be downloaded here
Please do not redistribute this version or host it on any site.

Credits to Craig for finding the "opened up" code sniplets.

PS. I'll post details on the ingame-menu opcodes in the Mission coding discussion forum

Se7enGTA
  • Se7enGTA

    I Am, What I Am

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2005

#2

Posted 29 June 2005 - 12:17 AM

Saw it earlier, looks amazing.

One question though; If you start a new game, and select 'End of the Line' and complete it, does that mean you unlocked San Fierro and Las Venturas, and completed the storyline?

PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#3

Posted 29 June 2005 - 12:21 AM

QUOTE (Se7enGTA @ Jun 29 2005, 02:17)
One question though; If you start a new game, and select 'End of the Line' and complete it, does that mean you unlocked San Fierro and Las Venturas, and completed the storyline?

To be able to do all these missions, all islands are unlocked from the start. But you should get the usual benefits from passing certain missions.

Marklund
  • Marklund

    GTAStunter

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2005

#4

Posted 29 June 2005 - 12:24 AM

Awsome.
cookie.gif

JKidd
  • JKidd

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2003

#5

Posted 29 June 2005 - 02:01 AM

cookie.gif Awesome dude just aweome thanx biggrin.gif

gta_matt
  • gta_matt

    Bond...James Bond

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#6

Posted 29 June 2005 - 03:03 AM

can you post the source code for this?

henryke
  • henryke

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005

#7

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:18 AM

awesome ! cant wait for the finished version !
(and please dont forget, to put in Cesar´s courier missions (via the phone)

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#8

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:56 AM

Patrick, if I were to recode my car spawn to use these new menus, would you be interested in using it in your mod?

mageezer
  • mageezer

    Harold "Strap" Coopmore

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2004

#9

Posted 29 June 2005 - 09:05 AM

Does this include the latest all opened up mod and your own hot coffee mod?

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#10

Posted 29 June 2005 - 10:02 AM

When i looked at the topic, and then the tiouc author, i knew it would be great. But this just isnt, it's awesome! If this was included in the SACS and SANGA, I'd e-move to SanAn.

Roald
  • Roald

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2004

#11

Posted 29 June 2005 - 02:33 PM

Damn, I like this. I can finally play some of my favorite missions without having to go trough the whole storyline again. smile.gif

[DRuG]NikT
  • [DRuG]NikT

    DRuG Baron

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jan 2004

#12

Posted 29 June 2005 - 02:45 PM

Tricky mods with imagination like this make u a GTA god - thanks dude.

PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#13

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:22 PM

Thanx everyone, I'm glad you like the idea ( and some even seem to like me... )
For those with questions, here are your answers:

@gta_matt:
Sources need some tidying up, but will certainly be published.
I already posted a topic about the menu-related opcodes I used in the mission coding discussion forum.

@opius:
That'll be great. I had the idea to put such a thing in there, as posted in the initial post, but I kinda came back from the idea after I saw your mod. I dont' want to be accused of using other people's ideas wink.gif But I first like to get all the story missions in, after that we can arrange something.
And the menu structure needs to be changed for that, which is something I had already planned. At this time, you're just able to loop through all the available menus's, but the release version will need a proper tree-like menu system. I haven't done that, because it needs a lot of adaptation of the GXT files, which I didn't want yet at this stage.

@mageezer:
At this point this mod only uses some small pieces of the "opened up" mod, just to make the other islands accesible without a wanted level.
I'm haven't decided yet at this point, which other functions I will put in here.
But with this mod being menu-driver, it is in theory possible to include a lot of mods, which could then be individually enabled or disabled through the menu-system.


Roald
  • Roald

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2004

#14

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:37 PM

2 Buggy Missions:

St. Marcs Bistro » After getting in the Shamal, there won't appear an icon on the radar wich shows you the way.
End of the Line » After killing Smoke, the cutscene won't load.

fitzy9994
  • fitzy9994

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2005

#15

Posted 29 June 2005 - 08:27 PM

Ive found something out here goes:

crash a car up till its on fire and stay in the car till it explodes
then when it tells u all about the health thing at the hospital select a mission like wrong side of the tracks or running dog and then after 2 seconds odd of the cutscene u will see it in-game and see all the characters act out the scene.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#16

Posted 29 June 2005 - 08:48 PM

Awesome Batrick. tounge.gif Simply awesome. I don't have much time to test this now, but when I do, I'll let you know. This will be the ultimate mod. Guess there's no need for Dem to write TimeTwister™ now.

PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#17

Posted 29 June 2005 - 09:05 PM

@Roald
The St.marco's bistro icon appeared for me, I'll have a look what it depends on and fix it
The end_of_line mission does indeed need some work, but I though I put in the first part that worked....

@fitzy9994
Good find.... I'll have to figure out a way to disable the menu while that "explanation runs"

@Craig:
point taken ...( I apologize, you must think I do it on purpose smile.gif )

About dem's TimeTwister™ ....
This functionality does indeed come close to dem's famous time-twister mod. I'll contact him to figure out the creative rights on this idea...

henryke
  • henryke

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005

#18

Posted 29 June 2005 - 09:50 PM

just an idea: maybe will be better, to access the missions via the "mission giving persons" insteed
of a big mission list. I mean "catherina´s missions", "sweet missions", "zero missions", etc.
In this case, if you finish the first mission of a section, the next one automatically
showed up, until you finish the section. (i hope its understable:)
I think this way is more fun, and you still moitivate to play (fx. you must finish the first two Catherina mission, if you want to access the third.)

what do ya think?



PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#19

Posted 30 June 2005 - 12:27 AM

The structure of the menu will change, it will indeed be more tree-like instead of just a single big list. But at the moment I'm concentrating on getting all the missions running from the menu, and sorting out all dependencies for them to run correctly seperate from eachother.

I won't be making it so that you first have to do sweet's first mission before you can do his second. ( thus requiring a certain sequence of missions).

The main purpose of this mod, is that you can play any mission,anytime. If you want sequences, play the unmodded game. tounge.gif

henryke
  • henryke

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005

#20

Posted 30 June 2005 - 01:04 AM

maybe you are right:) was just an idea.
anyway, keep up the good work ! The mod will be a god !


Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#21

Posted 30 June 2005 - 03:06 AM

I thought it was intentional this time Patrick. It doesn't bother me, I just think it's funny.

RoxRox
  • RoxRox

    Deutscher Schäferhund

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jan 2005

#22

Posted 30 June 2005 - 08:07 AM

Holy crap, i love you.

Now i can get to LC the easy way, and replay the last (best) missions. biggrin.gif

PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#23

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:20 AM

I have found some problems myself with missions:
The Catalina missions ( first date, .... ) don't work and freeze the game.
Also the final mission is not yet completely done it only runs the first part.
just so you know, expect an update soon .. smile.gif


Roald
  • Roald

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2004

#24

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:24 AM

QUOTE (PatrickW @ Jun 30 2005, 10:20)
I have found some problems myself with missions:
The Catalina missions ( first date, .... ) don't work and freeze the game.
Also the final mission is not yet completely done it only runs the first part.
just so you know, expect an update soon .. smile.gif


Probably 'cause End of the Line isn't 1 mission, but 3 seperate missions.

PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands
  • Best Script 2013 [DYOM]
    Best Script 2012 [DYOM]

#25

Posted 30 June 2005 - 05:06 PM

QUOTE (Roald @ Jun 30 2005, 12:24)
QUOTE (PatrickW @ Jun 30 2005, 10:20)
I have found some problems myself with missions:
The Catalina missions ( first date, .... ) don't work and freeze the game.
Also the final mission is not yet completely done it only runs the first part.
just so you know, expect an update soon .. smile.gif


Probably 'cause End of the Line isn't 1 mission, but 3 seperate missions.

Correct, and I'd still had to figure out the right conditions to start the next part...

T-808
  • T-808

    Road Warrior mod until it's Done!

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2004
  • United-States

#26

Posted 01 July 2005 - 07:52 PM

you are geniouses all of you. i played myself out on the ps2 version and plus it would be great to go right to the missions that are perfect for this mod you have saved alot of time and effort of replaying the first parts of the game only to have to wait till we can get the the sweet missions. thanks again.

LeeDFXP
  • LeeDFXP

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2004

#27

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:04 PM

Kickass job as usual! colgate.gif
thanks alot m8 wink.gif

upsetting_pear
  • upsetting_pear

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Apr 2005
  • Australia

#28

Posted 02 July 2005 - 04:41 AM

QUOTE (PatrickW @ Jul 1 2005, 03:06)
QUOTE (Roald @ Jun 30 2005, 12:24)
QUOTE (PatrickW @ Jun 30 2005, 10:20)
I have found some problems myself with missions:
The Catalina missions ( first date, .... ) don't work and freeze the game.
Also the final mission is not yet completely done it only runs the first part.
just so you know, expect an update soon .. smile.gif


Probably 'cause End of the Line isn't 1 mission, but 3 seperate missions.

Correct, and I'd still had to figure out the right conditions to start the next part...

Off Topic: the same thing happened on ps2 if you used an armax cheat to play end of the line.

On Topic: This is great! Now I can get to Liberty City easily!

camsta
  • camsta

    GTA Maniac

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2005

#29

Posted 02 July 2005 - 07:08 AM

Theres a liberty city in SA? :S

Great mod =]

Roald
  • Roald

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2004

#30

Posted 02 July 2005 - 08:08 AM

QUOTE (camsta @ Jul 2 2005, 07:08)
Theres a liberty city in SA? :S

Great mod =]

Just a small part of it, you'll get to Liberty City in the mission "St. Marks Bistro". smile.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users