Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

3D studio max SA DFF import / export script topic

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
581 replies to this topic
szkgsxr1000
  • szkgsxr1000

    Bike Modeler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 May 2003

#121

Posted 04 July 2005 - 07:08 PM

yes i converted the textures with 3.5.. i've now gotten it too show color on the bike but it still looks matte and no textures not quite sure what the deal is..

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#122

Posted 04 July 2005 - 07:29 PM

QUOTE
I found that the coronastar out of your particle.txd was a better reflection. SA tends to show them more intensely so a little bit goes a long way.

The better solution is to set the reflection level for that material in 3ds max
Zmod may have spoiled the rest of you, its lacking in options in flexibility that max has. more complex yes, but with more flexibility when you export it to the game wink.gif

Btw, if any of you are exporting scratch-made cars to max, make sure the meshes are converted to an editable mesh, editable poly won't work. that is, i was having problems with it, and converting the mesh to editable mesh, seemed to fixed it.

now, to test new version of exporter..

Edit: found a problem with the normals exporting:
user posted image
i dont know if this came up before, but you know Renderware only supports one normal per vertex, right?

Btw Kam i think you misundetood me before; the AMB (ambient specular diffuse) that you pointed out in the Material Struct, DOES have a specular value yes, but this is the Renderware Material specular value; GTA doesn't use it.

To get specular lighting on the models in SA, you need to use the new sections i pointed out.

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#123

Posted 04 July 2005 - 09:18 PM

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jul 4 2005, 19:29)

Edit: found a problem with the normals exporting:
user posted image

What normal? could you give more details on it. For me, it just look like dirt image/texture on the car?

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jul 4 2005, 19:29)

Btw Kam i think you misundetood me before; the AMB (ambient specular diffuse) that you pointed out in the Material Struct, DOES have a specular value yes, but this the the Renderware Material specular value; GTA doesn't use it.

Actually, I don't understand! blush.gif your 'specular value' do you means the specular_level I pointed?

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jul 4 2005, 19:29)

To get specular lighting on the models in SA, you need to use the new sections i pointed out.

This one complete loss! cry.gif
Do you mean RefMat section???
Could you give me some kinds of Max<->SA convertion!

Fro
  • Fro

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2005

#124

Posted 04 July 2005 - 09:47 PM Edited by Fro, 04 July 2005 - 10:03 PM.

Well, I finally got around to getting me a copy of Studio Max, mostly for other forms of Modelling such as CS:S and HL2, but I can't seem to ignore this topic.

Anyways, I've never used Max. Could someone perhaps show me the ropes or so? I've got a great car I want to convert.

Majestic
  • Majestic

    dirty commie

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 22 May 2002

#125

Posted 04 July 2005 - 10:55 PM

QUOTE (Kam @ Jul 4 2005, 17:18)
This one complete loss!  cry.gif
Do you mean RefMat section???
Could you give me some kinds of Max<->SA convertion!

There are 3 sections:

MaterialFX
SAReflection
SASpec

First 2 are needed if you want to have reflections and last one is used if you want to have specular.

SASpec is basically
CODE
float - glossiness value
string - vehiclespecdot64
dword - 0
dword - 0

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#126

Posted 04 July 2005 - 11:04 PM

QUOTE
QUOTE

Edit: found a problem with the normals exporting:
user posted image

What normal? could you give more details on it. For me, it just look like dirt image/texture on the car?

the body texture is pure white with no dirt on it at all turn.gif
This is what it looks like in max with proper smooth groups:
user posted image
Renderware only supports one normal per vertex, which i assume is the problem, since its acting like its missing the required normals to achieve the same effect.

Specular:
This is the standard renderware material, that has been used in gta3, vice and Sa, it hasnt changed.
user posted image
the specular level there, was used in gta3, but not in vice, or Sa. in SA, it does nothing.

This is the new section information, that controls specular lighting in SA:
user posted image
thats what those do. you need to scale the value from max though, so its at 1.0 at most. this can be accomplished easily by divding the material specular power by 10. if the value is over 100, then just set it to 1.0

and this:
user posted image
...is the amount that the reflection map is bleneded WITH the spec, it is NOT the same as the standard refecltion level.
if standard reflection is at full, and this is 0, there no reflection from reflection map!

Proof:
Truck hood with proper specular and reflection blending:
user posted image

Truck with just specular:
user posted image

i really hope that helps tounge.gif

greengiant
  • greengiant

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2003
  • None

#127

Posted 05 July 2005 - 02:32 AM

I think I might have a normal problem also if I use the first beta script everything looks fine but with the new on I get this

user posted image

the textures are there they are just dark

also with the new script I have a problem with the wheels, no matter how I scale the wheels or set them in the vehicle.ide the defualt wheels are to big, might be something I did wrong though

user posted image

if I upgrade the wheels they are the right size(as seen in the first pic)

demonj0e
  • demonj0e

    Sa Coder In Training

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005

#128

Posted 05 July 2005 - 06:03 AM

i got the same problem my wheels come out huge aswell
other than that good work mate keep it up

tommygun1
  • tommygun1

    The Old Don

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2003

#129

Posted 05 July 2005 - 08:22 AM

Same here, and I did try the reset exform without any luck.

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#130

Posted 05 July 2005 - 08:34 AM Edited by dertyjerzian, 05 July 2005 - 08:37 AM.

[QUOTE=Fro,Jul 4 2005, 21:47] Well, I finally got around to getting me a copy of Studio Max, mostly for other forms of Modelling such as CS:S and HL2, but I can't seem to ignore this topic.

turn.gif

EDIT: anyway, you've got a good year of reading tutorials ahead of you, and then some school. picture learning one on one for free tounge.gif f u honie, pay me.

tommygun1
  • tommygun1

    The Old Don

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2003

#131

Posted 05 July 2005 - 08:36 AM

They have a 30 day free trial at their website.

wildmotzi
  • wildmotzi

    m00 :o

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jun 2003

#132

Posted 05 July 2005 - 11:16 AM

erm i donīt know if it helps you guys but i noticed following..

iīm using zmodeler for building cars and usually i export them to direct x format and then i convert it with Deep Exploration to eg. *.lwo for Lightwave.

works like a shame but ingame the normals are lost.
same in 3ds max.

BUT! when iīm exporting my car as dff from zmod and import it in 3ds with Kamīs script, normals are completely working and thereīs no problem though at all..

i just felt to write this^^

Rokas[LTU]
  • Rokas[LTU]

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#133

Posted 05 July 2005 - 11:33 AM

Will you guys release any models ?

demonj0e
  • demonj0e

    Sa Coder In Training

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005

#134

Posted 05 July 2005 - 03:13 PM

i would realease mien but i need fix up interior and need authors permission cuz all i done is convert it

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#135

Posted 05 July 2005 - 03:17 PM

presumably yes, people will start releasing models, otherwise thers not much point to modding tounge.gif

just give them a bit of time, new tools, software people may nto be familiar with, the transistion wont be quick. there will be new, quality cars soon enough.

maric
  • maric

    Street Racer

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2004

#136

Posted 05 July 2005 - 03:40 PM

Woah some good looking mods here smile.gif BUT

devil.gif Someone get the 2F2F skyline in there please devil.gif

flitcroft101
  • flitcroft101

    wat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2005

#137

Posted 05 July 2005 - 04:45 PM

Can somebody convert a chrysler 300cc from midnight club 3 dub edition or a previous mod from vice city please?

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#138

Posted 05 July 2005 - 05:22 PM

Kam ownz!
(In case I didn't say that already biggrin.gif )

Vector M12, works!
Vector M12, still works! biggrin.gif

Just needs some tweaking in wheel size (no, not model, handling.cfg and default.ide)

Sry for that late reply, busy with work now. turn.gif

Rokas[LTU]
  • Rokas[LTU]

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2005

#139

Posted 05 July 2005 - 05:58 PM

OK, question: now i have LightWawe 8. Do i need 3Dmax or any more tools ?

Th3 ProphetMan
  • Th3 ProphetMan

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003
  • None

#140

Posted 05 July 2005 - 08:31 PM

i did this witht kam's filter. i'll take a look at this whole topic since it seems you guys have descovered interesting stuff already smile.gif

user posted image

Jay.
  • Jay.

    3-D Modeler

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2004

#141

Posted 06 July 2005 - 09:43 AM

Kam, you are too fackin awesome! Converted the Warthog model from Halo to VC now to SA!

Witness a birth lolol:
user posted image
This is when I first got it in.

user posted image
Had to flip the textures and whatnot also everything was way the fack off like the wheels and stuff... so I fixed that.
---------
Finished Result:

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image
---------
Actually, I'm not quite finished. Gonna edit the handling a bit, change the tires and some other random things.

Thanks again, Kam and everyone else that helped!!!!


-Jay

MoeRonimoe
  • MoeRonimoe

    I write the songs that make the young girls cry

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2004

#142

Posted 06 July 2005 - 10:10 AM

OK Kam I (!) have a question smile.gif

I was trying to export a weapon but it went wrong because it says that i cant export two things (the weapon ans the muzzle fire of the weapon) into one dff ... thats really bad because i so can only export the weapon or the fire into the dff ...... hope u understood rolleyes.gif

Silent Viper
  • Silent Viper

    Gunbanging Gundealer

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2003

#143

Posted 06 July 2005 - 10:33 AM

same goes for me, and after I only exported the weapon WITHOUT gunflash, it was invisible ingame ...

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#144

Posted 06 July 2005 - 01:06 PM Edited by Kam, 06 July 2005 - 01:08 PM.

Scripted Updated 06Jul05. See the top.

Material should work fine now. And a new try for a specal GTA Material(optional)!

For the normal, it seems to be a bug, but I can't found why(I can't reproduce the error myself, everything just fine, too fine...), if any could send me a MAX(v6 or lower). I will try debug it.



Since I don't have SA, I been told that it import vehicle, bodies/clothes, building. Export vehicle only!

Rokiza
  • Rokiza

    Stainless Steel

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2005

#145

Posted 06 July 2005 - 02:22 PM

so does this mean there are some working actual body mods for SA yet?? because i cant wait to have a merc sittin in my garage....

and i wanna change the yosemite to a caddy escalade EXT..... ohh baby.... *drools*

tapsuu
  • tapsuu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#146

Posted 06 July 2005 - 02:53 PM

Can someone make a step-by-step tutorial for us, n00bs?

I would love to have custom cars for SA, but i dont know how! sneaky2.gif

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#147

Posted 06 July 2005 - 04:21 PM

QUOTE (tapsuu @ Jul 6 2005, 16:53)
Can someone make a step-by-step tutorial for us, n00bs?

I would love to have custom cars for SA, but i dont know how! sneaky2.gif

Import Model, select everything, select an original SA Car, and export again? blink.gif

Hm, gotta take some time to write a Tutorial, stay tuned....

Th3 ProphetMan
  • Th3 ProphetMan

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003
  • None

#148

Posted 06 July 2005 - 05:31 PM

hi guys ive been messing up a bit more with this. today ill try the new relase of the filter but i have aquestion, ive taken a look to the gta material you have set up in 3dsmax and i would apreciatte someone explain the exact difference between Xpecular and Specular Power Options...

user posted image

And thanks to all of you for working on this, smile.gif rah.gif

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#149

Posted 06 July 2005 - 05:45 PM

*bump*

Try this: *click*

No warrenty for good looking cars, play around with the options (VCol on/off, used COL3 file, whatever) and find the best settings for you....

Th3 ProphetMan
  • Th3 ProphetMan

    Thug

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2003
  • None

#150

Posted 06 July 2005 - 06:06 PM

Thx.

Also i want to comment that i imported and exported the bike BF-400 from the game. just to test materials and so. everything seems to be the same although i can't be sure... but i noticed that te extras of the bike dont appear anymore ingame, so the game looks for the extra parts of models in the dff i guess. you probably knew this already but to be sure, im telling you...

i guess there must be some info about this somewhere in the .dff where the extras and their behaiviour are set... also make me thinks we will be able to add extras to all vehicles as we like.... smile.gif or i hope so...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users