Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

3D studio max SA DFF import / export script topic

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
581 replies to this topic
steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#31

Posted 30 June 2005 - 09:29 PM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Jun 30 2005, 23:00)
does the old coll still work for map objects as well?

Yes. But as you can see on the MI screenshots, CJ, as well as all peds and cars that touch the ground, turn dark. There is a 8bit lighting value stored per collision face, which is interpreted as zero in col 1 files.

Hummel-Hugo
  • Hummel-Hugo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2005

#32

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:43 PM

hey BhaaL

with me the col file works and sa doesn't crash but the shadow looks very strange
look here:

user posted image

the col3 file is normal but with texture problems


would be nice if someone could give me or kam or bhaal the diablo dff and txd from gta3.
i would like to have it ingame.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#33

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:55 PM

at first glance id say you have too many faces in the shadow mesh? they need to be REALLY low poly.

Hummel-Hugo
  • Hummel-Hugo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2005

#34

Posted 30 June 2005 - 11:24 PM

yeah
but the car is originally taken from gta3 with no changes i think (it is the stinger)


Fro
  • Fro

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2005

#35

Posted 01 July 2005 - 01:43 AM

So how do I try this? He posted the link in his 1st post right?

Excuse me for my stupidity, I just woke up. confused.gif

suzumebachi
  • suzumebachi

    Insectoid Samurai Freak

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2002

#36

Posted 01 July 2005 - 03:40 AM

QUOTE (Kam @ Jun 30 2005, 21:07)
QUOTE
but the UV maps are reversed it seems (i think you've got the reflection map where the color map should be).


suzumebachi, What do you mean by "the UV maps are reversed"?

left-right flipped? Or up-side-down ?

QUOTE
Oh, and just btw. Kam, you got MSN or ICQ? Add me plz, Contact stuff entered in profile


BhaaL, I don't have any! But you can always contact me by email or here! sigh.gif

Thanks for the ingame shots, a bit dark though

i just meant that the skin looks messed up. it looks as if you're using the reflection map as the actual skin or something. blink.gif

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#37

Posted 01 July 2005 - 01:01 PM

OK, problem solved(should be)! smile.gif You can try my updated stinger, see top post!

For the texture problem, it just because some of the images in the txd are vertical flipped, I don't know why??? I use Delfi's TXDWorkshop 3.5 to add the images into txd!
But I can't reproduce the error again!

Anyway, it should be a working importer/exporter. So the first public beta will release later tonight for you to try! Remember to come back here to see what I need and support the script if you want me to continue!

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#38

Posted 01 July 2005 - 01:06 PM Edited by BhaaL, 01 July 2005 - 02:38 PM.

QUOTE (Kam @ Jul 1 2005, 15:01)
OK, problem solved(should be)! smile.gif You can try my updated stinger, see top post!

Bandwidth exceeded sad.gif

Send me the File, I'll host it on my webspace

Edit: Stinger Update
Script in same Folder, just in case you want it wink.gif

Edit²:
COL3 ->
Stinger side
Stinger front
Stinger back
Stinger damaged

COLL:
Edit³:
Seems GTA SA got a problem with the file order. COL3 works, no matter if I add the DFF or the TXD first.
COLL seems to crash when I add the DFF after the TXD. Works when DFF is added first (and maybe rebuild archive wow.gif )
Stinger side
Stinger front
Stinger back
Stinger flipped
No Shadow shots tho, disabled em cuz I had serious slowdowns during some parts, dunno why this happens on Athlon XP 2600+ @2,085GHz, 1 GB DDR RAM and GeForce 4 Ti 4200....

btw:
3D Studio Max render of PCJ600, no textures
Importer seems to work good, on rendering Max wants me to point to a directory containing the textures. PCJ worked, some parts of Lc worked (lib-streetXX.dff, assuming lib is for liberty city) and the bistro (bistrogarden.dff and bistrobar.dff)


--------------
Next step is exporting a VC Model, but you'll see that later....

Doesnt work somehow, garage wont open blink.gif
The DFF file imports back to 3dsmax properly, tho it seems a bit small (no, I didn't change Scale or smth)
And I tried the TXD twice, once the original TXD from VC, and then a new DFF, created with TXD Workshop, more-less 1:1 copy.
Neither works, garage stays closed.

The only thing that might be of interrest, the DFF is about 3 MB in size. Maybe problems with large DFFs? Guess not, but just to let you know incase....

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#39

Posted 01 July 2005 - 05:40 PM

Thanks BhaaL, so detailed!

For importer:
It should works for all SA vehicles, just no 2nd UV Map.
You can try render it MAX and tell me how Reflection/Specular different form ingame. I will try to match it!
They should 99.5% work for all GTA/VC dff.

If anyone found a non-importable vehicles. Send it to me please!
And if anyone send me other dff like character, building etc, I will start on it...

For exporter:
It should be a best idea for you re-export the original SA vehicles in the first try.
After you know how to export a working dff, try re-export GTA3/VC models.
Then create your own!

It might be a bit difficult to use. See the Must_Read.txt include carefully!
Find a similar car in SA and hack the COL3 from it.
eg: GTA3 stinger <-> SA bullet

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#40

Posted 01 July 2005 - 06:07 PM Edited by BhaaL, 01 July 2005 - 07:48 PM.

QUOTE (Kam @ Jul 1 2005, 19:40)
For importer:
It should works for all SA vehicles, just no 2nd UV Map.
You can try render it MAX and tell me how Reflection/Specular different form ingame. I will try to match it!
They should 99.5% work for all GTA/VC dff.

Roger that! I'm not best renderer, but I'll try.
Tho the Stinger looks kinda good, didnt notice any problems...
QUOTE (Kam @ Jul 1 2005, 19:40)

If anyone found a non-importable vehicles. Send it to me please!
And if anyone send me other dff like character, building etc, I will start on it...

Buldings work, tried that already.
And Playermodel, I opened player.dff from gta3.img, seems to be only the Bones. And the files of player.img make some problems, cuz they're multi clumped. Gotta send those models by mail.

QUOTE (Kam @ Jul 1 2005, 19:40)

For exporter:
It should be a best idea for you re-export the original SA vehicles in the first try.
After you know how to export a working dff, try re-export GTA3/VC models.
Then create your own!

k, gotta try that
-----------------------
I'm still trying to get the Vector in.....
And first success!
Vector M12, no textures
The problem was and still is the TXD File, TXD Workshops seems to f*ck up the File or something....
I took the Textures and made a new TXD, didn't work.
I took the original Infernus TXD, and renamed the current textures, didn't work either...

Vector M12, no textures, rendered
Vector M12, textures, rendered
Dun ask me why that Car is sooo bright green, might be from UV Mappings (and I have no idea how I can change that)
And don't bother me because the front wheels are too high above ground and look thru the bonnet, it all looks fine in GTA (VC) tounge.gif

What version of TXD Workshop (did u use that?) did u use?

BCspeed34
  • BCspeed34

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2004
  • United-States

#41

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:02 PM

Cool ^^ smile.gif

Anyways, I have a problem. I opened up the bullet and looked at the heiarchy. Then, in Zmod, I modified M57's Thunder to have the same parts and heiarchy order. Now when I try and export, I get this error:
user posted image

NOTE: I am a complete newb to MAX, so some partially detailed stuff would be nice tounge.gif

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#42

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:10 PM

QUOTE (BCspeed34 @ Jul 1 2005, 22:02)
Cool ^^ smile.gif

Anyways, I have a problem. I opened up the bullet and looked at the heiarchy. Then, in Zmod, I modified M57's Thunder to have the same parts and heiarchy order. Now when I try and export, I get this error:
[img...]
NOTE: I am a complete newb to MAX, so some partially detailed stuff would be nice tounge.gif

That error tells you what you need to know.
You said you added a few parts, but I guess they are not in the hierarchy of the car.

Open 'Select Objects'-Dialog (QuickKey H) and check 'Display Subtree'.
The Objects should be aligned like a tree now, top object is bullet, or whatever your dummy is called.
Below are chassis_dummy and all the others.
The objects you added later are not in that hierarchy, therefore select the objects, and Link em.
1.) Select the objects in 'Select Objects' (H) Dialog and choose 'Select and Link' in Toolbar (Third Icon, looks like 2 Cubes, connected by a chain).
2.) Click the Object that should become the parent of the new objects
- OR -
2.) press H once again and select the parent object.
3.) Click 'Link' and all objects should be children of the root-object 'bullet' now.

Then Export as usual.
Screenshots needed?

BCspeed34
  • BCspeed34

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2004
  • United-States

#43

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:37 PM

Well, now it exports cookie.gif

But it still doesnt show up ingame confused.gif

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#44

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:37 PM Edited by Kam, 01 July 2005 - 08:43 PM.

BCspeed34,
A. You are not using my beta release, are you? See the top post what I said.
B. More than 1 hierarchy mean you didn't link all the stuff correctly.
C. It's better not use other people's models for any reason!

BhaaL,
I did my txd with TXD Workshop 3.5. Take my bullet export for example.
- export all image form stinger.txd -> tga.
- open the original bullet.txd in txdworkshop. Add 6 new 24bit image. Select the new image slot in txdworkshop one by one and import the tga.
- rename all slot with original stinger images' name.
- compress all texture to dds.
- save as my new bullet.txd.


PS: BhaaL, if you don't mind, send me the player model's txd

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#45

Posted 01 July 2005 - 09:37 PM

Packing TXDs, will be in your mailbox in some minutes...

And some progress, the TXD seemed to be wrong, till I updated to TXD Workshop 3.5 (yay, not beta anymore biggrin.gif )
The TXD File works so far, but I now encoutered some problems with the old style of modeling. chassis_hi and chassis_vlo, different hi and low quality parts for ok and dam, and extra parts that didnt have to have a special name to be included.

First DFF test, attached the extra parts to chassis and removed low quality stuff...
Vector M12, front
Vector M12, side, messed textures
Vector M12, side, still messed...
Vector M12, back, see the plate tounge.gif
Vector M12, damaged, see-thru windscreen now
Vector M12, wing doors bugged blink.gif
Then I tried the original model, without any changes....
Vector M12, inside, nice leather
Vector M12, plate again, texture under car works
Vector M12, but some meshes missing

I'm going to play around a bit, maybe I get it fully textured. If not, I'm going to send the VC DFf and TXD to you, Kam, and let you try your luck tounge.gif

btw, any1 out there can tell me how to edit the UV Layers in 3dsmax? When importing a model, no materials are gnerated, but the model is still textured...

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#46

Posted 01 July 2005 - 09:50 PM

QUOTE (BhaaL @ Jul 1 2005, 21:37)
btw, any1 out there can tell me how to edit the UV Layers in 3dsmax? When importing a model, no materials are gnerated, but the model is still textured...

to edit UV, add an 'Unwarp UVW' modifier to your object. press the 'Edit' button. A new popup with image(if you loaded them into MaterialEditor) and square dots and lines. The square dots are the UV verts. You can edit them there.

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#47

Posted 01 July 2005 - 10:14 PM

QUOTE (Kam @ Jul 1 2005, 23:50)
QUOTE (BhaaL @ Jul 1 2005, 21:37)
btw, any1 out there can tell me how to edit the UV Layers in 3dsmax? When importing a model, no materials are gnerated, but the model is still textured...

to edit UV, add an 'Unwarp UVW' modifier to your object. press the 'Edit' button. A new popup with image(if you loaded them into MaterialEditor) and square dots and lines. The square dots are the UV verts. You can edit them there.

Uhm, yea, already tried that....
Image for the chassis is just....nothing?

Gotta try that tomorrow, kinda tired now.

pilico asked for Playermodel support already, so keep it going smile.gif

Hummel-Hugo
  • Hummel-Hugo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2005

#48

Posted 01 July 2005 - 10:40 PM Edited by Hummel-Hugo, 01 July 2005 - 10:43 PM.

so
i tried the stinger and it worked!!

the texture is now fine!!!

can i release the script in a german forum kam or do you want me to wait?

doas anyone has the diablo from gta3 for me? please!!!!!!!

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#49

Posted 01 July 2005 - 10:48 PM Edited by Kam, 01 July 2005 - 10:51 PM.

QUOTE (Hummel-Hugo @ Jul 1 2005, 22:40)
can i release the script in a german forum kam or do you want me to wait?

You can if you like, but it is going to change anyway!
It's for you all SA players to try!

Also, I won't be that since I can't read German.
You have to clearly state that don't sent me anything in German! sigh.gif
But welcome in English.

BCspeed34
  • BCspeed34

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2004
  • United-States

#50

Posted 02 July 2005 - 04:07 AM

Weird, I don't know why the Stinger wont work on mine turn.gif

Would different textures possibly be a cause? Because I replaced some to be more like SA, and I tried coll3 and Coll.

BTW, that Thunder model is by Monitor57, a good friend of mine tounge.gif

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#51

Posted 02 July 2005 - 08:45 AM

QUOTE (BCspeed34 @ Jul 1 2005, 22:07)
Weird, I don't know why the Stinger wont work on mine turn.gif

Would different textures possibly be a cause? Because I replaced some to be more like SA, and I tried coll3 and Coll.

BTW, that Thunder model is by Monitor57, a good friend of mine tounge.gif

i've been testing stuff ingame for weeks. upload your exported dff and i can take a look at it?

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#52

Posted 02 July 2005 - 09:37 AM

YaY, we're hawt now! turn.gif

Gotta try some other models today, and maybe a completely new car made by a friend smile.gif
Stay tuned!

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#53

Posted 02 July 2005 - 09:54 AM

QUOTE (BCspeed34 @ Jul 2 2005, 04:07)
Weird, I don't know why the Stinger wont work on mine turn.gif

Would different textures possibly be a cause? Because I replaced some to be more like SA, and I tried coll3 and Coll.

BTW, that Thunder model is by Monitor57, a good friend of mine tounge.gif

If you try stinger, My stinger output will be a good reference. See the different between your export and mine.

I don't have Max at home, maybe I convert a few more GTA3 car for you all to try on monday!

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#54

Posted 02 July 2005 - 10:13 AM

yay, got my excursion to work with your exporter kam. made the whole truck chrome plated tounge.gif
user posted image

You are exporting some data incorrectly though, i'll explain.

The cars in SA can use specular lighting in their materials, just like in 3dsmax. thats what sections 0253F2FC and 0253F2F6 are for.

The section 0253F2FC has to be written first, and 0253F2F6 written directly after it. This first section seems to have additional controls for how the reflection map is blended..
CODE

0253F2FC (SA RefMat) Definition;
float (0-1.0) reflection map image intensity red (the refmap this refers to, is defined in the material its a part of)
float (0-1.0) refmap intensity green
float (0-1.0) refmap intensity blue
float (0-1.0) refmap intensity alpha
float remap image multiplier. set to 100, and the refmap is at full power WITH the spec!!
dword always 00


in section 0253F2F6, the format is this:
CODE

0253F2F6 (SA SpecMat) Definition;
float (0-100) specular reflection level (in the 3dsmax standard material, this would be the Specular Level. 0 for none, and 100 for full. your just exporting them all at 1.0, so its not visible ingame hardly at all. i recommend using the users material settings in max so teh spec ingame, matches the spec in the max scene
string "vehiclespecdot64" - i dont know if this can be changed, in every material that uses it, its the same though.
dword string terminator, always 00
dword unknown, always 00


Hope that helps you understand it a bit more, since i know you dont have SA smile.gif

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#55

Posted 02 July 2005 - 10:37 AM Edited by BhaaL, 02 July 2005 - 10:50 AM.

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jul 2 2005, 12:13)
yay, got my excursion to work with your exporter kam. made the whole truck chrome plated tounge.gif

Heh, I was about to post the same stuff...
I imported Yazu's Ferrari 360 Modena (should'nt it be locked?) and exported for SA.
Result: the Reflection Map is kinda used as texture for it all, similiar to ashdexx's Picture.
Maybe thats the reason why the Vector wasnt textured, I left out all images that weren't used, at least the DFF checker from TXD Workshop told me they're not...

@Yazu: In case you read this, dun worry, I didn't break any locks or took credit for your work, I just "converted" your great car to SA blush.gif

-----------
Edit: Chrome pwnz ya all! lol.gif
Vector M12 ChRoMeD
Vector M12 back
Vector M12 fuelcap
Vector M12 interiour
Vector M12, note the windscreen is see-thru from the inside

demonj0e
  • demonj0e

    Sa Coder In Training

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005

#56

Posted 02 July 2005 - 10:59 AM

wow finnaly the new stage of gta sa game modding is here

now if i download sumone elses car for vc import it to zmodler export from zmodler as a 3s file and then import to 3ds max and then export as sa dff will that work in-game or do i have to change summin else?

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#57

Posted 02 July 2005 - 11:05 AM

QUOTE (demonj0e @ Jul 2 2005, 12:59)
wow finnaly the new stage of gta sa game modding is here

now if i download sumone elses car for vc import it to zmodler export from zmodler as a 3s file and then import to 3ds max and then export as sa dff will that work in-game or do i have to change summin else?

All you had to do is importing the DFF to 3dsmax or gmax, and exporting as SA DFF (Including a valid COL3 from an original model).
Then open the TXD file with TXD Workshop, and compress all images. (Image/compress all images)
Change type to SAN ANDREAS and save it.

Simple as that, but there's the Reflection Map Problem still....

demonj0e
  • demonj0e

    Sa Coder In Training

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005

#58

Posted 02 July 2005 - 11:08 AM

oh ok i thought the dff thing was only for sa or have i missed something?

BhaaL
  • BhaaL

    GTAreactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#59

Posted 02 July 2005 - 11:11 AM

QUOTE (demonj0e @ Jul 2 2005, 13:08)
oh ok i thought the dff thing was only for sa or have i missed something?

It works for GTA3, VC and SA.
At least it should, but importing of GTA3 and VC Models works, as Kam's and my tests proved.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#60

Posted 02 July 2005 - 11:15 AM

QUOTE
Simple as that, but there's the Reflection Map Problem still....

What problem? bored.gif

btw, try using vehicleenvmap128 as the reflection map instead, it seems to produce better effects imo.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users