Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL] txd workshop ready for massive san andreas

87 replies to this topic
JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#1

Posted 22 June 2005 - 09:30 PM

txd workshop 3.5 is ready for some serious ass kicking san andreas texture editing:

user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

basicly those pictures show that hud and font editing works, a modded hydra airplane textures and edited particle.txd semaphore picture wink.gif

grab it HERE

it works great, report any problems you might encounter.

[DRuG]NikT
  • [DRuG]NikT

    DRuG Baron

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jan 2004

#2

Posted 22 June 2005 - 10:32 PM

Wooohooo - u da man!!! And only a day after I noticed!!!!

cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif

Cactus
  • Cactus

    Doody ate my mother

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2002

#3

Posted 22 June 2005 - 11:09 PM Edited by Cactus, 23 June 2005 - 12:33 AM.

YES! huzzah, i've been waiting for you to release an update biggrin.gif

Delfi, have my babies, please! inlove.gif

*downloads*

EDIT: any chance theres a list of things fixed? for example the alpha texture bug when importing edited clothing such as the vest? Or if it now works with photoshop .bmp files?

EDIT 2: Well i havnt found a single glitch with it so far! everything works. I finally have my new textures in game cool.gif

linkage!

<3 delfi

oshi
  • oshi

    Never say die!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005

#4

Posted 23 June 2005 - 01:03 AM

Great work. Love that program. smile.gif

Kuiosikle
  • Kuiosikle

    Who?

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2004

#5

Posted 23 June 2005 - 01:50 AM

Thanks alot Delfi, working alpha textures, awesome.

user posted image

MiLO83
  • MiLO83

    (c)1991 EXSORBEO

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2003

#6

Posted 23 June 2005 - 03:09 AM

I just deleted my old version, and installed the new one over top.
Now even if i just open an extracted txd and save it in txd workshop,
the image gets compressed even though I didnt tell it to, and appears garbled.

Is this normal?

- MiLO83 ph34r.gif

Kanney
  • Kanney

    4-8-15-16-23-42

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2002

#7

Posted 23 June 2005 - 10:44 AM

Great program Delfi.
One question, to edit textures do I need to open GTA3.img in IMG editor aswell as using TXD workshop? Cos thats where player.img would need to be used for editing clothes etc.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#8

Posted 23 June 2005 - 12:17 PM

QUOTE (MiLO83 @ Jun 23 2005, 04:09)
I just deleted my old version, and installed the new one over top.
Now even if i just open an extracted txd and save it in txd workshop,
the image gets compressed even though I didnt tell it to, and appears garbled.

Is this normal?

- MiLO83  ph34r.gif

oh right, crap, will fix it right now, this applies only to 32 bit textures without
compression and without alpha channel.

edit:

done, fixed, re-download it.
the fix cannot fix esisting garbled data, but if you uncheck compression and
import images over garbled ones and save it will work again.

canney:
you should open gta3.img and player.img with any img editor and extract files,
txd workshop does not open img archives or files inside imgs and i don't have
a img editor for san andreas yet.

ZanderZ
  • ZanderZ

    GTA modder & tool writer

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2002

#9

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:45 PM

Nice work Delfi, working great smile.gif

MiLO83
  • MiLO83

    (c)1991 EXSORBEO

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2003

#10

Posted 23 June 2005 - 03:46 PM

Sorry Delfi,
Seems its still broken, just redownloded.
Try opening Player_face.txd from player.img into txd workshop.
Even if you do not modify it at all, and just click save, it gets compressed and
garbled.

- MiLO83

Thanks for looking into this, you said you want bug reports. ph34r.gif

flitcroft101
  • flitcroft101

    wat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2005

#11

Posted 23 June 2005 - 04:28 PM Edited by flitcroft101, 24 June 2005 - 12:31 PM.

deleted

solo
  • solo

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2002

#12

Posted 23 June 2005 - 06:01 PM

Great work as usual Delfi inlove.gif

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#13

Posted 23 June 2005 - 09:12 PM

QUOTE (flitcroft101 @ Jun 23 2005, 17:28)
I downloaded it before. here ive uploaded it

clicky h3r3 n0w

dude take it down, you are not permitted to redistribute it on that website!!

MiLO83
  • MiLO83

    (c)1991 EXSORBEO

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2003

#14

Posted 23 June 2005 - 09:50 PM

Thats not what i ment by "still broken" anyway.
Read my whole post.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#15

Posted 23 June 2005 - 10:07 PM

QUOTE (MiLO83 @ Jun 23 2005, 22:50)
Thats not what i ment by "still broken" anyway.
Read my whole post.

lol, i wasn't answering on your post, about your problem redownload it, i think i have fixed it 100% this time.

satasha
  • satasha

    Rodent Boy

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2005

#16

Posted 24 June 2005 - 02:03 AM

Delfi, I get a stream error when trying to import bmps saved in photoshop. Any idea why? Does your prog prefer 24 or 32 bit bmps? Any other importing tips? Thanks for the great program!

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#17

Posted 24 June 2005 - 07:43 AM

the truth is that photoshop can't save bmps properly, it is photoshops fault because txd workshop uses windows routines to load bmps, simple.

if i can maybe get a few examples of those photoshop bitmaps (24 and 32 bit) it would help me fix this a lot because i don't use photoshop ( i use paint shop pro just like rockstar tounge.gif ).

and the bit depth doesn't matter in txd workshop unless it is 8 bit image in txd, in that case the bmp must be 8 bit as well..

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#18

Posted 24 June 2005 - 08:56 AM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Jun 24 2005, 01:43)
the truth is that photoshop can't save bmps properly, it is photoshops fault because txd workshop uses windows routines to load bmps, simple.

if i can maybe get a few examples of those photoshop bitmaps (24 and 32 bit) it would help me fix this a lot because i don't use photoshop ( i use paint shop pro just like rockstar tounge.gif ).

and the bit depth doesn't matter in txd workshop unless it is 8 bit image in txd, in that case the bmp must be 8 bit as well..

R* uses both PSP and PS actually (see taskbar)

As for the bitmap saving problem, are people too daft to use TGA? your program supports it, and so does photoshop. its even better for alpha-channel textures, since both the image and the alpha are stored in one file.

TGA > BMP

satasha
  • satasha

    Rodent Boy

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Apr 2005

#19

Posted 24 June 2005 - 09:39 AM

Hi Delfi! I have sent you bmps saved in photoshop. One is 32bit the other is 24. I sent them to your gtatools adress. Thanks again for your program.


ashdexx: no need to be rude. I simply prefer working with bmps and compiling the alphas in dxtbmp. Also, is the report this post function not working? I have tried reporting the racism in this thread:
http://www.gtaforums...ic=198068&st=20
a number of times as well as pm-ing mods and still no action after 2 days. I hope racism in not accepted here.

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#20

Posted 24 June 2005 - 11:05 AM

QUOTE (satasha @ Jun 24 2005, 19:39)
I have tried reporting the racism in this thread:
http://www.gtaforums...ic=198068&st=20
a number of times as well as pm-ing mods and still no action after 2 days. I hope racism in not accepted here.

They've already been temp banned. Our moderating system is pretty much transparent to everyone except staff.

flitcroft101
  • flitcroft101

    wat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2005

#21

Posted 24 June 2005 - 12:30 PM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Jun 23 2005, 21:12)
QUOTE (flitcroft101 @ Jun 23 2005, 17:28)
I downloaded it before. here ive uploaded it

n0w[/URL]

dude take it down, you are not permitted to redistribute it on that website!!

Thats just an upload site. Ill remove the link(it was for people who couldnt get it from your site) broken link or something. sorry sad.gif

ZanderZ
  • ZanderZ

    GTA modder & tool writer

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2002

#22

Posted 24 June 2005 - 01:16 PM Edited by ZanderZ, 24 June 2005 - 01:22 PM.

QUOTE (ashdexx @ Jun 24 2005, 10:56)
As for the bitmap saving problem, are people too daft to use TGA? your program supports it, and so does photoshop. its even better for alpha-channel textures, since both the image and the alpha are stored in one file.

TGA > BMP

Personally, I don't like TGA. I don't like BMP either because the filesizes are so damn big.
I haven't worked with TGA's since NFS4 or something, but back then I really hated it.

edit:
I still don't like TGA, or the program doesn't work tounge.gif I export a font image to a TGA file, open it in Photoshop but all I see is the image itself, no alpha channel...
The advantage of bmp is that you just have a greyscale image which represents the alpha channel, much like a mask in PS. Maybe TGA has the same but built in, but it doesn't work for me...

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#23

Posted 24 June 2005 - 05:07 PM

maybe you just don't know how to work with alphas in photoshop, for example in paint shop pro you have to load alpha channel into the mask first using program's menu.

i think i should just drop the bmp support, the exe would get smaller and people wouldn't have any more problems with it :S

Reinert
  • Reinert

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#24

Posted 24 June 2005 - 07:10 PM Edited by Reinert, 24 June 2005 - 07:47 PM.

HI, itīs my first post in this forum, and I just wanted to ask if you were thinking on making this work for SA Xbox. Some textures do work, but all of the player skins do not (I *think* that some textures on the xbox such as the ones in player.img are in 8bpp, and those are the ones that dont work. All or allmost all of the others that are dxt1 or dxt3 compressed do work in the workshop) .Thanks in advance, and good job with the workshop.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#25

Posted 24 June 2005 - 07:46 PM

can you explain it a bit more - can you open player xbox txds but not save them? there are some troubles with player txds right now, i am fixing it.

Reinert
  • Reinert

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2005

#26

Posted 24 June 2005 - 07:50 PM

They show up all garbled. As i said in the last post, I think that only the ones that are in 8bpp color depth behave in this way.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#27

Posted 25 June 2005 - 12:54 AM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Jun 24 2005, 11:07)
maybe you just don't know how to work with alphas in photoshop, for example in paint shop pro you have to load alpha channel into the mask first using program's menu.

i think i should just drop the bmp support, the exe would get smaller and people wouldn't have any more problems with it :S

best of all, add DDS file (import/export) support colgate.gif

people can pre-compress their images with mip maps (theres a plugin for photshop that does all kinda of dds-work, see my pinned Texture topic in Textures and 3d), which means less work for your program, plus like tga it also saves the alpha channel in the image, if you know what your doing. its all very handy.

Gtazzer
  • Gtazzer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2005

#28

Posted 25 June 2005 - 03:35 AM Edited by Gtazzer, 25 June 2005 - 03:39 AM.

This Version works great... Now is there a way you can make it so you can view all the textures in the txd files before exporting and importing them in tga format biggrin.gif

Finding a specific textures can be such a pain in the arse at times.. im semi-glad the R* at least named most of them accordingly.

Or better yet.. have a way of exporting all the files in every txd with the folder of the txd it came from... say signs.txd would extract all txd into a sub folder called signs/signa.tga , signb.tga, etc. etc. thus saving the hassles of extracting all files individually into a designated folder. Would make for easy knowing where that texture came from when it was time to replace it back in also.

If not.. oh well.. still an awesome texture workshop.

Thanks Delfi!

ZanderZ
  • ZanderZ

    GTA modder & tool writer

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Sep 2002

#29

Posted 25 June 2005 - 12:56 PM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Jun 24 2005, 19:07)
maybe you just don't know how to work with alphas in photoshop, for example in paint shop pro you have to load alpha channel into the mask first using program's menu.

i think i should just drop the bmp support, the exe would get smaller and people wouldn't have any more problems with it :S

I doubt I need to do that... PNG's with an alpha channel display just fine.
And please don't drop bmp support, TGA is causing just as much trouble wink.gif

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#30

Posted 25 June 2005 - 02:23 PM

QUOTE
And please don't drop bmp support, TGA is causing just as much trouble

What? no it isn't. i have yet to see or experience one error in txd workshop, caused by import/exporting tga files, compared to the atleast 2 topics, of failed bitmap support.

Something i dont understand, is txd workshop has had the BMP errors ever since it first came out, so why this surge in interest now?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users