Photo

Natural Talent

37 replies to this topic
SteakPhish
  • SteakPhish

Colonel Skawizow

• Members

Posted 15 June 2005 - 07:47 PM

I don't mean what genre of game, and I'm not talking about games you've had lots of experience on. I'm talking about games that, straight out of the box, you felt a step or two above the rest of the competition and were just naturally good at for no explicit reason.

The Mortal Kombat Trilogy

I'm not very good at fighting games except for Super Smash Brothers (both of them) and this game. I was at my friend's house and we plugged it in and I was expecting an ass romping. He naturally went Noob-Saibot (read: n00b-saibot) on me and I just picked Scorpion because the little harpoon thing is easy to do.

I got my sh*t rocked for a few rounds but I started getting better each time, and I swear in 15 minutes I was kicking his ass left and right. It wasn't even with just scorpion. No matter who I picked, I was able to crush him. All I did was charge him and wail, and if he tried to escape I'd round house or sweep kick him and continue the thrashing. It was glorious. However, the single player game quickly taught me I wasn't as godly as previously thought.

Halo 2

Every weekend (and a lot during the summer), friends and cousins of mine cram into a very nice basement, draw some curtains, and bust out 12-16 player Halo matches, curteousy of 4 'boxes and a lot of controllers and TV's. It's a riot and it carries on well into the night. I fancy myself pretty competent in first person shooter games, and I hold my own in any game I play on the computer. I guess I'm just no match for the Xbox controller because I kept getting romped in Halo 1, no matter how much I played. Granted everyone else played 10x more than I did, but I just could not get better.