Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Collected Audio Fixes [PC v1]

170 replies to this topic
maf
  • maf

    SA Junkie

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005

#61

Posted 23 June 2005 - 11:49 AM

In the next patch, R* should put in the option to change sound configuration like they had in Vice City. Not everyone has Audigy cards with surround sound, and possibly this is the problem - or one of the reasons - with the sound being screwed up.

WsfWarlord
  • WsfWarlord

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2005

#62

Posted 23 June 2005 - 04:07 PM

i got a soundblaster live and using the eax.dll trick corrected my problem ^^

Legoguy
  • Legoguy

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#63

Posted 23 June 2005 - 07:48 PM

I more or less managed to 'fix' my problem with this combination of 'fixes' ("ugly hacks").

I have a laptop with an integrated Intel ICH5 AC'97 chip, which uses "Conexant AC-Link" drivers normally. Here is an analysis of the fixes posted in this thread:
Updating drivers:
Not possible; latest "correct" drivers are from april 2004 (I'll explain "correct" later)
Downgrading eax.dll:
No effect.
Downgrading DirectX:
Not possible; laptop came with 9.0c, as did the OS CDs. With a bit more fooling around I could probably do it, but I don't want to risk the stability of the system.
Disabling hardware acceleration:
This half-fixes it - it rarely stutters but the whole thing skips now (radio stations, cutscenes, etc).

This is what solved my severe stuttering problems:
When I said correct drivers, I meant the drivers intended to work with that specific chip.
I installed the Realtek AC'97 A3.73a drivers, and strangely enough, they actually work even though it's not at all a Realtek chip. The only thing is that it replaces the default windows "volume" icon/application in the system tray, not really that big of a deal I guess. In addition, I downgraded the eax.dll. So, for people with integrated laptop sound, try installing the latest realtek drivers and downgrading eax.dll. Worked for me, more or less.

WsfWarlord
  • WsfWarlord

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2005

#64

Posted 24 June 2005 - 10:39 AM

okay here's what worked for me:

replace the eax.dll with the 3.0.6.5 ones

also i had a bug with splinter cell chaos theory (the repeatiting sound that got more and more loud when you get close to a tank and other stutterings and bugs like that..) and i had to update my drivers with the right ones witch are here:
http://www.softwarep...ativelive3.html

i used to have the latest sound blaster live driver from creative labs website but it didnt contained audio HQ, this one does.

so maybe the combination of thoses makes it work

(that's for windows XP )

thxgodpcgamingisdying
  • thxgodpcgamingisdying

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005

#65

Posted 24 June 2005 - 08:45 PM

specs:
SB Audigy 2zs
3200 xp
2x250GB t7k250s
9700pro
ps/2 keyboard
USB mouse

I'm getting the sporadic crackling sound whenever I'm in GTA:SA or BF2 (except in software mode w/o EAX). The sound happens ONLY if I'm holding down a key;however, it doesn't occur every time I press a key. If I don't press any keys then the crackling doesn't occur. My USB mouse doesn't seem to elicit the crackling for whatever reason. So, I guess I could just stand in one place and hope people walk in my line of fire die.gif

I never get the crackling sound in Unreal 2k4 w/ HW 3d + EAX enabled, so I guess it's like someone mentioned earlier about the EAX dlls being underdeveloped or something. All the people I've chatted w/ who don't have the crackling are using (AC97 or whatever) onboard sound, so go figure. blink.gif

BTW turning down acceleration or any of the other mentioned solutions do not work. And, no, I'm not downgrading DX just to play one stinkin' game.

Good luck to you all

WsfWarlord
  • WsfWarlord

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2005

#66

Posted 25 June 2005 - 10:40 AM

and replacing your eax.dll doesnt help?

Overture
  • Overture

    Knight of the damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#67

Posted 26 June 2005 - 01:59 PM

thxgodpcgamingisdying: Replacing the eax.dll might help; this isn't a pc-wide replacement, it just replaces one of the files that installed into the game directory.


JonVic
  • JonVic

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jun 2005

#68

Posted 26 June 2005 - 02:27 PM

i have the rain and thunderstorm bug but i see no mention of a problem i have in addition to this, sometimes the subtitles go really quickly with no sound does anyone else get this? What i mean by this is if i am say for example driving in a car and have a passanger and there is a conversation going on then there will be no sound and the subtitles will go so quickly that you have not even got enough time to read them plus you cant hear anything....

maf
  • maf

    SA Junkie

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005

#69

Posted 26 June 2005 - 02:35 PM

Link to eax.dll version 3.0.6.5 - DLL-files.com - eax.dll

Backup your exisiting file located in 'C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas' first before trying this.

angelus101
  • angelus101

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2005

#70

Posted 26 June 2005 - 02:57 PM

i have the sound dissaperaing or mssing sounds and bad quality i have onyl got 2 speakers which ive heard can be bad cus its set to to 5.1 surround or sumthing but also i have got a soundblaster pci512 which is really old but its better than the AC97 onbaord chipset i got so basically i need a realli old eax dll cus that one 3. wateva one is to ne for mine i can not find a link or nething to an older version plz help

guniu
  • guniu

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2005

#71

Posted 26 June 2005 - 06:31 PM Edited by guniu, 26 June 2005 - 06:35 PM.

i have sb live! and i tried sometime ago lowering the accel in dxdiag - and that helped me. But what happend next was wired. I had 1001 different errors with system everytime i turned my comp on. It starts like this, next day, after changing that acceleration, when i turned on my comp i saw resolution 600x480(or somethink)
with 16 colors and i couldnt changed that, in hardware menager it shows that its all ok with graphic card, only what i could do was reinstall graphic drivers - arter required reset it was all good, but when i reset my comp once again it start all over again. It was my first spotted problem and how i said it is 1000 more... Firstly i thought that it was virus but nope... Ok then after that graphics problems( i dunno how but it disappeared) i had some registry error that pop up when windows start and it was stopping whole comp and only hard reset helped. Next...let me think..oh it was that usb port just wasnt working where i have internet modem connected...next was that when starting windows some bluescreen shows and then it fast reset and it could even do that 5-8 times and then turn on normally. There was many more, but to that day i have sometimes bluescreen when windows booting and it turns on after second time, or sometimes third normally. I dont know what to do, all this wired thinks are doing since i touched that sound acceleration. And setting it back what it was befor is not helping. But what is more wired that all those problems are so different - can all it be from one directx ? Does anyone have some problem with his system after changing that acceleration ? or is it only me ? it messed up whole my system, i dont know how am i still here. BUT gta works well biggrin.gif

And forgive me for my english...

Gubru
  • Gubru

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#72

Posted 27 June 2005 - 03:11 AM

Guys, I need the old eax.dll file back - this new one doesn't fix anything, and it just makes all my sounds way quieter.

Dubius Maximus
  • Dubius Maximus

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2005

#73

Posted 27 June 2005 - 03:34 AM Edited by Dubius Maximus, 27 June 2005 - 03:36 AM.

I used to have audio problems too! The voice-acting audio, the driving, bicycle sounds along with others were missing.
For a day, I uninstalled and reinstalled my drivers. I tried two different versions eax.dlls. No matter what I had tried... it just wouldn't fix a thing.
I own the Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speakers and have them connected using the out-of-the box 6 CH analog cables AND also with a single coaxial cable for the digital connection. Most of the times, I use digital coax whenever I play games.
So I decided to press a button and switch from Coax to 6 Ch Direct and what do you know... all the "missing" sounds are there. And all that through a simple hit of a button! suicidal.gif

So, for the rest of you using digital connections to your speaker systems... try running this in 6 CH analog and see if it works for you!

It seems that digital sound works fine until it gets to 2.1 . Go any higher than that and some audio gets lost. On my system, at least.

Hope this helps someone!

HP Pavilion 763n Desktop PC
Win XP Home Edition SP 2
1 GB RAM
GeForce 6800 (ForceWare 71.89)
SB Audigy 2 (SB 1.84.55 driver)
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers

PS. I don't have any on-board sound hardware so I'm not in the same boat as the Nvidia on-board users and their problems.

Kindo
  • Kindo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2005

#74

Posted 27 June 2005 - 11:11 AM

QUOTE (Gubru @ Jun 27 2005, 03:11)
Guys, I need the old eax.dll file back - this new one doesn't fix anything, and it just makes all my sounds way quieter.

You should have learned to always back up the original files before replacing them. wink.gif

maf
  • maf

    SA Junkie

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005

#75

Posted 27 June 2005 - 12:28 PM

Get the original eax.dll 4.0.0.1 file HERE.

thxgodpcgamingisdying
  • thxgodpcgamingisdying

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005

#76

Posted 29 June 2005 - 02:55 AM

Sorry I didn't reply earlier. But, yea, I tried the eax "downgrade" and it didn't help. So, anyways, I forgot to mention that my CPU is a Barton 2500+ O/C'd to 2.2Ghz. I tried enabling FSB spread spectrum @ .5 and the crackling does still occur; BUT, the frequency of the crackling has gone WAY, WAY down. In other words, the crackling does not occur, let's say, 20 times a minute, but rather it occurs once every 5 mins, which is acceptable (even though it should never happen). As far as BF2 goes, I can run it w/ EAX (high setting) now without any crackling. cool.gif

Take care all

P.S. I don't wanna be preachy, but if you guys are gonna try something drastic like downgrading DirectX(very low level), imaging your system beforehand, at least the boot partition, is a very good idea. I use Norton Ghost 2003(I've used it hundreds of times on many people's systems -- including mine-- and it works flawlessly). Acronis Trueimage(?) is another great option.

==LusK==
  • ==LusK==

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#77

Posted 30 June 2005 - 12:09 AM

I am having a problem with only some MP3's after adding my MP3 list to the game. The default radio station tracks work fine, as do about 50% of my personal mp3 list. The other 50% basicly sound like they are skipping). I really don't get it as they are all in MP3 format. I had no problems adding my MP3 list to Vice City, so I don't really get it. Maybe something to do with VBR? I doubt it though, as like I said Vice had no problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Not much into Hip Hop whatsthat.gif

Lepard
  • Lepard

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2002

#78

Posted 30 June 2005 - 07:16 AM

I had terrible sound problems with my Audigy. Here's how i got it completely fixed:

I went to the Creative Auto-update site and downloaded the new drivers and i haven't had any sound problems since. Even if you think or know that you have the newest ones. They also have "patched" drivers that are newer.

http://us.creative.c...dDspLangID=1033

Try that.

QJimbo
  • QJimbo

    With DMA/R* from the beginning :)

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2004

#79

Posted 30 June 2005 - 12:44 PM

Hey I thought of the EAX trick and didn't get any credit... sad.gif feel free to link to my mirror of the file if you like though ^^

Anyhoo the best thing I've found so far for fixing EAX realted glitches is by disabling it in your soundcards control panel. On my Terratec DMX Xfire this is done quite simply here:
user posted image

Buttoneer
  • Buttoneer

    Never Sew A Button Again

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#80

Posted 30 June 2005 - 09:08 PM

Yesterday my nForce 2 sound was running fine. Today, having upgraded to the very latest Realtek drivers I find that I get dropouts, pops, etc etc.

Just thought you all ought to know. Latest reference drivers are not always the best.

Jumiah
  • Jumiah

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2002

#81

Posted 30 June 2005 - 10:50 PM

I have a Soundblaster Live Platinum 5.1 card and also experienced the loss of ambient sounds when it rains.

Knocking down my audio hardware acceleration fixed that problem.

However, the game gets a little sticky with the audio now at times. I hope the next patch fixes this.

Just wanted to chime in and add myself to the long list of complaints smile.gif

RS Bows
  • RS Bows

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2004

#82

Posted 01 July 2005 - 08:31 AM Edited by RS Bows, 01 July 2005 - 08:32 AM.

Interesting fix for nForce2 mobo owners - well Abit NF7-S owners anyway. (If it's not been on here already)

http://www.zone365.com/content/10/95

Instructions are a little vague but if you already have "Advanced Configuration and Power interface (ACPI) PC" instead of "ACPI Uniprocessor machine" under Computer then it's already been done.

After "Update driver" select "No not this time", next, "Install from a list or specific location", next, "Don't search", next, Select Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC. Reboot etc

I've only been playing for a few hours with this but so far haven't noticed any clicks, pops and stutters etc. I had already updated the BIOS and installed 4.57 audio drivers, both of which cured a lot of problems themselves

Overture
  • Overture

    Knight of the damned

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#83

Posted 02 July 2005 - 03:25 PM

Qjimbo - sorry bud, gave you credit now,
Maf - added newer eax.dll, cheers
rsbows - added alternative nforce link.



mc18jm
  • mc18jm

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2005

#84

Posted 06 July 2005 - 02:43 PM

Hello!
hey is a way to disable eax in realtek ac97 onboard soundcard?? I knew that that crap support
only eax 1.0 and 2.0 but doesnt support eax 3.0.
gta san andreas uses eax 4...

jaster3000
  • jaster3000

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2005

#85

Posted 09 July 2005 - 01:52 AM

does anyone have a list of the files that are supposed to be in the san andreas audio folder? I dont have many and i cant hear anything but the radio and the cutscenes, no in game audio.

roAm
  • roAm

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2005

#86

Posted 10 July 2005 - 12:08 AM

i just did something crazy and it worked for most of my audio problems...
delete EAX.dll.
yes.
delete EAX.dll.
your game will run fine and so far, my audio problems are gone smile.gif

dak0ta_g33k
  • dak0ta_g33k

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2005

#87

Posted 10 July 2005 - 01:32 AM Edited by lil weasel, 24 October 2015 - 02:25 PM.

huhh??? i just renamed it, and then

<EDIT: Removed a series of blank Line Feeds >> {lw

GTA_SA.exe failed to start because EAX.DLL was not found.


Pvt.Hudson
  • Pvt.Hudson

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2005

#88

Posted 10 July 2005 - 06:34 AM

I Have a santa Cruz sound card and I get poping and clicking, my engine sound suddenly gets quiet or louder, my AK sound is wierd ( I have heard the orginal on the PC and ps2 this is different) and my menu select sound is staticy. I have the latest drivers for the card and this problem only happens in GTA. I cant use the 2 direct x removers above due to the fact I have no dx8.1 backup and i have sp2. I tried the EAX.dll, that didnt work...any ideas?

HELP ME! suicidal.gif

roAm
  • roAm

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2005

#89

Posted 10 July 2005 - 07:32 AM Edited by lil weasel, 24 October 2015 - 02:26 PM.

QUOTE (dak0ta_g33k @ Jul 10 2005, 01:32) huhh??? i just renamed it, and then

GTA_SA.exe failed to start because EAX.DLL was not found.

it worked for me? thats...weird blink.gif
maybe its detecting it as registered in system32 for me?


wijiwang
  • wijiwang

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2004

#90

Posted 10 July 2005 - 07:46 AM

That's because your PC was registering the eax.dll in system32. That does not fix the problem if it registers the eax.dll in \San Andreas\ (root) ..i.e.. regsvr32 /u eax.dll

You think that Rock* is going to fix that EAX problem? I am astonished that they didn't test on a Live! 5.1.. you know, considering Soundblaster was officially sponsoring their PC version.. apparently.

Hey that program you are using up there with the screenshot.. is that an EAX emulator? If so, what card is it for? I can't stand running these EAX games with software acceleration.. It makes my game stutter at times.. and I KNOW that having to run at 'basic acceleration' is causing it.

I e-mailed rockstar support about it for a request in v1.1. I hope all of you did the same thing.

Gamespot knocked points off the PC version because the audio only worked on 1 of 3 test machines that they use.

Is there 'any' other option to fix this problem other than rolling back EAX .dll's and running your sound card at 'basic acceleration'.. I have a Live! 5.1 and almost any game I've ever played had EAX greyed out.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users