Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL|SA|SCR] 10x increased view distance in GTASA

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
91 replies to this topic
gemini-
  • gemini-

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2003

#1

Posted 12 June 2005 - 02:56 AM Edited by gemini-, 12 June 2005 - 03:10 AM.

replace it in ur /data folder
http://gemini.redorc...com/timecyc.rar

this increases ur view disntace a HELL lot, BEWARE low-end comps. (but still runs ~55 FPS, on that resolution with no AA on my high-end comp)

however, there are many many glitches, like invisible planes, maybe this will open doors for more advanced hackers, i'm a newbie smile.gif


pics:

vegas at night, see the whole strip, if u look closely, u can even see the downtown buildings in Los Santos
user posted image

http://gemini.redorc...m/GTASAfar1.jpg <-- change 1 up to 7

Mercie
  • Mercie

    .

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2004

#2

Posted 12 June 2005 - 03:01 AM

I have no idea how simple or complex thi sis... But wow. You would think RockStar would have advertised that though.

Really nice gemini- inlove.gif

Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#3

Posted 12 June 2005 - 03:07 AM

sh*t man, good job I will try it out later! I wonder if this will lag my computer confused.gif

supermati
  • supermati

    Non Playable Character

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2005

#4

Posted 12 June 2005 - 04:31 AM

This is beauty tounge.gif

decadous
  • decadous

    i am the one they call....

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2004

#5

Posted 12 June 2005 - 05:17 AM

damn man that sh*t is sick... great job

billyboy56
  • billyboy56

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#6

Posted 12 June 2005 - 05:22 AM

Any way to have it show the cars that are around when they come into view?

MRGREAPER
  • MRGREAPER

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2005

#7

Posted 12 June 2005 - 12:19 PM

yeah a way to change the spawn distence would be great to fly over the city seeing all the cars driving around instead of a car here and there but i think its only a matter of time till we see that

Stretchnutter
  • Stretchnutter

    Also known as Racer_S

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2002

#8

Posted 12 June 2005 - 02:19 PM Edited by Stretchnutter, 14 June 2005 - 05:12 PM.

wow works nice... you can see really really far. Although it makes the graphics get funky... buildings start flickering and its weird... (i have GeForce 6800gt) maybe its just me or a driver issue. Anyway great job/find!!!


[edited-removed image]

gta_matt
  • gta_matt

    Bond...James Bond

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#9

Posted 12 June 2005 - 03:46 PM

this is amazing!i don't think it slows graphics down because i have a gforce4mx and
it still works great.went to the top of the Big Pointy Building in SF and it a few seconds
to load but when it did i could see the whole state!!!

Funky_Junk
  • Funky_Junk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2005

#10

Posted 12 June 2005 - 11:39 PM

I have an AMD Athlon 2400+ XP, 512MB RAM and a 9700 Pro. Do you think it will work?

OniMessiah
  • OniMessiah

    Something Interesting

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2004

#11

Posted 13 June 2005 - 12:08 AM Edited by OniMessiah, 13 June 2005 - 01:04 AM.

*Points to edisoncarter's post below*

jesushumper
  • jesushumper

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 May 2005

#12

Posted 13 June 2005 - 12:10 AM

Neato.

But I think 10x is a littel much..

Maybe 5x?

How many values did you have to change?

One per line? Two?

I suppose i coudl compare them and see... ugh.

Still, nice work!

Funky_Junk
  • Funky_Junk

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2005

#13

Posted 13 June 2005 - 12:19 AM

Yeah....10 is a little too much. Btw, OniMessiah, how did you improve it? Also Messiah, youre link doesnt work.

edisoncarter
  • edisoncarter

    Goon

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2004

#14

Posted 13 June 2005 - 12:56 AM

This is something I've wanted for a long time, ever since I went to the top of the tallest building in LS on the PS2 expecting the spectacular view like Vice City and instead there was only blue fade-out in the distance.

I like it with a little blue in the distance to keep it real looking. I've been using FarClp=4000 and FogSt=100. Not sure which of those two settings matters.

gemini asked me to make a batch file for generating timecyc.dat with customized settings. Here it is:
http://www.maxbot.co...rawdistance.bat

You can run it with 0, 1, or 2 parameters. Here's some examples:

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\data>drawdistance
TIMECYC.DAT written for farclp=4000 and fogst=100

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\data>drawdistance 3000
TIMECYC.DAT written for farclp=3000 and fogst=100

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\data>drawdistance 3000 50
TIMECYC.DAT written for farclp=3000 and fogst=50

C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTA San Andreas\data>


-Garrett-
  • -Garrett-

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2005

#15

Posted 13 June 2005 - 12:57 AM

Is it possible to make like an EXE interface thing?

I mean, so you could choose between 2x, 3x, etc. all the way up to 10x, and test each and keep changing it until you got it right? confused.gif

That way people with moderate PCs could make moderate increases.

xxwillisxx
  • xxwillisxx

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2005

#16

Posted 13 June 2005 - 01:37 AM

this works on xbox, and it runs good smile.gif
ill put pics soon if you want to see?

bedhead9876
  • bedhead9876

    Terrorist Beater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2005

#17

Posted 13 June 2005 - 01:52 AM

yeah there is a way to increase your cars that spawn go to C:\PROGRAMFILES\ROCKSTAR\GTA SANANDREAS\STREAM.INI CHANGE VEHICLES starts at 12 can work to 10000

DigitalD
  • DigitalD

    bvlgari

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2001

#18

Posted 13 June 2005 - 02:06 AM

*whistles*

Did I miss anything?

Khardynyl
  • Khardynyl

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#19

Posted 13 June 2005 - 02:15 AM

Hi, I'm new here so hello.

I have been tinkering around with the dat file myself. What I can't understand is why Rockstar didn't make the draw at the very least twice as far as it is normally. As far as I can tell, it runs exactly the same with x2. Even the x10 mod ran ok on my machine where 20fps is normal for me.

My slight tinkering makes me think x2 is probably the best bet. It makes the draw distance go from crap, to what you would have thought it would have been like on PC in the first place. It if far enough to make flying feel really great, which it never did in SA due ot the horrible draw on PS2 and even on PC as going up high decreases how far you can see. You can see all the tall buildings from CJ house! And it doesn't reveal too much in one go, which ruins the atmosphere of all the locations being far apart. To be honest the world of SA looks a bit strange when you can see a whacking great mountain from the middle of Los Santos.

As for the fogging, on the EXTRASUNNY_LA, I have it at x5. Doing it x2 like the draw makes practically no difference and x10 pushes it way too far. I have yet to mess about with the different fogging for different times of day. Right now I am thinking perhaps only the EXTRA sunny days need any fog altering at all. That is just my ill advised guess based on thinking with no actual doing tounge.gif

This is the single greatest mod ever (maybe), and it is foolishly simple but makes such an amazing impact on this game. Flying and parachuting is now as amazing as it should have been, not to mention driving off Chiliad in a VW. Now all we need is a mod to make Las Venturas non-crap!

gemini-
  • gemini-

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 May 2003

#20

Posted 13 June 2005 - 02:58 AM

ahh thnx for putting this on the front page. I relaly recommend u guys use edisoncarter 's batch file, it's VERY easy to use.. just run it. I believe his default settings are really good without losing the atmosphere as some people said.

ANd best thing is that you may lose maybe 5-6 FPS as most with his settings and still see very far, and also not alot of glitches.

get his here:

http://www.maxbot.co...rawdistance.bat

Admin: maybe u can update the front page with his tool too

thnx all!

GTA3Freak-2001
  • GTA3Freak-2001

    Run out of Cake.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2001

#21

Posted 13 June 2005 - 05:08 AM

Can someone remind me how much better SA is on PC then PS2. This my friends is one of those reasons biggrin.gif

LiberachiX
  • LiberachiX

    Old School

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2005
  • United-States

#22

Posted 13 June 2005 - 05:10 AM Edited by Bokman, 13 June 2005 - 05:23 AM.

I don't understand. I just click the batch file and it generates it. How do I set parameters?

Jinx1337
  • Jinx1337

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#23

Posted 13 June 2005 - 07:30 AM

Damn, I didnt back up my timecyc.dat smile.gif

Can someone please post the original file?


Oh, and hi everyone! I'm new here smile.gif

Kitteh
  • Kitteh

    ^___________^

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2004

#24

Posted 13 June 2005 - 08:30 AM

here you go smile.gif

http://dsap.us/uploaded/timecyc.zip

Ballasripper
  • Ballasripper

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#25

Posted 13 June 2005 - 09:43 AM

QUOTE (gemini- @ Jun 13 2005, 02:58)
ANd best thing is that you may lose maybe 5-6 FPS as most with his settings and still see very far, and also not alot of glitches.


Hm i'm confused, replacing a file with your mod oder click on a batchfile ist both easy, but the settings are different in this batch and not so high like your mod?

Btw i agree with garrett, a nice exe thing for testing and toggle all the possible settings would be great, like bokman i also have no idea how to set parameters in a batch, it seems we are the batch noobs. cool.gif

Bushman_XXL
  • Bushman_XXL

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#26

Posted 13 June 2005 - 01:28 PM

this mod is nice , but it causes some bugs in the game , when you fly very high , you see everything flickers white below you ... maybe it is , because the engine cant count all the textures at one time . hmm i like it , but its bad to play for me rah.gif

Khardynyl
  • Khardynyl

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#27

Posted 13 June 2005 - 03:11 PM

Does anyone know what EXTRACOLOURS_1 and 2 are in the timecyc.dat?

Also, in those bat files, are all the values for all different climates changed by the same amount? I noticed that the draw distance for Las Venturas is already much higher than in Los Santos. Is there any reason to alter these when just doubling how far you can see?

K3N
  • K3N

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#28

Posted 13 June 2005 - 07:00 PM

QUOTE (Kitteh @ Jun 13 2005, 08:30)
here you go smile.gif

http://dsap.us/uploaded/timecyc.zip

the link doesnt work sad.gif . if someone has it please upload it here or send me an instant message please...

msn messenger- [email protected]

aol messenger - k3nshadyltd

K3N
  • K3N

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#29

Posted 13 June 2005 - 07:01 PM Edited by K3N, 13 June 2005 - 07:04 PM.

edit: sorry for the double post error..

RaDZio
  • RaDZio

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2005

#30

Posted 13 June 2005 - 07:09 PM

QUOTE (Jinx1337 @ Jun 13 2005, 07:30)
Damn, I didnt back up my timecyc.dat smile.gif

Can someone please post the original file?


Oh, and hi everyone! I'm new here smile.gif

Im a idiot....did the same thing...please help nervous.gif
The link above doesnt work.......Thanks alien.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users