Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Adding car spawn locations

20 replies to this topic
TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#1

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:06 PM Edited by TheHeggy, 11 June 2005 - 08:13 PM.

I thought I might add a spawn location in front of CJ's house so there's always a car there (maybe the SWAT tank wink.gif ), but when I open the main.scm file the format for generating parked cars seems to be different. Here's what I'm seeing:

CODE
014B: $2335 = init_parked_car_generator  417 -1 -1  1 alarm  0 door_lock  0  0  10000 at  383.178  2538.891  16.53 angle  180.0
014C: set_parked_car_generator $2335 cars_to_generate_to  0


Now, shouldn't there be something in there that defines what car to spawn? If I remember correctly, in Vice City there was a "#CAR_NAME" in there, and that was how the car was defined. So how do you tell it which car to spawn with this new code?

Hammer83
  • Hammer83

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2003

#2

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:14 PM

417 is the model name from vehicules.ide

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#3

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:16 PM

Ah thank you very much smile.gif I knew it had to be something simple.

Apologies if this was already asked before... Search is turned off so there's bound to be some n00b questions...

kingpug
  • kingpug

    boris

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#4

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:20 PM

Nice idea, but I want to know:

Is it hard to edit the main.scm?
You got a list of the car numbers?

Well because I want to make that spawn point also, but never even attempted editing the main.scm, and I want to keep the main.scm I have which opens up all cities.

Sorry to highjack your thread but its a good idea, could you maybe add that spawn point to the opened up main.scm made by Craig ?..thanks if you can rolleyes.gif

gtasanandreasmaster
  • gtasanandreasmaster

    SAN ANDREAS !!!!!!!!!!&a

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2005

#5

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:31 PM

QUOTE (kingpug @ Jun 11 2005, 20:20)
Nice idea, but I want to know:

Is it hard to edit the main.scm?
You got a list of the car numbers?

Well because I want to make that spawn point also, but never even attempted editing the main.scm, and I want to keep the main.scm I have which opens up all cities.

Sorry to highjack your thread but its a good idea, could you maybe add that spawn point to the opened up main.scm made by Craig ?..thanks if you can rolleyes.gif

yes it is fairly easy to do main.scm modding after about an hour you will get the hang of it
and yes you can still keep that everything open scm just edit that one

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#6

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:33 PM

Sure, once I figure it out for the normal scm I'll do it for that one too. I just need to find out the player position coordinates though... Steve-M's tool might work but I can't find the damn thing...

gtasanandreasmaster
  • gtasanandreasmaster

    SAN ANDREAS !!!!!!!!!!&a

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2005

#7

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:52 PM Edited by gtasanandreasmaster, 11 June 2005 - 09:00 PM.

which one playerpos?

EDIT:

playerpos dont work confused.gif

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#8

Posted 11 June 2005 - 08:58 PM

Ack, guess the edit I made didn't go through.

I found Steve-M's program but it's not able to work with San Andreas wink.gif Found another one though on gtagaming.com... Got my player position and I'm in the process of editing the scm. Let's see if this works...

gtasanandreasmaster
  • gtasanandreasmaster

    SAN ANDREAS !!!!!!!!!!&a

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2005

#9

Posted 11 June 2005 - 09:02 PM

QUOTE (TheHeggy @ Jun 11 2005, 20:58)
Ack, guess the edit I made didn't go through.

I found Steve-M's program but it's not able to work with San Andreas wink.gif Found another one though on gtagaming.com... Got my player position and I'm in the process of editing the scm. Let's see if this works...

can you plz post a link to it

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#10

Posted 11 June 2005 - 09:05 PM Edited by TheHeggy, 11 June 2005 - 09:12 PM.

Here ya go:

http://www.gtagaming...ion=file&id=954

Edit: Woot, it worked I put a red and blue BF Injection in CJ's alley biggrin.gif It's facing the wrong way but that's easy to change... If you have a link to that other SCM I'll be happy to change it for you. Just tell me what car you want and where.

gtasanandreasmaster
  • gtasanandreasmaster

    SAN ANDREAS !!!!!!!!!!&a

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2005

#11

Posted 11 June 2005 - 09:07 PM

thankz man

oh and is the player position correct then

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#12

Posted 11 June 2005 - 09:13 PM Edited by TheHeggy, 11 June 2005 - 09:39 PM.

Yep the player position is 100% correct. My vehicle showed up exactly where it should have been.

Edit: Woah... I went back in to change the vehicle orientation and it seems that either the mission editor or the game itself changed my coding.

I put in:
CODE
014B: $cj_alley = init_parked_car_generator  424 -1 -1  1 alarm  0 door_lock  0  0  10000 at  2481.145 -1699.303  13.52679 angle  90.0
014C: set_parked_car_generator $cj_alley cars_to_generate_to  101


And after compiling the file and running the game once it now says:
CODE
014B: $10949 = init_parked_car_generator  424 -1 -1  1 alarm  0 door_lock  0  0  10000 at  2481.145 -1699.303  13.52679 angle  90.0
014C: set_parked_car_generator $10949 cars_to_generate_to  101


I've never seen this happen before... Maybe it's always happened and I just haven't done SCM editing in a loooong time wink.gif

Aeros
  • Aeros

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005

#13

Posted 11 June 2005 - 11:32 PM

Stupid question here .. what do you use to open up main.scm? Id do a search but as Heggy said, its down.

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#14

Posted 11 June 2005 - 11:46 PM

With this program:
http://www.janco.si/...mi/SA-MB033.zip

When you download it, open SASCM.ini located in whatever folder you unzipped the mission builder to. At the end of that file (below everything else), add the following text:

CODE
0A4A=2,%1h% %2h%
0A4B=0,

Aeros
  • Aeros

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2005

#15

Posted 11 June 2005 - 11:48 PM Edited by Aeros, 12 June 2005 - 12:09 AM.

Thanks alot mate .. but it doesnt seem to be downloading. Says a link couldnt be established. Any other places I can get it from?

Edit again : Found a mirror to the one you aimed me at .. cheers.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#16

Posted 12 June 2005 - 08:03 AM

In case other links go down, I've been hosting this for the past month or so. I've even updated the SASCM.ini to include the new opcodes. And I've updated the variables.ini to include a few more variable names.

Download

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#17

Posted 12 June 2005 - 09:03 AM

Do you mind if I link to that in my car spawn tutorial?

Knife
  • Knife

    Tits.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2004
  • None

#18

Posted 12 June 2005 - 09:10 AM

When I try to click on the link IE crashes wow.gif

mageezer
  • mageezer

    Harold "Strap" Coopmore

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2004

#19

Posted 12 June 2005 - 10:34 AM

one last question, what's this "cars_to_generate_to" business? And why did you put "101" there instead of the "0" in the first example?

kingpug
  • kingpug

    boris

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2005

#20

Posted 12 June 2005 - 10:50 AM Edited by kingpug, 12 June 2005 - 04:55 PM.

Ah nevermind I got it working now. devil.gif

TheHeggy
  • TheHeggy

    Conan Rules

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2004

#21

Posted 12 June 2005 - 06:09 PM

QUOTE (mageezer @ Jun 12 2005, 05:34)
one last question, what's this "cars_to_generate_to" business? And why did you put "101" there instead of the "0" in the first example?

101 tells the game that the vehicles needs to show up EVERY time you come around that location. Anything lower than that and it reduces the chances of it appearing. Something like 51 should make the car show up about half of the time...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users