Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GTA NOT SUPPORT MX!

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
135 replies to this topic

Poll: If you own a GeForce 4 MX series card, does it run GTASA? (94 member(s) have cast votes)

If you own a GeForce 4 MX series card, does it run GTASA?

  1. Yes (7 votes [14.89%])

    Percentage of vote: 14.89%

  2. No (3 votes [6.38%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.38%

  3. Yes but not that well (3 votes [6.38%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.38%

  4. WTF who owns that old junk (34 votes [72.34%])

    Percentage of vote: 72.34%

Vote
Yorc_
  • Yorc_

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 May 2005

#1

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:03 PM

Some days ago I send a Menssage to Rockstar Technical Support aking that GTA:SA will run on MX.

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for contacting Rockstar Technical Support.

The game (GTA: San Andreas) does not have a feature to disable pixel shader
effects. The game will not work with a Geforce 4 MX card.


Please be sure to delete all previous correspondence when replying. This
will help us to process your response in a more timely and efficient manner.

Kind Regards,
Rockstar Technical Support



I'm really f*cked with my Gforce4 MX cryani.gif cryani.gif cryani.gif

Skyline_man
  • Skyline_man

    GTA V!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2004

#2

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:06 PM

But they said in the minimum requirements Geforce 3 cards or higher, right ?

I have an FX 5200, so i guess it will work fine.

Gta-eXpert
  • Gta-eXpert

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2005

#3

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:07 PM

Oh sorry... wow.gif
You must be very angry no?

LSD
  • LSD

    GTAReactor.de

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jul 2004

#4

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:10 PM

QUOTE (Skyline_man @ Jun 7 2005, 00:06)
I have an FX 5200, so i guess it will work fine.

Me too and I hope we dont need a patch like in VC.

Skyline_man
  • Skyline_man

    GTA V!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2004

#5

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:16 PM

QUOTE (LSD @ Jun 6 2005, 22:10)
QUOTE (Skyline_man @ Jun 7 2005, 00:06)
I have an FX 5200, so i guess it will work fine.

Me too and I hope we dont need a patch like in VC.

yeah, i hope so, VC works perfectly with patch v 1.1, but i hope this wont be important in SA sigh.gif

Sin5k4
  • Sin5k4

    -

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2002

#6

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:23 PM

GF3 supports shaders,well 4mx series were one of the most useless cards in history...

~Neon~
  • ~Neon~

    Hmmm...

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2002

#7

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:23 PM

Noooooooo...

I hope to GOD you are making this up!!!

I knew this card would drag me down in time when I brought it as a cheap upgrade to play Vice City a bit better.

I never knew San An needed a card with Pixel shader support, R* never said anything.

mashw
  • mashw

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2005

#8

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:27 PM

They might have been covering their own backs with that, it MIGHT work just won't be that pretty.

ReDeemer
  • ReDeemer

    Windowlicker

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#9

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:28 PM

Damn you, GeForce 2, damn... sad.gif But still I hope that it will go.

GTA_FANBOY
  • GTA_FANBOY

    ^THATS ME^

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2005

#10

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:43 PM

sounds to me as soom people will be upgrading. sad.gif

/me kisses my x800xt pci-e cool.gif

mashw
  • mashw

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2005

#11

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:45 PM

I have my fingers crossed for all MX'ers sad.gif I really do my friends card is an mx he might end up buying it on Xbox...but his xbox has died so I'm going to have to lend him mine.

noVa
  • noVa

    Avast Ye Mateys

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2002

#12

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:48 PM

thats funny most tech supports ask you to keep all previous correspondants on the e-mail so that incase its no the same techy they can still answer the question..


confused.gif

mase2k
  • mase2k

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2004

#13

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:50 PM

lol, you just wont see pixel shader effects.

less FPS killers smile.gif

tombcatz
  • tombcatz

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 May 2004

#14

Posted 06 June 2005 - 10:52 PM

*kissing my Geforce 6800*
blush.gif

Dave
  • Dave

    Woof

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2002

#15

Posted 06 June 2005 - 11:05 PM

Geforce 3's were much, much better than the Geforce 4 MX cards. The MXs were never any good, whilst the Geforce3 Ti500 was a nice card for a very long time.

Karva
  • Karva

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2004

#16

Posted 07 June 2005 - 01:28 AM

Oh puh-lease...

The official site would mention it if the game wouldn't work with a GeForce4 MX. Since it doesn't say any such thing, then I'm confident that it will work.

Don't listen to stupid trolls that just make stuff up.

RCagent
  • RCagent

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2004

#17

Posted 07 June 2005 - 01:38 AM Edited by RCagent, 07 June 2005 - 01:42 AM.

I'm sad if this is true, but hopefully its not. I mean the minimum requirements...

He joined on May 29, 2005. I can't really trust him.

truestatic
  • truestatic

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 May 2005

#18

Posted 07 June 2005 - 01:45 AM

I'm guessing you'll just end up with a dx error when you try to run it. confused.gif

RCagent
  • RCagent

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2004

#19

Posted 07 June 2005 - 01:48 AM

Can any body Verify this? Anyone with a MX try running the game?

Karva
  • Karva

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2004

#20

Posted 07 June 2005 - 01:49 AM

If this game didn't support MX, then it would say so on the box (just like other games that doesn't support MX). So, anybody who has the box, does it say "Does not support MX" on it?

People would stop worrying if we knew that answer.

Duders
  • Duders

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2003

#21

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:06 AM

I have a question. Did Vice City have pixel shader support because when I had vice city on my Geforce Mx440, I had no problems with it and I had no need for the 1.1 patch. Even if San Andreas DOESNT support the Geforce 4 MX series, they shouldh've atleast mentioned it at their site so that people will be aware of it. Either way, Im still gonna buy it and wait for the v.1.1 patch to come out. Screw Mx440's. I just want to crush mine's.....

-duder

RCagent
  • RCagent

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2004

#22

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:13 AM

What the hell is Pixel Shading anyway?

Karva
  • Karva

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2004

#23

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:16 AM

QUOTE (RCagent @ Jun 7 2005, 02:13)
What the hell is Pixel Shading anyway?

It's when pixels are shaded... Obviously.

Hell, I don't know... If I had known a GeForce4 MX would be incompatible with so many games, I would have bought a GeForce3 instead! suicidal.gif

RCagent
  • RCagent

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2004

#24

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:18 AM

Well if this is true, I feel like a jet pilot, that gets a jet and flys off waiting to land at a paradise landstrip to get some chicken strips and other good stuff...then suddenly when he's going to land, he gets SHOT DOWN.

But then again, I did a google search, and planetgta had a topic about this, and they said that San Andreas wouldn't need a pixel shader graphics card.

Please, any civil person who has the game, can they see if the back says ANYTHING about this?

illspirit
  • illspirit

    lycanthroplasty

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 01 May 1976
  • None

#25

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:20 AM

They do say you need at least a GeForce3. The 4MX cards are, for all practical purposes, just overclocked GeForce2 chips. Thereby being under min spec. Furthermore, a DX9 compatible card is needed, and last I checked, chipsets under GeForce3 aren't.

Duders
  • Duders

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Oct 2003

#26

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:22 AM Edited by duder6131, 07 June 2005 - 02:25 AM.

Yes I am extremely anxious to ask anyone who has the game to tell me so because I am to purchase this game in a few hours or so. Doesn't matter. Im going to get a new computer this summer anyways so its really not much of a deal to me.....

@someguyonthelastpage - I know that I have an mx440, but criticizing that a new fourmer giving out fake info just because hes new seems abit too harsh. After all, he could be legit.

edit - at illy - so are you therefore assuming/stating that any card supporting dx9 should be most likely compatable? Thanks

-duder

scabo19
  • scabo19

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2005

#27

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:23 AM

Oh this is just f**king great!! 6 and a half months i waited for this game and now my gfx card is useless.I mean its bad enuff that i have to spend some extra cash on a dvd-rom but now i need a new gfx card!! Their requirements clearly say geforce 3 or higher.Why the hell couldn't they point this out before.The only reason im complaining is cuz i have no money to buy a new gfx card.Well it hasnt been proven yet.When somebody has tried the game on a gforce 4 mx then i will believe

devil.gif Furious with r*

illspirit
  • illspirit

    lycanthroplasty

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 01 May 1976
  • None

#28

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:43 AM

QUOTE (scabo19 @ Jun 6 2005, 22:23)
Oh this is just f**king great!! 6 and a half months i waited for this game and now my gfx card is useless.I mean its bad enuff that i have to spend some extra cash on a dvd-rom but now i need a new gfx card!! Their requirements clearly say geforce 3 or higher.Why the hell couldn't they point this out before.The only reason im complaining is cuz i have no money to buy a new gfx card.Well it hasnt been proven yet.When somebody has tried the game on a gforce 4 mx then i will believe

devil.gif Furious with r*

Blame NVidia for repackaging series 2 chips and calling them 4's. It's not Rockstar's fault NVidia used misleading names for their cards...

PresidentKiller
  • PresidentKiller

    Anger Manager

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2004

#29

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:45 AM

I have a GeForce FX 5200 too. It should be enough for San Andreas, hopefully, but I won't be getting the game until Friday at best... confused.gif

KoLSPD2
  • KoLSPD2

    The Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#30

Posted 07 June 2005 - 02:57 AM

I have a 5200XT as well. Hope I can play the game with it...but we don't know yet. If it doesn't, well.. die.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users