Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Broken mod

10 replies to this topic
careca
  • careca

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2005

#1

Posted 31 May 2005 - 05:04 AM

hi all! i have a problem: "broken mod 0.8" freezes my game if i hit the button to run 2 times...Rshift.
i have mods...dll linker...speedometer, mission loader...skins, buildings, well...doesn't matter.
all i know is that with some other scm the game wont freeze.
to freeze the game (with the broken mod) all i need to do is to hit the Rshift 2 times with 1 second of time between em'...
Hope this is something simple to solve..however...thanks!

Nipa
  • Nipa

    Hi.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2005

#2

Posted 31 May 2005 - 05:51 AM

First of all, try renaming the all the things that extend your vice city, if that doesn't work, then use your backup of main.scm and american.gxt.. you did backup right? If you didn't, then you ARE in serious trouble.........

Nipa

careca
  • careca

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2005

#3

Posted 31 May 2005 - 06:58 AM

I have a backup of everything. what do u mean when u say: "try renaming the all the things that extend your vice city"?
Do u mean...any kind of trainer and those kind of programs that interact with the game? dll's!?

Nipa
  • Nipa

    Hi.

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2005

#4

Posted 31 May 2005 - 08:04 AM

I mean the speedometer and the mission stuff. Try to rename those and see if it works.. if it doesn't, you are PRETTY screwed... and this forum is for questions about MAIN.SCM mission editing, NOT MAIN.SCM MODS that have been released...

confused.gif Nipa

random_download
  • random_download

    :o

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2004

#5

Posted 31 May 2005 - 10:11 AM

The NOS mod must do something when you hold shift for one second and that thing crashes the game. You could search the code for something like:
CODE
@<something here>
if 0
is_key_pressed 0, 16
jf @<something here>

To try and find the code where it happens, then modify that bit so it doesn't crash.

careca
  • careca

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2005

#6

Posted 31 May 2005 - 11:43 PM

"...this forum is for questions about MAIN.SCM mission editing, NOT MAIN.SCM MODS that have been released..."

sorry about that...


"...The NOS mod must do something when you hold shift for one second and that thing crashes the game..."

THANKS!!!! smile.gif

PatrickW
  • PatrickW

    GTA Juggernaut

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 07 Jan 2004
  • Netherlands

#7

Posted 01 June 2005 - 12:12 AM

QUOTE (careca @ Jun 1 2005, 01:43)
"...this forum is for questions about MAIN.SCM mission editing, NOT MAIN.SCM MODS that have been released..."

sorry about that...

No need to excuse yourself,
your question is perfectly ontopic in this forum.

Nipa is confused.. monocle.gif

careca
  • careca

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2005

#8

Posted 01 June 2005 - 12:14 AM

Hey all! i checked the crash log thing and it told me a lot about the crash... biggrin.gif
in the crash log i found this: (just the important things listed)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Exception at address: 0x00579AEE

Last SCM executed: 00A5 create_car

In thread: cspawn



Registers -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

EAX: 0x00000010 EBX: 0x0012FB20 ECX: 0x001A04E8 EDX: 0x00000004

ESI: 0x00978A10 EDI: 0x00000000 EBP: 0x0075CC24 ESP: 0x0012FAF8

EFLAGS: 10000001000000010


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So i searched for the last operation...name thread "CSPAWN" in the scm and i saw this:

:Label024DC8
03A4: name_thread "CSPAWN"
0006: 6@ = 191& \\ integer values

:Label024DDA
0001: wait 400& ms
00D6: if 0?
0256: player $PLAYER_CHAR defined
004D: jump_if_false ££Label024DDA
00D6: if 0?
80E0: NOT player $PLAYER_CHAR driving
004D: jump_if_false ££Label024DDA
00D6: if 5?
00E1: key_pressed 0? 16?
80E1: NOT key_pressed 0? 6?
80E1: NOT key_pressed 0? 8?
80E1: NOT key_pressed 0? 9?
80E1: NOT key_pressed 0? 10?
80E1: NOT key_pressed 0? 11?

It has a part similar to the one of the "random_dowload" post...

all i did was change some number and test and it worked at the first time! tounge.gif
i changed this:

00E1: key_pressed 0? 16?

to this:

00E1: key_pressed 0? 0?

then i went to the game, pressed shift a lot of time, and also hitted it and nothing happened! biggrin.gif

THANKS A LOT 4 THE HELP!!! [[ ]]

random_download
  • random_download

    :o

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2004

#9

Posted 01 June 2005 - 11:06 AM

Yes, but you have removed one of the mods features. Pot the next few lines and I will see if anything is wrong with the code that would cause a crash.

careca
  • careca

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 May 2005

#10

Posted 01 June 2005 - 01:04 PM

yeah i removed something...but i don't care because i never used it! tounge.gif anyway, here's some more lines of the code:

CODE
:Label024DC8
03A4: name_thread "CSPAWN"
0006:  6@ =  191&  \\ integer values

:Label024DDA
0001: wait  400& ms
00D6: if  0?
0256:   player $PLAYER_CHAR defined
004D: jump_if_false ££Label024DDA
00D6: if  0?
80E0:   NOT   player $PLAYER_CHAR driving
004D: jump_if_false ££Label024DDA
00D6: if  5?
00E1:   key_pressed  0?  0?
80E1:   NOT   key_pressed  0?  6?
80E1:   NOT   key_pressed  0?  8?
80E1:   NOT   key_pressed  0?  9?
80E1:   NOT   key_pressed  0?  10?
80E1:   NOT   key_pressed  0?  11?
004D: jump_if_false ££Label0252FF
04C4: create_coordinate  0@  1@  2@ from_actor $PLAYER_ACTOR offset  0!  3! -.8!
0172:  3@ = actor $PLAYER_ACTOR z_angle
000B:  3@ +=  90!  \\ floating-point values
00D6: if  0?
0021:    3@ >  360!  \\ floating-point values
004D: jump_if_false ££Label024E7C
000F:  3@ -=  360!  \\ floating-point values

:Label024E7C
0001: wait  0? ms
00D6: if  0?
0039:    4@ ==  0?  \\ integer values
004D: jump_if_false ££Label024E99
0002: jump ££Label0252B2



then there is a lot of similar codes like this:
CODE
:Label024E99
005A:  6@ +=  4@  \\ integer values (never used VC or GTA 3)
00D6: if  7?
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  130&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  131&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  132&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  133&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  134&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  135&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  136&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  137&  \\ integer values
004D: jump_if_false ££Label0252B2
00D6: if  7?
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  138&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  139&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  140&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  141&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  142&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  143&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  144&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  145&  \\ integer values
004D: jump_if_false ££Label0252B2
00D6: if  7?
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  146&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  147&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  148&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  149&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  150&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  151&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  152&  \\ integer values
8039:   NOT    6@ ==  153&  \\ integer values
004D: jump_if_false ££Label0252B2


the numbers rise...154 155 156 157 and so on...

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#11

Posted 01 June 2005 - 06:09 PM

Those numbers are most likely the default.ide ID numbers for each car.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users