Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Making Maps Using Height-Map Terrains

27 replies to this topic
Monitor57
  • Monitor57

    LC - II Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2002

#1

Posted 11 May 2005 - 10:34 PM Edited by Monitor57, 16 May 2005 - 10:53 PM.

---------> Map Making <------------

---------> Height Mapping [ Using displacement modifier and 3ds max 6] <------------


ok, in order to follow this tutorial you need 3ds max ( 5, 6 or 7, these 3 version are pretty similar so it shudnt be too hard to follow)

do what i say and you will all be fine, now i used 3ds max 6 for this tutorial, but as i said it shouldnt be too hard to follow if you have 5 or 7

-----> Brief <------

Iv noticed that there is alot of new map projects popping up from everywhere, and then when they show off the 1st island.. its not pretty lol
so this is why i made this tutorial, to help u get a good result and a nice finish smile.gif

Step 1 <---------

Ok, boot up 3ds max and create a plane (in this example i made a plane with 50 polys vertical and horizontal, then made it 200 wide and 200 tall)

as you can see in these screens:

user posted image

user posted image

-----

Step 2 <---------

Click the modifiers drop down menu and select "Displace"

user posted image

-----

Step 3 <---------

(this is unbelievably easy)

now select the bitmap tab shown below, and then use your hieght map image:

user posted image

in this example i found this image on Google image search, and it works nicely for this tutorial

user posted image

------

The basics of height maps <--------

umm how do i put this, make the shape of the land u want, then shade it.. the brighter the colour the higher u are making it and the darker the colour the lower you are making it

NOTE: ALWAYS USE GREYSCALE!!

Step 4 <--------

now we have our height map applied, time to sdjust the settings to how much u want it to modify the hieght of your plane:

user posted image

Adjust to neccsesary, the decay will soften it up and the strength is how much u want it to be aplied

and then you have your result, now how easy was that!?

user posted image

there are other ways of doing this, modeling it all by hand is 1 option but this is the way the majority tend to do it,
(how do you think Illspirit made Myriad islands base land to such vast detail?)

if there are any problems you have had with my tutorial please post in here and sharew so i can help all of you who may have that problem

thank you.


QUOTE
i'll elaborate a bit more;
On your displacement map, white is high, and black is low. Say your makign a mountain; the peak of the mountain at teh very top would be the whitest, and the bottom way below would be black, which grayscale in the middle, getting lighter as you go higher up (the mountain).

One problem i have with using a displacemnt map, is you still get the jagged edges at the top of the mesh. The Decay you mentioned, never works right for me. so what i do is apply the Relax Modifier (Parametric Deformers -> Relax). Relax also gives you a bit more flexibility in how the mesh is smoothed out, allowing for different effects.

Terrain and Mesh deformations can also be done by creating a plane, and converting it to an editable poly; then deforming the mesh using soft selection. But this is monitor's tutorial, and i wont hijack it anymore.


^^ useful info by ashdexx


- M57

Suction Testicle Man
  • Suction Testicle Man

    Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2002
  • None

#2

Posted 11 May 2005 - 11:48 PM

Good job Mon, I'm adding it to the archive now smile.gif

/me stamps approval

<3D

-GRAVITY2-
  • -GRAVITY2-

    Map Modeller

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

#3

Posted 15 May 2005 - 06:03 PM

OMG thanks so much. I love you so much Monitor if only you did this earlier. I thought illy did it all by hand so i tried to but im wrong. Thanks so much.

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#4

Posted 16 May 2005 - 07:32 AM

i'll elaborate a bit more;
On your displacement map, white is high, and black is low. Say your making a mountain; the peak of the mountain at the very top would be the whitest, and the bottom way below would be black, with grayscale in the middle, getting lighter as you go higher up (the mountain).

One problem i have with using a displacemnt map, is you still get the jagged edges at the top of the mesh. The Decay you mentioned, never works right for me. so what i do is apply the Relax Modifier (Parametric Deformers -> Relax). Relax also gives you a bit more flexibility in how the mesh is smoothed out, allowing for different effects.

Terrain and Mesh deformations can also be done by creating a plane, and converting it to an editable poly; then deforming the mesh using soft selection. But this is monitor's tutorial, and i wont hijack it anymore.

Nice Monitor smile.gif

mickarrow
  • mickarrow

    ---

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2004

#5

Posted 16 May 2005 - 10:20 AM

This little tut was really needed. Good job man.
Maybe you could add something about keeping the polycount under control though.

Monitor57
  • Monitor57

    LC - II Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2002

#6

Posted 16 May 2005 - 10:54 PM

cheers, keeping the polycount under control with this method isnt easy as the poly's are placed as a grid, so the less poly's u use the less detail and shape you are going to have in your land, and yes this does lead to high polywaste, but its worthit on a scale as large as this smile.gif



- M57

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#7

Posted 17 May 2005 - 08:40 AM

"displace modifier".. duh, this technique is called height-map terrain!

Suction Testicle Man
  • Suction Testicle Man

    Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2002
  • None

#8

Posted 17 May 2005 - 09:20 AM

QUOTE (Delfi @ May 17 2005, 09:40)
"displace modifier".. duh, this technique is called height-map terrain!

Yeah? Updated.

<3D

Monitor57
  • Monitor57

    LC - II Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2002

#9

Posted 18 May 2005 - 03:49 PM

QUOTE (Suction Testicle Man @ May 17 2005, 09:20)
QUOTE (Delfi @ May 17 2005, 09:40)
"displace modifier".. duh, this technique is called height-map terrain!

Yeah? Updated.

<3D

wow, never knew that.. and everyone i spoke to has always referred to it as the displacement modifier (the name of the process) confused.gif


- M57

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#10

Posted 18 May 2005 - 05:02 PM

its not either or, both terms are correct for different parts of the procedure.

The image that the terrain is based on, is the "heightmap".

The modifier you need to use is a/known as displacement map/mapping.

Suction Testicle Man
  • Suction Testicle Man

    Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2002
  • None

#11

Posted 18 May 2005 - 08:48 PM

Oh, well if it's the same I guess I'll just leave it tounge.gif

I might update the layout in a bit Mon - add tables and things.

<3D

djjack
  • djjack

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2005

#12

Posted 31 July 2005 - 10:36 AM

How I make to perfectly calculate the size of my plan so that the land if rabbet with the image that I will be to use?

Terrain i need use

user posted image

blush.gif

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#13

Posted 31 July 2005 - 10:40 AM

Problem: That isn't a heightmap. It's an aerial photo.

Heightmaps have the highpoints as white and the low points as black, not highlights as white and shadows as blacks.

To give a sense of scale, VCs game world is 4096x4096, end to end.

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#14

Posted 31 July 2005 - 08:04 PM

I like this tutorial, that modifier was covered for this type of use so much faster than any actual book I ever read! good job! You know what I would like to seet though ? I'd like to see properly texturing an island as a tutorial. I have been experimenting with many things in GTA lately and most things I try cause a crash. No idea why, or how to check lol. I'm pretty sure that Terrain crashes have to do withA: I use DreamScape and B I don't texture them because when I do they look crazy. I know I'm going to have to UV a beach and then the half each/ half grass area, and then the full grass further inland, but I really don't feel like doing until there's a tut :Plol

EDIT: This is more of anew request, but I figured the writer would be a good person to bring this to his attention. Nonetheless, I'm going to drop a quote of myself into the requests sticky too.

djjack
  • djjack

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Jan 2005

#15

Posted 02 August 2005 - 02:57 AM

QUOTE (Opius @ Jul 31 2005, 10:40)
Problem: That isn't a heightmap. It's an aerial photo.

Heightmaps have the highpoints as white and the low points as black, not highlights as white and shadows as blacks.

To give a sense of scale, VCs game world is 4096x4096, end to end.

THANK'S OPIUS FOR THE EXPLANATION rolleyes.gif monocle.gif

-=4EVER=-
  • -=4EVER=-

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2005

#16

Posted 03 August 2005 - 02:15 PM

help
http://img340.images.../9629/dd3tr.png
how to put texture???


very,very,very,very sorry for BAD ENGLISH!! turn.gif

cR
  • cR

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2004

#17

Posted 20 September 2005 - 05:19 AM

user posted image

Here's a nice example disp for ya'll... Let's see what you can do biggrin.gif

AleXXX
  • AleXXX

    (-:-)

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2004

#18

Posted 30 September 2005 - 04:19 PM

QUOTE (Delfi @ May 17 2005, 08:40)
"displace modifier".. duh, this technique is called height-map terrain!

Height-mapping? I thought, it is effect for creation Bump!

FATALiC
  • FATALiC

    Crackhead

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2005

#19

Posted 26 October 2005 - 03:22 PM

how about a caves tutorial? this doesn't help me with what i want to do

[NX] Joao.pt
  • [NX] Joao.pt

    Snitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 May 2005

#20

Posted 29 October 2005 - 06:15 PM

How i can make height maps?

Supdario
  • Supdario

    Prankster

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2005

#21

Posted 29 October 2005 - 06:56 PM

QUOTE ([NX] Joao.pt @ Oct 29 2005, 18:15)
How i can make height maps?

This tut learns it confused.gif
Read the first post bored.gif

Arma12
  • Arma12

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2005

#22

Posted 15 November 2005 - 04:53 PM Edited by Arma12, 15 November 2005 - 05:22 PM.

Hi,

Ok here the deal, I have got a map using your tutorial and the same heightmap you used.

So where do I go next as regards to texturing and basically getting that map into GTA SA?

Sorry if I shouldn't have replied here.

Arma12 rahkstar2.gif

Monitor57
  • Monitor57

    LC - II Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2002

#23

Posted 28 December 2005 - 12:39 PM

QUOTE (Arma12 @ Nov 15 2005, 16:53)
Hi,

Ok here the deal, I have got a map using your tutorial and the same heightmap you used.

So where do I go next as regards to texturing and basically getting that map into GTA SA?

Sorry if I shouldn't have replied here.

Arma12 rahkstar2.gif

i have not yet got any Map objects into SA and fully functional as of yet. Maybe somebody else here may be able to help you or maybe you can search the tutuorial forum for a possible answer?


sorry.



- M57

bqwec
  • bqwec

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2005

#24

Posted 06 January 2006 - 03:14 AM

Hello, I was just wondering if anyone knows of any way to turn a TOPO map into a heightmap picture. This would be great,
BQWEC

Grant_has_a_dream
  • Grant_has_a_dream

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2005

#25

Posted 14 January 2006 - 06:56 PM Edited by Grant_has_a_dream, 20 January 2006 - 11:43 AM.

OMG thanks so much, took me about 30mins to make the greyscale, 10 mins to perfect the map, and about 5 mins to get it all ingame and functional. Thanks alot.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

waddle48
  • waddle48

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2004

#26

Posted 15 April 2006 - 11:01 AM

Hey, sorry for the BUMP!

I'm just wondering, how can i reduce the polycount of a heightmap i've made?

I mean because when i generated it, it was about 26000 polys >_<

Oh, and also, is it 1000 poly limit or more?

Monitor57
  • Monitor57

    LC - II Designer

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2002

#27

Posted 18 April 2006 - 10:29 PM

QUOTE (waddle48 @ Apr 15 2006, 11:01)
Hey, sorry for the BUMP!

I'm just wondering, how can i reduce the polycount of a heightmap i've made?

I mean because when i generated it, it was about 26000 polys >_<

Oh, and also, is it 1000 poly limit or more?

you can either reduce the poly's by using the "optimize" modeifier on the mesh after creating, or at the start you may reduce the amount of width/height segments used for the heightmap.


-M57





woozie-moo
  • woozie-moo

    Porno!

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 05 Feb 2006

#28

Posted 22 April 2006 - 02:28 PM

Hey this is a great tut,but how do I make a cave?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users