Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Strange problem when downloading

26 replies to this topic
imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#1

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:26 PM

I've noticed this over the past week, my download speeds are horrible in Firefox. They go down to 35 kb/s no matter what, and i thought it was just the servers, but now, i tried starting two downloads of the Driv3r demo, one in FF one in IE, and the IE one is going at 120 kb/s and the FF one at 34 kb/s.

I have no download accelerators installed, and use the FF download manager, and im on Windows XP with Service Pack 2, using Norton Internet Security.

I have 1mbit ADSL on LAN. Noone on the LAN is downloading, exept my sister, whos chatting.

Svip
  • Svip

    I eat babies

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2001
  • None

#2

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:34 PM

Version of FF?

I don't have that problem.

In fact, I download faster under Linux than Windows. But that is another thing.

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#3

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:35 PM

QUOTE (Svip @ May 7 2005, 22:34)
Version of FF?

I don't have that problem.

In fact, I download faster under Linux than Windows. But that is another thing.

Stop it with the linux, few people care..

Im using the latest version on FF, as it updated automatically.

Svip
  • Svip

    I eat babies

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2001
  • None

#4

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:40 PM

QUOTE (ImHereToStay @ May 7 2005, 23:35)
[color=658CD1]Stop it with the linux, few people care../color]

Then ignore it.

Anyways, it could be because of Norton. Better check it. It might be blocking or constantly checking what Firefox is downloading, meaning your download will automaticly be slower.

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#5

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:42 PM

How do you suppose i check that? I already set Norton to allow FF to do whatever it wants. Ill go mess with the cfg.

Luke2004
  • Luke2004

    You wanna leave? k. gtfo.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2004

#6

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:50 PM

I think it's something to do with firefox downloading, when I downloaded a few files a while ago - they sometimes either skip the last few kbs of the file or just stop.. I usually download with IE.
Firefox doesn't seem that good download for some reason.

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#7

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:52 PM

QUOTE (Luke2004 @ May 7 2005, 22:50)
I think it's something to do with firefox downloading, when I downloaded a few files a while ago - they sometimes either skip the last few kbs of the file or just stop.. I usually download with IE.
Firefox doesn't seem that good download for some reason.

I had the exact same problem 30 mins ago, i was downloading Driv3r demo, Age of Mythology demo, and HL2 lost coast HDR vid, and none dl'd, just were on the list, blank.

Luke2004
  • Luke2004

    You wanna leave? k. gtfo.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2004

#8

Posted 07 May 2005 - 09:54 PM

QUOTE (ImHereToStay @ May 7 2005, 22:52)
I had the exact same problem 30 mins ago, i was downloading Driv3r demo, Age of Mythology demo, and HL2 lost coast HDR vid, and none dl'd, just were on the list, blank.

Like I said, firefox isn't as good as IE when downloading files. As I'm on dialup when I use IE it downloads faster. Somebody might have made a patch to fix this.. I don't know.

Svip
  • Svip

    I eat babies

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2001
  • None

#9

Posted 07 May 2005 - 10:13 PM

I did some research.

And since you are using Windows, it is most likely that there is a firewall somewhere, either a router or Windows Firewall or Zonealarm.

You better go check for those. Of course Windows Firewall assumes that IE is good, so it gives it's all its permissions, but is unsure about applications such as FF.

Luke2004
  • Luke2004

    You wanna leave? k. gtfo.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2004

#10

Posted 07 May 2005 - 10:14 PM

QUOTE (Svip @ May 7 2005, 23:13)
I did some research.

And since you are using Windows, it is most likely that there is a firewall somewhere, either a router or Windows Firewall or Zonealarm.

You better go check for those. Of course Windows Firewall assumes that IE is good, so it gives it's all its permissions, but is unsure about applications such as FF.

Thanks. That answers my question - I use Window Firewall.

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#11

Posted 07 May 2005 - 11:05 PM

QUOTE (Svip @ May 7 2005, 23:13)
I did some research.

And since you are using Windows, it is most likely that there is a firewall somewhere, either a router or Windows Firewall or Zonealarm.

You better go check for those. Of course Windows Firewall assumes that IE is good, so it gives it's all its permissions, but is unsure about applications such as FF.

So you dont think it helps at all, that i have set FF as my standard webbrowser and Norton as my standard Firewall?


Im gonna try reinstalling FF, see if that helps.

SyphonPayne
  • SyphonPayne

    E FOR EFFORT!!!

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2003

#12

Posted 07 May 2005 - 11:32 PM

Well I'll tell you I just downloaded the DRIV3R demo and trust me, it's not worth your bandwidth to download wink.gif . I tried it and the controls are terrible. The missions are short and crappy too tounge.gif .

segosa
  • segosa

    Ghetto Star

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 15 May 2002

#13

Posted 08 May 2005 - 12:02 PM

1. A firewall will not slow down downloads.
2. An antivirus will not slow down downloads.


Firefox has some issues with the accuracy of its counter, but this is usually just in the beginning of a download. I can only suggest reinstalling otherwise.

Luke2004
  • Luke2004

    You wanna leave? k. gtfo.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2004

#14

Posted 08 May 2005 - 12:12 PM

QUOTE (Segosa @ May 8 2005, 13:02)
1. A firewall will not slow down downloads.
2. An antivirus will not slow down downloads.


Firefox has some issues with the accuracy of its counter, but this is usually just in the beginning of a download. I can only suggest reinstalling otherwise.

I don't know if it's the same for anyone else but when I first got firefox the downloads didn't work (this was 1.01) and now I've got 1.02 and it's the same, surely re-installing wouldn't do anything as upgrading doesn't appear to do much.

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#15

Posted 08 May 2005 - 04:31 PM

Hmm something may be causing it to slow down. But I never have a problem.. Always used FF to download, get same speeds as IE..

Luke2004
  • Luke2004

    You wanna leave? k. gtfo.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2004

#16

Posted 09 May 2005 - 06:44 PM

I've just thought of a reason on why this could be happenning.. you could be loading multiple tabs on firefox, I know sometimes when I load up lots of tabs at once it slows down my internet (although I'm on a 56K therefore it's usually a little slower than your internet.)

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#17

Posted 09 May 2005 - 07:33 PM

Well, i rarely have less than 3 tabs open, can anyone confirm this? One of the 'leet's?

Bond996
  • Bond996

    [INSERT MEMBER TITLE HERE]

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2003

#18

Posted 09 May 2005 - 07:37 PM

QUOTE (ImHereToStay @ May 9 2005, 15:33)
Well, i rarely have less than 3 tabs open, can anyone confirm this? One of the 'leet's?

While loading several tabs at once it might be stressful on the PC or the Internet connection, but after having loaded them all it shouldn't make a difference. However, in general, using the internet and surfing sites while downloading requires your computer to take away bandwidth on a lower speed connection to get the sites as opposed to the download.

So kind of yes, but still, it shouldn't matter on any broadband connection.

Luke2004
  • Luke2004

    You wanna leave? k. gtfo.

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2004

#19

Posted 09 May 2005 - 08:00 PM

Maybe that's me, because I'm on dialup. Can you surf websites on IE and still have a good download rate?

Bond996
  • Bond996

    [INSERT MEMBER TITLE HERE]

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2003

#20

Posted 09 May 2005 - 08:31 PM

QUOTE (Luke2004 @ May 9 2005, 16:00)
Maybe that's me, because I'm on dialup. Can you surf websites on IE and still have a good download rate?

It doesn't matter what application is using the internet. However, I really don't think it would impact your speeds drastically.

Wing Attack
  • Wing Attack

    Sugarflaps

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2005

#21

Posted 10 May 2005 - 12:39 AM

I'm having the exact same problem.

I thought there was a problem with my internet connection, because FF was downloading at 40kb/s max. But just not after reading this thread, I tried downloading in IE and I'm getting 152kb/s.

I'm on 1.5mbit, and I used to always get full speed in FF. I don't know what's happend sad.gif .

No firewalls, my anti-virus is disabled (I only use it for scans) and theres nothing else that would be clogging it up like spyware or anything.

Waste
  • Waste

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#22

Posted 10 May 2005 - 01:18 AM

Could be an extension slowing it down.

riccbhard
  • riccbhard

    ---->

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Dec 2004

#23

Posted 10 May 2005 - 02:00 AM

I had problems download Driv3r Demo and i'm on 2.5 megabits-per-second cable internet. Their servers were slow at that time.

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#24

Posted 10 May 2005 - 07:46 AM

QUOTE (Waste @ May 10 2005, 02:18)
Could be an extension slowing it down.

True, i recently installed a few, as well as doing the "optimize your FF" thingy.

Wing Attack
  • Wing Attack

    Sugarflaps

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 17 Mar 2005

#25

Posted 10 May 2005 - 08:28 AM

QUOTE (ImHereToStay @ May 10 2005, 17:46)
QUOTE (Waste @ May 10 2005, 02:18)
Could be an extension slowing it down.

True, i recently installed a few, as well as doing the "optimize your FF" thingy.

I also did the "optimise your FF" thing, but undid them all for some reason. I can't remember, but I'm pretty sure it was because of the slow speeds.

The only extensions I have are the gtaforums one and the spiderzilla one that lets you download the websites to your hard drive.

Waste
  • Waste

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Nov 2004

#26

Posted 10 May 2005 - 08:46 AM

Uninstall them and see if it helps.

imheretostay
  • imheretostay

    non-existant

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004

#27

Posted 10 May 2005 - 09:41 AM

I already have tried that, didnt help. So far the only solution is to use IE for 'large' downloads.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users