Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

VNC

10 replies to this topic
itsjake88
  • itsjake88

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2003

#1

Posted 21 April 2005 - 08:11 PM

I have a simple goal: I want to control my PC at my house from the computers at my school.
I installed TightVNC on my PC and I turned on the server. The program says my IP is my local (192.168....) IP address when I hover my mouse over the icon in the system tray. I have no problem connecting to it throught a PC on my LAN because all i have to do is open a web browser and type in http://192.168.1.101:5800 and it prompts me for a password and i can get in just fine.
The problem is that I do not know how to connect to my PC from another computer over the internet. I tried http://myexternalIP:5800 and it does not work. I get a connection refused error. My network setup is as follows: Speedstrean 5200 DSL modem connected to my Linksys WRT54G router with 3 wired PCs and one wireless. My PC has both wireless and wired and I use both. I forwarded ports 5900 and 5800 in my router and it still did not work. I disabled my firewall on my PC and it did not work.
I cannot install any software on the computers at my school, so the only way i can connect is to log into my PC with the http://IP:5800 and use the java applet.

Any help would be great.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#2

Posted 21 April 2005 - 08:21 PM

The school maybe blocking the ability to do this sort of thing

itsjake88
  • itsjake88

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2003

#3

Posted 21 April 2005 - 08:26 PM

Possibly... but i tried this on some other computers at my freinds houses and it did the same thing.

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#4

Posted 21 April 2005 - 09:45 PM

If you can't access it from in front of your router, you either messed up the port forwarding or your ISP blocks it.

itsjake88
  • itsjake88

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2003

#5

Posted 21 April 2005 - 09:48 PM

Is http://myexternalip:5800 what i should type in?

eggburt
  • eggburt

    Lil' G Fizzle

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 21 April 2005 - 09:52 PM

have you forwarded port 5800 on your router to 192.168.1.101? (assuming that's your internal ip behind your router)

If yes, yes it is what you should type in

Else, no, you should forward the port first

errr... portforward.com <-- try there or google or something for help on forwarding

itsjake88
  • itsjake88

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2003

#7

Posted 22 April 2005 - 12:08 AM

Yea, i forwarded that port a long time ago and it still doesnt work. I guess its just my damn ISP.

Wolf68k
  • Wolf68k

    always howling

  • Members
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2003
  • None
  • Most Knowledgeable [Technology] 2013
    Best Contributor [Technology] 2012

#8

Posted 22 April 2005 - 06:26 AM

I wouldn't normally suggest this, so take some precautions before hand (good anti-virus and have it updated is the main thing), put that system in the routers DMZ and then try the remote connection with the VNC that you're trying to do and see if that works any better.
If it works, then you know it's not your ISP.

Cran.
  • Cran.

    910 reprisent

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2004

#9

Posted 22 April 2005 - 06:54 AM

If that's your primary computer that is connection to the internet, you can get the real IP at www.whatismyip.com <Try your IP there.

itsjake88
  • itsjake88

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Feb 2003

#10

Posted 22 April 2005 - 11:57 PM

QUOTE (wolf68k @ Apr 22 2005, 10:26)
I wouldn't normally suggest this, so take some precautions before hand (good anti-virus and have it updated is the main thing), put that system in the routers DMZ and then try the remote connection with the VNC that you're trying to do and see if that works any better.
If it works, then you know it's not your ISP.

I did that and it still didnt work so it must be my ISP.
Nothing I can do now... but thanks for all your help.

BobTheHob
  • BobTheHob

    Forum FreeBSD Guru

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Aug 2004

#11

Posted 27 April 2005 - 01:36 AM

ISP's are not capable of blocking vnc itself, only the most used port. Try changing the port used to a different one, a surefire port to try would be "8080".




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users