Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

How do i tell

6 replies to this topic
erikstoll
  • erikstoll

    Live Via Sattelite

  • Members
  • Joined: 09 Jun 2003

#1

Posted 20 April 2005 - 05:09 PM

How can i tell what type of RAM i have in my computer, so i can add 512mb more.
I havea Gateway P4 about a year and a half old =\

PSXtreme
  • PSXtreme

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2002

#2

Posted 20 April 2005 - 05:29 PM

open up your pc case and read the label on your current ram. smile.gif Or check in the bios or some sh*t, but I don't know how to do that. So either open it up or wait for someone who knows what the f*ck they're talking about to come on here and post. wink.gif

the_travis_s
  • the_travis_s

    Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2002

#3

Posted 20 April 2005 - 05:34 PM

Download CPU-z and run it. Look at the memory tab.

I would HOPE that being only 1.5 years old it's not still running Rambus RAM. It should either be PC2100 or PC3200 (533 MHz / 800 MHz FSB)

What speed is your CPU? That should also give us a good clue.

Samutz
  • Samutz

    if ($lol) { die(rofl()); }

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003

#4

Posted 20 April 2005 - 07:04 PM

I use www.crucial.com. You select the computer/motherboard brand and model (if you have a Dell or Gateway etc, look by computer brand, if it's custom builts look by motherboard). They tell you everything, such as what type of ram it holds, how much it can hold, how many slots you have, and so on.

For example, here's what it says about mine:
* 184-pin DIMM Banking: 2 (2 banks of 1)
* Chipset: SiS 741GX
* DDR SDRAM Frequencies: PC2100 and PC2700
* Error Detection Support: Non-ECC only
* Graphics Support: AGP 8X
* Max Unbuffered DDR SDRAM: 2048MB
* Module Types Supported: Unbuffered only
* Supported DRAM Types: DDR SDRAM only
* USB Support: 2.x Compliant

bdww69
  • bdww69

    /\ LIL' JON A.K.A. King Of Krunk

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2005

#5

Posted 22 April 2005 - 01:19 AM

QUOTE (the_travis_s @ Apr 20 2005, 12:34)
Download CPU-z and run it. Look at the memory tab.

I would HOPE that being only 1.5 years old it's not still running Rambus RAM. It should either be PC2100 or PC3200 (533 MHz / 800 MHz FSB)

What speed is your CPU? That should also give us a good clue.

/\ he is right about the cpu-z program on cpuid.com and p4 fsb speeds but pc2100 is 266mhz ram pc2700 is 333 mhz ram pc3200ram is 400mhz and pc4000 is i think 500mhz

but the answer to the topic is it is recommended on athlon xp's to get a higher or equal ram speed to correspond with your fsb. your ram currently is probably pc2700 i would get either another 512mb stick of pc 2700 (or what cpu-z says) or upgrade to either pc 3200 (sold in most bestbuys or circuitcity's etc.) or even order from online 2x512 sticks of pc4000 (make sure mobo can support it).

chances are your mobo wont support pc4000 or maybe even pc3200 check with gateways support part on thier site

Atomic
  • Atomic

    teh PC chat rapist....

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2003

#6

Posted 22 April 2005 - 04:49 AM

Since when was pc4000 memory a JDEC approved standard?

bdww69
  • bdww69

    /\ LIL' JON A.K.A. King Of Krunk

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2005

#7

Posted 22 April 2005 - 05:34 AM

links to ram
pc4000 (500mhz)
http://www2.newegg.c...Submit=Property

pc3200 (400mhz)
http://www2.newegg.c...Submit=Property

pc2700 (333mhz)
http://www2.newegg.c...Submit=Property


there is speeds betweeen these and faster(than pc4000) and slower(than pc2700)

id personally get matching sticks (brand and speed of sticks 512X2)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users