Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

New Beta Map IO tool for (G)Max

35 replies to this topic
Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#1

Posted 08 April 2005 - 09:38 PM Edited by Kam, 14 April 2005 - 08:00 PM.

Hello all. For anyone who know me, I am back!

I have my new beta map tool released.
It should make (G)Max user's life easier who want to add, edit or create new map for GTA/VC.

What this script do now is:
- import .dff models from .ipl
- add/edit all models properties for .ipl & .ide

- import/export .ipl
- import/export .zon
- import/export .ide (only objs and tobj right now)

Limitation:
Since this script is not finished yet. It only export text to (G)Max listener.
So Copy and Paste to a text file manually.


14Apr05 updated
- 2dfx supported
- selection of texture added on request



Here is the script: Map_IO_v02b.zip

Actually, I can easily add support for path/2dFX. But I am thinking of how to show them in (G)Max. Any suggestion?

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#2

Posted 08 April 2005 - 10:55 PM Edited by steve-m, 09 April 2005 - 03:21 PM.

Great work, I'm going to test it.

I already wrote a path exporter the last days, see here.

---

Edit: Tested importing, awesome! monocle.gif

user posted image

donmario
  • donmario

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2005

#3

Posted 09 April 2005 - 07:33 PM

Excellent !! Are some chance on versions to 3ds max?


PS. Kam I`m big fan your scripts biggrin.gif

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#4

Posted 09 April 2005 - 07:48 PM

QUOTE (donmario @ Apr 9 2005, 19:33)
Excellent !! Are some chance on versions to 3ds max?


PS. Kam I`m big fan your scripts biggrin.gif

It should work for both Max and GMax!

and for Steve, I tried your path script in GMax and it almost the same as my alpha one!
So I think I will leave it for your at the moment.
2dfx, here I come...

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#5

Posted 09 April 2005 - 09:14 PM

/* woot. i can import model geometry ok, but there's no textures. Do i have to export all the textures to .tga's first, or can you read the txd's directly? steve how did you do it?

@ kam, maybe add IMG support, so dff extraction isn't required? */

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#6

Posted 09 April 2005 - 10:44 PM

QUOTE (Kam @ Apr 9 2005, 21:48)
and for Steve, I tried your path script in GMax and it almost the same as my alpha one!

Could you still let me see what you made so far? I'd like to see your approach, and the algorithm you tried to get working, since I'm still having some issues.

@dexxxx: Yep, I exported all the DFFs and TXDs from the IMG to a directory and used TXD Workshop's batch exporter to export them to TGAs. Takes some time and space...

illspirit
  • illspirit

    lycanthroplasty

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 01 May 1976
  • None

#7

Posted 10 April 2005 - 05:57 AM

illspirit dies


That, Kam, is beyond amazing. Did you sneak into R*^, and download all their tools and/or brains before vanishing in a puff of smoke? biggrin.gif

At any rate, very nice work! This should definitely come in handy.

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004

#8

Posted 10 April 2005 - 06:36 AM

Holy f*ck this is great its almost like moomapper but then in Gmax/max great work kam. I hope you can make more things like this maybe a better/decent dff exporter would help. biggrin.gif

illspirit
  • illspirit

    lycanthroplasty

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 01 May 1976
  • None

#9

Posted 10 April 2005 - 07:10 AM

Holy crap. I just tested it in Max6, and it works beautifully. inlove.gif Importing is surprisingly quick given the ammount of stuff being processed. The only "problem" was a lack of textures, but I assume that's just cuz I'm too lazy to export them all? Or is there some .txd importing option I'm just not seeing?

Oh, and the simple fact one can now get to the vertex colors in the original models is exciting in and of itself. Now I see why Myriad looks like a freakin' light bulb attacked it...



Ocean Drive N, vertex colors only

Myriad NW, vertex colors only

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#10

Posted 10 April 2005 - 10:51 AM

QUOTE (illspirit @ Apr 10 2005, 09:10)
Oh, and the simple fact one can now get to the vertex colors in the original models is exciting in and of itself. Now I see why Myriad looks like a freakin' light bulb attacked it...

Yea, basically the models are black, and only lighted a bit at places where lamps are or where the sun would be. The game uses two kinds of ambient light, one is added to all colors (also the shadows) and the other is some kind of multiplied with them, so the bright vertices get brighter. This makes the daylight as realistic as possible (without using real-time lighting).

ODIE
  • ODIE

    BERLIN-MOD AKTIVIST

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jun 2002

#11

Posted 10 April 2005 - 08:18 PM

This is really grrrreat !!! My biggest dream becomes real !

One Sugeestion, please can you make an optional import of .BMP Textures. If i use Steves TXDBuilder, i have to change all these maps on every material from tga into bmp, i hate it angry.gif

greetz


Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#12

Posted 11 April 2005 - 12:58 PM

QUOTE (steve-m @ Apr 9 2005, 22:44)
QUOTE (Kam @ Apr 9 2005, 21:48)
and for Steve, I tried your path script in GMax and it almost the same as my alpha one!

[color=#3484A6]Could you still let me see what you made so far? I'd like to see your approach, and the algorithm you tried to get working, since I'm still having some issues.

As your request to see my path io alpha. I finally dust this out form my bin!

I use GTA3 rd_TJunction12.dff and it's path as reference.
This is just an idea when I'm trying to get into path, it is not working correctly!

I didn't like this approach after a few try 'cause lane width can't show clearly on the map! etc

I might pick this back if I got another idea! We have your pathgenerator for Max user now, right!?

Before you see mine, relax your mouth's muscle. Are you ready!? ...LOL...

http://www.geocities...t/Path_test.zip

RainingAcid
  • RainingAcid

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2005

#13

Posted 13 April 2005 - 07:46 PM

Gmax? What is Gmax?

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#14

Posted 13 April 2005 - 11:44 PM

GMax is a free, cut-down version of 3D Studio Max.

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#15

Posted 14 April 2005 - 08:16 PM Edited by Kam, 14 April 2005 - 08:19 PM.

Updated to new beta:

- 2dfx now supported
- selection of texture added on request

Link in the first post

Is there any new document about 2dfx?
I can't see any different when I changed outterRange, Lamp size and innerRange value!? cry.gif

_-playero-_
  • _-playero-_

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2005

#16

Posted 16 April 2005 - 03:00 AM

Just a question I dont remeber about gmax? Does it has rendering??

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#17

Posted 16 April 2005 - 05:09 AM

QUOTE (_-playero-_ @ Apr 15 2005, 21:00)
Just a question I dont remeber about gmax? Does it has rendering??

/* not built into it, no. thats one of the removed features.

@ kam,
QUOTE
I can't see any different when I changed outterRange, Lamp size and innerRange value!?

i think those control the size of the lighting area ingame. similar to the attenuation of of omni lights in 3dsmax. */

solo
  • solo

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2002

#18

Posted 01 May 2005 - 03:14 PM

I have started to have a strange problem using this script with GTA3. I extracted all dff`s and txd`s to a folder on my hard drive, and used TXDWorkshop to extract all the textures to the same folder (thanks Steve) Start Max7 and run the script. The first ipl I tried was industNE.ipl which worked fine as did all the Portland ipl`s. My problems started when I tried the same thing with Staunton Island. The script runs fine for the first few lines; I keep the listener window open to watch the progress, but then it stops and it seems to be telling me that it cannot find a certain dff (it varies) Now, I check the folder where the dff`s are stored, and the dff in question is in the folder. I can get around this problem by commenting out the line in the ipl calling that dff, and re-run the script but it will stop a bit further on with the same problem (different dff) Has anyone else been having this problem? Other than that, this script is great and will make my life so much easier. Any help would be appreciated.

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#19

Posted 04 May 2005 - 06:29 PM

Just been back form holiday! Refreshing!!!

solo, for your problem, do you mean that the import process stopped while reading ipl? (It should just skipped the missing one without crashing)

Just in case you missed the checkbutton "Vice City". You should uncheck it (becone 'GTA3') before importing GTA3's ipl.

Is this industNE.ipl original? I can't test it until tomorrow!

solo
  • solo

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2002

#20

Posted 04 May 2005 - 08:00 PM

Hi Kam
First off, glad you enjoyed your holiday smile.gif
I just tried importing comNbtm.ipl (GTA3) and the same thing happened again. Here is a screen of the message that pops up:

user posted image

and this is the line from the ipl:

CODE
1328, bollardlight, 137.956, -616.057, 25.1157, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1


and this is what it says in the listener window:

CODE
-- Error occurred in ReadIPL()
--  Frame:
--   unknownpos: undefined
--   dfffile: "N:\File\GTA\GTA3 Files\Image Files\bollardlight.dff"
--   cullmax: undefined
--   id: 1328
--   dffpos: [137.956,-616.057,25.1157]
--   dffrot: (quat 0 0 0 1)
--   textype: 2
--   unknown: undefined
--   loopend: false
--   dffname: "bollardlight"
--   Intr: undefined
--   isVC: false
--   rootAry: #()
--   lnctr: 93
--   ff: <BinStream:>
--   cullmin: undefined
--   tmp: undefined
--   lln: StringStream:"1328, bollardlight, 137.956, -616.057, 25.1157, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1"
--   zoneprop: undefined
--   ln: "1328, bollardlight, 137.956, -616.057, 25.1157, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0, 1"
--   dffscale: [1,1,1]
--   boxsize: undefined
--   dffpath: "N:\File\GTA\GTA3 Files\Image Files"
--   iplname: "C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTAIII\data\maps\comNbtm.ipl"
--   f: <File:C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTAIII\data\maps\comNbtm.ipl>
--   RootObj: $Editable_Mesh:LOD_kbroads32 @ [-18.596600,-861.327026,19.874001]
--   called in impipl.pressed()
--  Frame:
--   iplname: "C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\GTAIII\data\maps\comNbtm.ipl"
>> MAXScript Rollout Handler Exception: -- No ""instance"" function for undefined <<


I double checked and the dff in question is in the folder with all the rest of them, and I made sure that I clicked the GTA3/Vice City button so it`s set for GTA3, and yes this is an original ipl. I hope the above information is enough to go on.

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#21

Posted 04 May 2005 - 10:53 PM

Bad luck, solo.

I just try import a few ipl on GMax, it work very fine! sly.gif

Are you using Map IO v0.2b?(I download it from my site just in case I am using personal version).

Try the 'check dff' to see if it crash or not?

The possible reason will be Max 7 changed something internally! I see if I can do something with it!

solo
  • solo

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2002

#22

Posted 05 May 2005 - 07:35 AM Edited by solo, 05 May 2005 - 07:38 AM.

QUOTE (Kam @ May 4 2005, 22:53)
Bad luck, solo.

I just try import a few ipl on GMax, it work very fine! sly.gif

Are you using Map IO v0.2b?(I download it from my site just in case I am using personal version).

Try the 'check dff' to see if it crash or not?

The possible reason will be Max 7 changed something internally! I see if I can do something with it!

Hi Kam
The strange thing is, that all the Portland ipl`s worked fine. Also, the comNbtm.ipl which is giving me trouble worked the first time I tried it but I pressed the reset button on my computer with my foot (by mistake) before I got a chance to save blink.gif
QUOTE
The possible reason will be Max 7 changed something internally! I see if I can do something with it!

That would be great. Heres hoping wink.gif

I really cant overstate how useful this script is/will be

Kam
  • Kam

    JINX

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2004

#23

Posted 05 May 2005 - 05:04 PM

QUOTE (solo @ May 5 2005, 07:35)
The strange thing is, that all the Portland ipl`s worked fine. Also, the comNbtm.ipl which is giving me trouble worked the first time I tried it but I pressed the reset button on my computer with my foot (by mistake) before I got a chance to save blink.gif

I checked the source code today. The only chance return undefined is that 'dff' can't imported properly. Plus your info. above.

I would think that part of your DFFs are damaged! Try import some dffs using 'DFF IO' to see if it work, or extract all DFFs from GTA3.img once again!

solo
  • solo

    Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2002

#24

Posted 05 May 2005 - 06:41 PM Edited by solo, 06 May 2005 - 12:42 PM.

QUOTE (Kam @ May 5 2005, 17:04)

I would think that part of your DFFs are damaged! Try import some dffs using 'DFF IO' to see if it work, or extract all DFFs from GTA3.img once again!

I will give that a try and see what happens. I also just downloaded the latest version of Gmax, and your script worked great on all the ipl`s I tried. I then went back to Max7 and imported all the Staunton ipl`s without any trouble blink.gif but when I tried the Portland ones, it crashed suicidal.gif Oh yeah, I tried listing the dff`s and checking them, and the script says they are all there. I will report back when I have re-exported all the dff`s from the image

OK I tried re-exporting all the dff`s from the image using IMG Tool and Respawns IMG, but the same thing keeps happening. As you said it must be something to do with Max7

grovespaz
  • grovespaz

    Group: Morons

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2004

#25

Posted 04 July 2005 - 04:55 PM

Sorry for bumping this almost month old topic, but i wanted to know what the status is atm.

It looked really cool.

(Btw, anyone noticed the last post of ODIE was in this topic? bored.gif )

Run Down That Guy
  • Run Down That Guy

    Hmmm

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2002

#26

Posted 04 July 2005 - 05:52 PM

-=[Great job on this biggrin.gif ]=-

MiLO83
  • MiLO83

    (c)1991 EXSORBEO

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2003

#27

Posted 07 July 2005 - 11:57 PM

I would also like to hear of progress on this.
ph34r.gif

flitcroft101
  • flitcroft101

    wat

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2005

#28

Posted 08 July 2005 - 09:24 AM

Hello and welcome back biggrin.gif where do i put this file? im new to 3ds max 7( i usually work on maya6.5 and cinema 4d)

GH0STce11
  • GH0STce11

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2005

#29

Posted 08 July 2005 - 10:03 PM

ok, well my internet protection filter thingy is being retarded, it thinks the file is "free host music" and won't let me d/l.

can some1 post a different link or pm it to me?
-Thanks

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#30

Posted 09 July 2005 - 08:21 AM

QUOTE (flitcroft101 @ Jul 8 2005, 09:24)
Hello and welcome back biggrin.gif where do i put this file? im new to 3ds max 7( i usually work on maya6.5 and cinema 4d)

you're rich wow.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users