Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

MISSION CODING IV

520 replies to this topic
KoLSPD2
  • KoLSPD2

    The Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#61

Posted 13 March 2005 - 09:24 PM

Corpse: Already converted, replaced Romero's Hearse
Escape Heli: Sparrow, perhaps? It's not used in the city, so why not this?
Ghost: Already converted, replaced Coastguard boat

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#62

Posted 13 March 2005 - 09:25 PM

Corpse is the Romero from Vice City (and I already did that mission in case you missed it). The ghost is now Coastg. Escape was not converted though. I guess we could just use the Maverick for that one.

I'll try to add the different cars to the first post tonight.

EDIT: KoLSPD beat me by a little bit. But the sparrow is sort of being used (not that my DeLorean will stay in the final version)

DarkGTA
  • DarkGTA

    DarkGTA Has Returned

  • Members
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2004

#63

Posted 13 March 2005 - 10:41 PM

Where can we find the Coastguard in GTA: LC? confused.gif

Hammer83
  • Hammer83

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2003

#64

Posted 13 March 2005 - 11:51 PM Edited by Hammer83, 14 March 2005 - 03:28 AM.

Escape is needed. I started on Exchange mission wow.gif

EDIT: On the second thought, Escape is not needed. I think the best way to make this mission work is with one of the regular helicopters.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#65

Posted 14 March 2005 - 09:06 AM

'The Exchange' is coming along nicely. I'm just getting a few (seemingly random) lockups. Hopefully we'll be able to track down all of the bugs and get it released.

Nothing's changed with 'Silence the Sneak' since yesterday. And I'm not sure if I'm going to convert any new missions this week. I probably will do at least a few of them though.

We are getting really close to another limit however. If we (meaning Hammer83) can't modify the exe to expand this, then there's only room for 9 more cutscenes. And there are 12 uncoded missions (some with multiple cutscenes). So this could be a problem. If the limit cannot be expanded, then we could remove the phone mission cutscenes and restore the beta1 un-cutscenes.

No code download for today, just an update on my status. I'll most likely release the code (with the necessary files) tomorrow night.

Kurropt Antagonist
  • Kurropt Antagonist

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2004

#66

Posted 15 March 2005 - 08:27 PM

Yes, remove the phone mission cutscenes.

Claude normally just floats a wee bit above ground and his legs keep jerking around.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#67

Posted 17 March 2005 - 09:16 PM

If anybody wants to convert the last 4 Ray missions, let me know as I've converted the code already. I just haven't tested any of the missions or changed any bad opcodes. Again, I did't rewrite anything yet, I just converted the code to Vice City format and moved the coordinate to match LC. There are a few bad opcodes which may not be restorable in the asi, so we'll have to find a clever workaround.

Kurropt Antagonist
  • Kurropt Antagonist

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2004

#68

Posted 23 March 2005 - 05:26 PM

Some more problems/errors/glitches I've run into.

QUOTE
Dead Skunk In The Trunk

Opening Cutscene: Joey's head is in the tire.

QUOTE
Any Of TONI's Missions

They are marked with an "S" instead of a "T".

QUOTE
Sayonara Salvatore

Cutscene showing the car driving to the club doesn't happen. Instead screen flickers with 'widescreen' on.

QUOTE
Drive Misty For Me

After arriving at Joey's, Claude gets out of car, takes one step, then freezes (Claude, not the game).

Y_Less
  • Y_Less

    629

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2004

#69

Posted 23 March 2005 - 06:51 PM

BUGS, GLITCHES, and INCOMPLETES

Bugs topic - report them there.

Kurropt Antagonist
  • Kurropt Antagonist

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 May 2004

#70

Posted 23 March 2005 - 10:54 PM

Oh, I thought we could report mission coding errors in here.

My bad.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#71

Posted 24 March 2005 - 05:37 AM

You can post bug errors here as well. But posting in the bugs thread would make things easier as that first post is usually updated with new bugs and it would be easier to referrence it.

But either thread works for me.

Smellton
  • Smellton

    Can't get off my chair

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2005

#72

Posted 26 March 2005 - 01:21 AM

I got an unhandled exception message when doing the 'Trial by Fire' mission and it had a message that looked like the main.scm file, anyone had this

Y_Less
  • Y_Less

    629

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2004

#73

Posted 26 March 2005 - 12:55 PM

Thats the error handler. It tells you where in the mission script the game was when it crashed. It is for bug finding, the error may not have been in the mission script, but it can help rule out possibilities.

If you post the reported code, it may help people sort out the bug.

herrhund
  • herrhund

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2005

#74

Posted 27 March 2005 - 01:28 PM

I downloaded the latest LC_SCM Archive yesterday! But if i want to start the Game the Error showa a error message and i want to post it here because it may help sorting out bugs!

Link to the Log

Y_Less
  • Y_Less

    629

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2004

#75

Posted 27 March 2005 - 01:50 PM

Can you post a copy of the log somewhere as that links to a download site and I don't know about other people, but TBH I don't really want to be downloading stuff like that from there (not saying owt about you, I just get paranoid).

And alot of people seem to be having this problem at the moment, it may be a major problem.

herrhund
  • herrhund

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2005

#76

Posted 03 April 2005 - 05:54 PM Edited by herrhund, 03 April 2005 - 06:53 PM.

What do you know about this Problem? I think i know some things about it... Maybe i can help sorting it out....

:::edit:
Now i know the problem and fixed it! The game starts colgate.gif
But now there are other Problems:
The Coordinates of the cars/markers/... are wrong (screenshots)
user posted image
user posted image

Y_Less
  • Y_Less

    629

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2004

#77

Posted 03 April 2005 - 09:13 PM

You need to download the latest Beta 2 (or at least the latest IPLs (which you can't actually get separately)). We moved the city due to problems with boundaries, you seem to have the moved SCM, but not the moved city.

herrhund
  • herrhund

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jan 2005

#78

Posted 04 April 2005 - 03:50 PM Edited by herrhund, 04 April 2005 - 04:23 PM.

80mb with 56k sad.gif
But that's not the problem...
The problem is the Crash when the game loads....
I think you know tat it is a problem with the zones /zone checks....
btw: What's new in Bta2?

Y_Less
  • Y_Less

    629

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Mar 2004

#79

Posted 04 April 2005 - 04:58 PM

I don't know if this is applicable to you, but I used to download stuff at school on their nice T1 line and take them home.

Beta 2 has loads of new missions, peds, moved city, all sorts.

And this should really be in Status of the mod or the bugs topic, its not really SCM related.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#80

Posted 07 April 2005 - 11:43 PM

There's been something that I've been thinking about for a few months now, but we were never anywhere near close enough to seriously think about it. But now with the missions script getting close to complete I think it's time to discuss a possible 100% reward.

Now in GTAIII there was no reward at all for getting 100%. That was first introduced in Vice City. But some of those features that were in Vice City (like infinite ammo and double car damage) are hardcoded into the exe and will automatically be given when the player reaches 100%.

The way I see it is we have two options. First we could disable those hardcoded rewards and make it just like GTAIII. Or we could try to add some features to the code to reward the player for getting everything. Disabling the gang threats or adding some parked cars (or Vice City weapons) are some options of what we could add.

Any suggestions on this matter will be considered and open to debate.

Samutz
  • Samutz

    if ($lol) { die(rofl()); }

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003

#81

Posted 07 April 2005 - 11:53 PM

I would think for an exact replica of GTA3 in VC's engine, a good reward would be enabling of features/items from VC. Helicopters, bikes, the skimmer, extra boats enabled, weapons as you said, maybe a few buyable properties, etc. That is, if they don't mod them in themselves.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#82

Posted 08 April 2005 - 12:00 AM Edited by spaceeinstein, 08 April 2005 - 06:28 PM.

There is an unofficial mod topic for a reason.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#83

Posted 08 April 2005 - 12:17 AM

But space this is different. This is discussion about what may (or may not) go into the official version of the mod. In the end it may end up exactly like GTAIII where nothing is rewarded. But I wanted to see how various people felt about this as it is something we should at least consider.

PresidentKiller
  • PresidentKiller

    Anger Manager

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2004
  • Mexico

#84

Posted 08 April 2005 - 01:28 AM

I think rewards should be given. It sucks that you get a 100% completion in GTA3 and everything you get is just some money and...

QUOTE (Samutz)
Bragging rights

ESMazter
  • ESMazter

    http://www.erhan.es

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2004

#85

Posted 08 April 2005 - 10:49 AM

QUOTE (Craig Kostelecky @ Apr 8 2005, 01:17)
But space this is different. This is discussion about what may (or may not) go into the official version of the mod. In the end it may end up exactly like GTAIII where nothing is rewarded. But I wanted to see how various people felt about this as it is something we should at least consider.

In my mind this is a great idea. GTA LC gets boring after a while.

Bebop
  • Bebop

    GTA LC Peds Converter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2004

#86

Posted 08 April 2005 - 03:37 PM


Is there any possibility that my cloth pickup mod gets on the official gta lc?

random_download
  • random_download

    :o

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2004

#87

Posted 08 April 2005 - 04:27 PM

QUOTE (Bebop @ Apr 8 2005, 15:37)
Is there any possibility that my cloth pickup mod gets on the official gta lc?

This is the reason why I think that you should stick to the original GTA3. If you add something in that was not in GTA3, people will want other non-GTA3 bits and pieces putting in too. I would keep it as a straight port into VC's engine.

Bebop
  • Bebop

    GTA LC Peds Converter

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2004

#88

Posted 08 April 2005 - 04:53 PM


Yeah, but clothes change are something from VC.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#89

Posted 08 April 2005 - 06:30 PM

QUOTE (spaceeinstein @ Apr 7 2005, 20:00)
There is an unofficial mod topic for a reason.

ŻŻŻ

random_download
  • random_download

    :o

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2004

#90

Posted 08 April 2005 - 09:22 PM

QUOTE (Bebop @ Apr 8 2005, 16:53)
Yeah, but clothes change are something from VC.

wtf?
QUOTE (spaceeinstein @ Apr 8 2005, 18:30)
QUOTE (spaceeinstein @ Apr 7 2005, 20:00)
There is an unofficial mod topic for a reason.

ŻŻŻ

Agreed




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users