Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Sketchup Building Tutorial Part Four

34 replies to this topic
Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#1

Posted 21 August 2004 - 10:18 PM Edited by gansta killa, 03 September 2004 - 07:42 PM.

user posted image
Part 4 - Getting It In Game


Introduction
Well here we are, the final tutorial. This time I'll be showing you how to get your object in game, as per normal we're going to need Zmod, and we're also going to need Moo Mapper a 3D mapper for gta3 and vice city. And you'll need colmaker and Vicetxd

Download ViceTxd From Here
Download Colmaker from here
Download Moo Mapper from here

By now if you've done parts 1,2 and 3 you should have a building, with inteior and fully textured and scaled to size. And thats were we're starting from.

Before begining make sure, your building and interior are scaled, textured and is in the correct position in zmod.
Getting It In Game
Your building should be in two parts, exteriror and interior. Every object in Vice City, MUST have a colfile. Otherwise it wont work, the game will crash. Each colfile, can only support up to 2000 faces, other wise it will crash. I've only gotten one object, to view the objects number of faces in Zmodeler, right click it in the object list and choose properties.
user posted image
Thats the screen you should get, where its circled is the ammount of faces in your object. I've got 1,409 faces on my object or polys as there called. But exporting to COL from zmodeler will double the number of faces. So you have to get rid of these doubled faces, I'll be telling you how later on in the tutorial when it becomes necessary.

So here we are, scaled and textured building, now to get it in game.
user posted image
First off, once everything is correct in Zmodeler, we'll need to export the dff. So go to file export and make sure the name is something you want it to be, as this will be the name of the dff and colfile as well...
user posted image
"House" is the name of my object, so when I go to File --- Export the filename will be house.dff.
user posted image
I've named it house.dff. You must add the .dff to the end of the filename. When it comes up asking for which version choose Vice City.

On to the colfile, whilst you can't export directly to a .COL file you have to export it to a directx file .X and then make the col using colmaker.

Go to File --- Export and choose directx .X and name it the same as the dff so in this case it would be house.
user posted image
Once you've done that we can now close, Zmodeler.

Its now onto that double faces that we talked about, If you were to open up your .X file in notepad you'd get something like this.
QUOTE

xof 0302txt 0032

Material default {
1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000;;
50.000000;
0.500000, 0.500000, 0.500000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;
}

Material Textured: rooftoprd128.tga {
1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000;;
50.000000;
0.500000, 0.500000, 0.500000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;
TextureFilename {
  "rooftoprd128.bmp";
}
}

Material Textured: carshowwin1.tga {
1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000;;
50.000000;
0.500000, 0.500000, 0.500000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;
TextureFilename {
  "carshowwin1.bmp";
}
}

Material Textured: Mangaragedoor.tga {
1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000;;
50.000000;
0.500000, 0.500000, 0.500000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;
TextureFilename {
  "mangaragedoor.bmp";
}
}

Material Textured: man_wall_ext7_256.tga {
1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000, 1.000000;;
50.000000;
0.500000, 0.500000, 0.500000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;
TextureFilename {
  "man_wall_ext7_256.bmp";
}
}

Material FrontColor {
0.658203, 0.658203, 0.585938, 1.000000;;
5.000000;
0.050000, 0.050000, 0.050000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;
}

Material MediumPurple {
0.429688, 0.328125, 0.640625, 1.000000;;
5.000000;
0.050000, 0.050000, 0.050000;;
0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000;;

Frame Main {
Mesh house {

  2206;
  -0.728707; 0.000000; -1.355450;,
  -5.791207; 0.000000; 1.104065;,
  -5.791207; 0.000000; -1.355450;,
  -5.791207; 0.000000; 2.541565;,
  -5.791207; 0.000000; 5.278234;,
  -0.728707; 0.000000; 5.278234;,
  -0.728707; 0.000000; 4.907106;,
 

Thats just the start of it, its too big to post the whole thing. But you can remove anything above the "Frame Main" Now if you searched for "Mesh" it should bring up "Mesh yourobjectnamehere" and "Mesh Normals" you can remove everything below "Mesh Normals" and save. Now this should of overcome the double faces problem.

Now lets fire up colmaker, colmaker is revaltivly easy to use.
user posted image
Thats colmakers main screen, if its in another language, the option to change it is under Options.

Before we go any further, make sure the option mirror X axis is set. Options --- Mirror X Axis
user posted image

Ok, now that its setup lets load in our X file. File --- Load Text.
user posted image
The box should change, and be filled with the X file. give it the same name as the object in the dff. so in my case, house.

Now press make collision file. We're going to make a folder in the Vice City Maps fodler. Browse to where your Gta Vc Is using colmaker, and open data\maps and create the the folder tut.
user posted image

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#2

Posted 21 August 2004 - 10:19 PM

Now you've made your Colfile, its time to make the TXD. The txd is the texture file and contains the textures.

So fire up Vice TXD.
user posted image
Its not too hard to use ViceTXD, ok, lets make the txd. Go to File --- New and name it the same as the colfile. So in my case it would be house.
user posted image
Once you've made that we now need to import the textures. So go to dictionary -- new texture. We don't need to worry about alpha file, all we need is Texture file. So click the button and load in the texture you used for the walls.
user posted image
As you can see its automaticly filled in the required details when you loaded the texture. Click ok and it should appear in the ViceTXD main window.
user posted image
Repeat this untill all textures are loaded in.
user posted image
Thats it for ViceTXD. Lets just run through a quick checklist

• Dff Exported
• .X Exported
• Colfile Created From .X File
• Txd Made

If you've done all of those things, then you're ready for the next step.
Moo Mapper
Yep, we're moving into moo mapper. Before you progress any further please check out this tutorial on moo mapper basics.

Moo Mapper The Baiscs

Once you've read through that we can move on. That tutorial, explained about IPLs, moving the objects and the basic interface of moo mapper.

Right lets move on, first we're going to need an IDE file or Object Deffination file. So find the IDE tab user posted image and click on it, then click new. Lets give the IDE a name of tut. Remember we made that folder tut, which has the colfile in? Well lets create the IDE in there.
user posted image
When you click save, it should say "Do you want to add this to the gta_vc.dat. yes/no" Choose yes. And it will enter the IDE line into the gta_vc.dat for you.

Now we need to add our object to the IDE file, so click on our newly created IDE file, and choose Add.
user posted image
Now you should get thie screen. Called the object editor box.

user posted image

Model name is the DFF and Texture Lib is the TXD, load the dff and txd in, and make sure that lod vaule is set to a vaule of 300.

user posted image

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#3

Posted 21 August 2004 - 10:19 PM

Lets test that our object is in game correctly by using teh Second Display, click this button user posted image and it should bring up a window with your object in it.
user posted image
Ok, so things look a bit messed up on mine, but don't worry yours should be ok. If you've done it correctly.

Ok, its IPL time now, we need the Object Placement file, so click this buttonuser posted image and choose new, name it tut and save it in the tut folder.
user posted image
Once again, it will ask you if you want to add it to the gta_vc.dat choose yes again.

Ok, we need to load in an area of Vice City so we know where to place our object. Lets tick user posted image and double click this, to get the area displayed in the 3D view. move around the area until, you come across a sutible location for your building. Ok now once you've done that click tick your ipl and double click it to load it. user posted image Now press the add button and you get the object editor agan.. We're going to need some values from the IDE.
user posted image
We need the ID number, model name. Once you've gotten this and made a note of it, you can then enter this into the IPL.
user posted image
Should look somethig like that when done. Now once this is entered, you can then move your object in the location to where you want it. Do this then we've got one more thing to do.
user posted image
Once that has done, go onto .dat ediotor user posted image And scroll down untill you come across
CODE

COLFILE 0 MODELS\Generic\generic.COL


Click below that and add, this line

CODE
COLFILE 0 DATA\MAPS\TUT\yourcolfilenamehere.COL


Make sure you replace yourcolfilenamehere with the colfile name, and ensure that your colfile is in that folder.

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#4

Posted 21 August 2004 - 10:19 PM

user posted image
Once that is done, go to file --- save. And then you can close moo mapper, and test it in game.
user posted image
Congratulatiosn you've just completed your first custom building into Vice City.

I hoped these tutorials has helped you.

Thanks for reading and happy modding.
Trouble Shooting
My game crashes whilst loading

Ensure that the colfile is present and correctly named

I can't see my object in game

Make sure that you set the LOD vaule to 300 or more

My building is all white

Make sure that the txd is correctly named and is in the gta3.img

The colfile is offset to the object

Make sure when you re do the colfile that mirror x Axis is checked.

Megaerathia
  • Megaerathia

    Street Cat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 May 2004

#5

Posted 17 October 2004 - 10:09 AM

f*ck this man the f*cking game crashes i did fill in the f*cking right name -Megaerathia

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#6

Posted 17 October 2004 - 10:32 AM

QUOTE (Megaerathia @ Oct 17 2004, 11:09)
f*ck this man the f*cking game crashes i did fill in the f*cking right name -Megaerathia

calm down please..

Gangsta Killa: where did the tutes 1, 2 and 3 go?

Megaerathia
  • Megaerathia

    Street Cat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 May 2004

#7

Posted 17 October 2004 - 11:57 AM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Oct 17 2004, 10:32)
QUOTE (Megaerathia @ Oct 17 2004, 11:09)
f*ck this man the f*cking game crashes i did fill in the f*cking right name      -Megaerathia

calm down please..

Gangsta Killa: where did the tutes 1, 2 and 3 go?

1: http://www.gtaforums...ic=143935&st=0
2:http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=143964
3:http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=144073
4:http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=144095

meh http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=141222
-Megaerathia

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#8

Posted 17 October 2004 - 12:12 PM

They are all there Delfi. Just probably on a different page.

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#9

Posted 17 October 2004 - 06:19 PM

my first sketchup model:

user posted image

in zmodeler:

user posted image

sketchup seriously kicks ass!!

thanx for the tutorial, it actualy forced me to give it a shot cookie.gif

Megaerathia
  • Megaerathia

    Street Cat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 20 May 2004

#10

Posted 17 October 2004 - 08:25 PM

QUOTE (Delfi @ Oct 17 2004, 18:19)
my first sketchup model:

user posted image

in zmodeler:

user posted image

sketchup seriously kicks ass!!

thanx for the tutorial, it actualy forced me to give it a shot cookie.gif

Nice sketchup rules man. -Megaerathia

Dangta
  • Dangta

    Multi-Talented Person

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2004

#11

Posted 22 October 2004 - 10:25 PM

hmmm. i've done it all right on mine. And it's all right in moo mapper but when i go ingame the actual model is appears smaller than the collision and than it is in moo mapper.

Superb@ll
  • Superb@ll

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2003

#12

Posted 25 October 2004 - 03:57 PM

You mean you get invisible collision walls?

rodzynator
  • rodzynator

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2004

#13

Posted 26 November 2004 - 11:13 AM

You Rock dude! these tutorials are the best! ( by the way the vice txd link is wrong it links to IMG tool instead)

-GRAVITY2-
  • -GRAVITY2-

    Map Modeller

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

#14

Posted 26 November 2004 - 02:52 PM

Hey i need some help on what to do here. my structure is 3734 polies. How can i get this ingame?

Superb@ll
  • Superb@ll

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2003

#15

Posted 26 November 2004 - 03:21 PM

Split it into two seperate parts, each under 2000 polies.

-GRAVITY2-
  • -GRAVITY2-

    Map Modeller

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

#16

Posted 26 November 2004 - 03:22 PM

How can i go about splitting it up?

mental mickey
  • mental mickey

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2002

#17

Posted 28 December 2004 - 01:51 AM Edited by mental mickey, 28 December 2004 - 07:59 PM.

Hello Gansta Killa.

Another great tutorial of many you've now written. However, I'm running into a little problem I can't figure out. I was wondering if anyone knows why this is happening?

I've now given this around 20+ attempts and can't seem to get past the part where I should be able to see my building in "Secondary Display" using "Moo Mapper". What I've also noticed is that when I try to load the "Model Name" and "Texture Lib" into the "Item Editor Dialogue" box, it won't let me interact with the browse buttons in order for me to load the afore-mentioned files. The "Secondary Display" view just shows a coloured cube. What could be causing this? I've been past this stage before and can't understand why this is happening.

I would really appreciate it if someone could shed some light on this for me.


Mental Mickey.
<edit>
I figured it out from another tutorial you (Gangsta Killa) made previously concerning getting models into Vice City. The reason the browse buttons "..." in my "Item Editor Dialogue" box were greyed out was because my "gta.img" and "gta.dir" files were "Read Only". Perhaps you could add this to the already excellent tutorial as I'm aware through reading many posts that this is a known stumbling block for noobs like myself. Cheers.
</end edit>

adz
  • adz

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 02 May 2004

#18

Posted 29 December 2004 - 05:49 PM

Awsome tut biggrin.gif

Mark
  • Mark

    Jesus hates you.

  • Zaibatsu
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#19

Posted 07 January 2005 - 03:21 PM

QUOTE (-GRAVITY2- @ Nov 26 2004, 16:22)
How can i go about splitting it up?

If you got say 2 distinct parts to your building, detach along here and stick one part in another file. Then go about as normal and put both objects in game.

One question: How would you go about doing a proper LOD? No just setting the value really high. I mean you could make a lowpoly model and set the LOD value really high...but how do you make it disappear when the high poly model arrives?END

shocker275
  • shocker275

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2003

#20

Posted 02 April 2005 - 09:15 AM

Why is my coll off for my buildings? I know I selected the mirror X axis thing, but even if I did forget to do it once the coll is off for all may buildings. Just not the island or bridge. Please help!

Black-hawk
  • Black-hawk

    Boss

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2004

#21

Posted 02 April 2005 - 09:53 AM

QUOTE (shocker275 @ Apr 2 2005, 09:15)
Why is my coll off for my buildings? I know I selected the mirror X axis thing, but even if I did forget to do it once the coll is off for all may buildings. Just not the island or bridge. Please help!

Collision File of Doom™.
You need to make a low-poly colfile.

shocker275
  • shocker275

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2003

#22

Posted 02 April 2005 - 03:40 PM

How do I do that?

Carmo
  • Carmo

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jun 2005

#23

Posted 14 August 2005 - 04:30 PM

i seem to get in visible col walls wat can i doo to stop this from happening

scarafce
  • scarafce

    Rat

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2005

#24

Posted 16 September 2005 - 08:44 PM

1 part is missed ..that u need tu add those 2 txd and dff file in arhive with IMGtool(i tink) but i cant see my model in moomapper nervous.gif :S:S i lost like 4 houers and suicidal.gif can someone help me .... sad.gif

dertyjerzian
  • dertyjerzian

    I have a custom member title. I call it "Solid Snake"

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2005

#25

Posted 16 September 2005 - 10:55 PM

Scarface, are you mapping for VC or SA (non-n00bs know this much, ok? : It is possible he hooked up moo mapper to work for SA, dont ask me how)

If mapping for SA, email me or pm me and we will begin discussion first how to make your collision files (i did get your message, dunno where you sent it too though tounge.gif ) and then I will help to get you set up on your way with placing your object wink.gif

Please excuse if I am a little length of time to reply, I have answered likt 100 mails today! lol

alinhaidu
  • alinhaidu

    Cj and Tommy's Friend

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2005

#26

Posted 19 November 2005 - 07:34 PM

Why my game is still crashing if i've done everithing, all right....step by step....could it be cause i'm working with K-Ed and not with Moo Mapper??

alinhaidu
  • alinhaidu

    Cj and Tommy's Friend

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2005

#27

Posted 20 November 2005 - 05:03 AM

yap...now i've figured up what was. Whatever. Now i can pass trought walls. Why me? Why isn't it working cool......sith......biggrin.gif

Gertlex
  • Gertlex

    GTA Stuntman

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2004

#28

Posted 28 December 2005 - 01:20 AM

What does LOD define?

I'm trying to mod some collision files of the airport in VC. What is the importance of all those LODdescripname [-] entries that are essentially just big boxes. When I export them and open them with ZMod, I don't see anything at all... Are they they box within which the col file must fit (otherwise being chopped off some)?

So is LOD describing the same thing in both of these cases?

I'd play around in moo mapper with the LOD value, but that's only defining one value, and the big boxes i'm looking at are not cubes... Is moo mapper just primitive like that?

Mikeyspike
  • Mikeyspike

    To N00B to be true-JOIN MY FORUM (CLICK SIG)

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2006

#29

Posted 24 January 2006 - 07:04 PM

hey sorry if this is quite old but i realy need help
the problem starts with my img tool..
i try to add the dff and txd so i can get it in to moo but an error comes up saying: acses denied
and does nothink then and i tryed my dff and txb but still it don't work.
Tryed making the GTAIII archive non rea only but still it don't work
please re ply asap !!!!! dontgetit.gif

Grant_has_a_dream
  • Grant_has_a_dream

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Sep 2005

#30

Posted 27 January 2006 - 01:05 PM

QUOTE (Mikeyspike @ Jan 24 2006, 19:04)
hey sorry if this is quite old but i realy need help
the problem starts with my img tool..
i try to add the dff and txd so i can get it in to moo but an error comes up saying: acses denied
and does nothink then and i tryed my dff and txb but still it don't work.
Tryed making the GTAIII archive non rea only but still it don't work
please re ply asap !!!!! dontgetit.gif

he he, Hello Mikey. Might have known you would be here. I think i have already explained and so has Junox and you now have objects ingame biggrin.gif So no more worries. tounge2.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users