Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Sketchup Building Tutorial Part Two

20 replies to this topic
Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#1

Posted 21 August 2004 - 02:15 AM Edited by gansta killa, 03 September 2004 - 07:40 PM.

user posted image
Part two - Texturing Your Building


Introduction
Well at the begining of part one, I said that I wouldn't be showing you how to texture, well looks like I'm wrong and here I am showing you how to texture your building. Despite this has already been done, but I'll be showing the whole building.

Alright, enough with the waffle lets crack on.
Texturing
We left off with, a untextured but scaled building, if you remember this is my building
user posted image
That was what I left off with, we will be using zmodeler to texture our building. I've already chosen my textures that I'll be using.
Make sure your textures are binary numbers. eg 32X32, 64X64 128X128 256x256.
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
There what I'll be using, make sure your textures are in BMP format. load up zmod, and lets add our textures to the material editor user posted image
user posted image
Thats the material editor, by default the only material should be Default Material, but because its come from Sketchup it will have one in there, and if you used a car to scale it will have them in there as well. Deleate everything in the material editor, by using the drop down box, you wont be able to deleate Default Material so leave it.

Once its clear lets start to load our materials in. Choose the Default Material and click copy. Now choose the copied Default Material, and see where it says name, start it with
CODE
Textured:
Now we need to add the name of the file, in this case its the roof so it would be
CODE
Textured: rooftoprd128.tga
Always add .tga to the end of it.

Now we need to load in the texture, see where it says primary texture? Tick the box next to the button and click the button. It should bring up this screen.
user posted image
Click the add button and browse to your roof texture and load it in. Now repeat this process untill all your textures are added.
user posted image

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#2

Posted 21 August 2004 - 02:15 AM

Once thats done, choose select --- single from the tools menu. And make sure your in faces mode user posted image And right click each face of the roof.
user posted image
Should look something like that, now open up material editor again, and find the roof texture, at the bottom of the editor is a button "assign textures" click it, and the roof should turn to the color of your texture. The textures are going to need to be mapped now. So lets turn on the UV mapper view.
user posted image
Once UV mapper is on, on the tools menu choose Surface ---- Mapping ----- Assign UV.
user posted image
Once you've chosen that tool, make sure the SEL button is selected user posted image You can deselect and select the SEL button by pressing space bar. Ok once thats done left click on a red part of the object and the UV mapper should change to your object and texture.
user posted image
Ok, its a bit big, but that can be sorted by scaling it down until the texture looks right in the 3D view.
user posted image
user posted image
Now lets move on and texture on the garage (if you did one). Repeat the same process, choose the faces, assign to faces. And assign UV.
user posted image
user posted image
With this one, you've got to scale it until only one garage door fits on to it.

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#3

Posted 21 August 2004 - 02:15 AM

user posted image
user posted image
Ok, lets work on the windows now, for the ease of this tutorial, the windows will only be a solid texture and not alpha texture. For more information on alphas visit this tutorial. Because of the texture I'm using is splilt into 9 sections, I don't want to window to be spilt, so you'll have to scale down and move around the object in UV mapper to get that perfect fit.
user posted image
user posted image
Lets move onto the wall now, because theres so much of the wall, do each part seperate.
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
And there you go, thats your building textured, its really quite simple once you've got the hang of it.

I hope this has helped people, to model a building and texture it.

Thanks for reading and happy modding.

mental mickey
  • mental mickey

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2002

#4

Posted 21 August 2004 - 03:13 PM

Hi Gangsta Killa.

This is what I think most folks have been waiting for. A guide to modelling and texturing buildings. This is undoubtedly a neglected area for us n00bs who are starting out in the big bad world of modding. Using SketchUp too eh? What a great idea.

You've done a very cool thing and I hope others appreciate it as much as I do. I'm now off to see if I can blag a free SketchUp from somewhere. biggrin.gif


I'll let you know how it goes.

Mental Mickey.

grovespaz
  • grovespaz

    Group: Morons

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Feb 2004

#5

Posted 27 August 2004 - 09:02 PM

pm me about that free sketchup.

Sillyhed2000
  • Sillyhed2000

    Every time you try to small-talk me on MSN I will kill a puppy.

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2003

#6

Posted 20 September 2004 - 01:16 AM Edited by Sillyhed2000, 22 September 2004 - 09:28 AM.

EDIT: Ok, screw the problems I had, I got them all sorted out.
May I add that hiding faces makes texturing a lot easier. Hide the ones you don't wanna texture, then you can just drag a box around the ones you do wanna texture to select them instead of selecting each face one by one.
Meh, I just found it easier smile.gif

rodzynator
  • rodzynator

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2004

#7

Posted 22 November 2004 - 01:25 PM Edited by rodzynator, 22 November 2004 - 02:38 PM.

Never mind i figured it out

astro33
  • astro33

    astro33

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2004

#8

Posted 22 November 2004 - 02:46 PM

@rodzynator

http://zmodeler.wo.to
click flash image on mian site.
then click surface-assignuv.

1.use tga file for texture image. and make image size 512x512.
2.and face mode,sel butten on. select vertex
3.open metrial editor check primary texture, load texture, push assign to selection butten.
4.chage any 1 view to uvmapper.
5.resetuv,assignuv
6.on uvmapper window, you can move,rotate,scale.

model is done.but when you export dff file on zmodeler, object is dark.
so you should use 3dsmax3.
script download http://www.tnlc.com/rw/files.html

7.on zmodeler, export as ***.3ds
8.push m butten, load texture
9.export as ***.dff (option with prelight)

more prelight and max guide

http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=142201
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=135811
http://www.illspirit.com/tutorial.php

at last you must have col file,
without this game will not working.
----------------------
i use free model, and i texture it.
it's my first map mod
screenshots
http://imagesavers.c.../1101123097.gif
http://imagesavers.c.../1101123024.gif
http://imagesavers.c.../1101122906.gif
http://imagesavers.c.../1101122785.gif

PlatinumSerb
  • PlatinumSerb

    ...

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Mar 2004

#9

Posted 25 November 2004 - 05:33 AM Edited by PlatinumSerb, 25 November 2004 - 06:25 AM.

QUOTE (Gangsta Killa @ Aug 21 2004, 02:15)
user posted image
Ok, its a bit big, but that can be sorted by scaling it down until the texture looks right in the 3D view.

Hi, Gangsta Killa this is a great tutorial that you wrote. The problam Im having is that I can do everything until the point quoted above. I dont understand what I have to do.

Andy80586
  • Andy80586

    Mark Chump

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2003

#10

Posted 14 December 2004 - 05:30 AM

I found it easier to use SketchUp to texture my building, but found that it came out too dark when I exported it. I solved the problem by increasing the luminosity of each texture by 100 (to do this, go to the Material Editor in Zmod, click on the colored square under Material Properties, and increase the Lum number by 100 (to a maximum of 240, but most Lum values will be below 100)). I have yet to test it in the game, though.

gta_king
  • gta_king

    JCM

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2002

#11

Posted 03 January 2005 - 05:13 PM

Zmodeler is really pissing me off, I UVMapped the Roof no problem, now whenever I try to map something else all i get is an annoying White Box, I even tried closing Zmodeler and then reopening it still get that annoying white box.

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#12

Posted 03 January 2005 - 11:51 PM

Make sure that the faces you are trying to map, have a texture assigned to them.

randomman
  • randomman

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2005

#13

Posted 19 February 2005 - 11:04 AM

i have a simialr prob to platinumserb.

my texture wont appear in that small box with the texture in it.

randomman
  • randomman

    Snitch

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2005

#14

Posted 02 March 2005 - 04:42 PM

how do you scale your texture in uv mapping

Mercie
  • Mercie

    .

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2004

#15

Posted 02 March 2005 - 11:47 PM

QUOTE (randomman @ Mar 2 2005, 12:42)
how do you scale your texture in uv mapping

scale the selected 'object' with the SEL off.

Taekwon-joe
  • Taekwon-joe

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Mar 2005

#16

Posted 06 April 2005 - 08:19 PM

Cant you just texture it in ScetchUp or does that not turn out right in game?

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004

#17

Posted 25 April 2005 - 07:11 PM

I don't get it. How can I scale in UVmapper? Pls help.

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004

#18

Posted 26 April 2005 - 09:25 AM

there is a lot easier option already texture it in sketchup export it to 3ds in sketchup open it up in zmodeler and go to the material editor your textures are already assigned you only need to change colors to make them show up right.

Shadow-Link
  • Shadow-Link

    Li'l G Loc

  • Members
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2004

#19

Posted 26 April 2005 - 11:12 AM

QUOTE (aad @ Apr 26 2005, 09:25)
there is a lot easier option already texture it in sketchup export it to 3ds in sketchup open it up in zmodeler and go to the material editor your textures are already assigned you only need to change colors to make them show up right.

Thnx! It works now.

SmellyJelly
  • SmellyJelly

    Hoodies

  • $outh $ide Hoodz
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2003

#20

Posted 28 May 2005 - 02:58 AM

Is there anyway to stop the textures from going in the game messed up? It looks good in zmod, but then when it gets ingame it's usually flipped or backwards.

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Inactive Staff
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#21

Posted 29 May 2005 - 07:22 AM

I think you need to flip the texture horrizontally before inserting it into the TXD.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users