Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[Guide] Pre-lighting your lots with MAX 3

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic
_RicH_
  • _RicH_

    its fun, we get to play with knifes

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 May 2002

#1

Posted 05 August 2004 - 03:19 PM

Might add some pics later, but for now...

--------------------
Prelighting Guide
--------------------
By _RicH_
Adapted from a convo I had with Sadistic (if somethingís wrong, blame him lol.gif )

------------
Before we start, export your object with zmod and make sure it all works ok in game! if not, fix it!
------------

You need:
Your object in max, with materials (make sure specularity is set to 0 on your materials. If your materials havent imported correctly, ie zmod truncated them, use this guide by illy to re-assign them)
Blankland max file (illcom.max) from dev kit (in downloads section)
Max r3 with DFF plug-in (donít ask where to get max, but you can find the plug-in on this forum)

Open the blank illcom.max from devkit

File/Save as, and save it as something useful, like your lot name c?_r?.max or something

Delete all sections of land EXCEPT the one your lot replaces (DONíT delete the lights or anything else, just the land)

File/Merge and merge your objects max file with this.

Move your object until it lines up as close as you can get it with the empty version of your lot.

If you had to rotate your object, make sure you select your object, go into utilities panel and use the resetXform button, and apply to selected

Then right click on the object and convert to editable mesh

Ok, select your lot, and go to the utilities panel

Click more, and select assign vertex colours.

Make sure ONLY the use maps flag is checked and make sure the other two arenít

Scene lights also should be checked, not diffuse.

Assign to select

Then, making sure ur object is selected, go to file/export

From drop down list choose .DFF

Press save

Now a big box of stuff appears, but donít worry the only bit your interested in is the left hand middle bit.

Make sure vertex colour prelighting is checked, NOT the pre-lighting one above it.

Export, and thatís it.

Let me know if i missed something.

GT-1
  • GT-1

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2003

#2

Posted 05 August 2004 - 04:18 PM

Cheers _RicH_, may seem pointless to some but great for others hopefully if I get the hang of pre-lighting I can help out doing some lots for people. smile.gif

We need a clear out at the top so this can be put up there pinned.

No one move this its for Myriad also.

Superb@ll
  • Superb@ll

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2003

#3

Posted 05 August 2004 - 05:23 PM

Excellent .

It won't be pointless for me, i'm using 3dsm smile.gif.

GT-1
  • GT-1

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2003

#4

Posted 05 August 2004 - 06:55 PM

Well took a while with a few help hints from sadistic on the way but ive got a lot that looks pre-lit, the only problem is I cannot tell if its the right standard because its been rotated even though I never touched the model at all anytime.

Ah well time for attempt #2.

sAdIsTiCmAcHiNe
  • sAdIsTiCmAcHiNe

    Ronald Reagan

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2003

#5

Posted 05 August 2004 - 07:34 PM

rotate 180 degrees, and use reset xform in the utilities panel, then right click on the object and click convert to editable mesh.

JasonB
  • JasonB

    GTA-SA/GTA-VC/GTA3 Modder Extraordinaire

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2002

#6

Posted 06 August 2004 - 08:32 AM

Hmmm strange, before I could never get a lot that conformed to the Pre-lighting standards but for some reason now I exported part of my lot area in the south-east and it matched up with the NRon building, and it never has before, and I did everything that is in this guide myself. Odd but good. ANyway good work Rich, this ought to help out a few peoples smile.gif

GT-1
  • GT-1

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2003

#7

Posted 06 August 2004 - 09:56 AM

-

Blatent
  • Blatent

    complete noob

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2004

#8

Posted 22 October 2004 - 08:36 PM

just thought id bump this for those that have max 3 and are willing to help others with pre lighting, so sui me suicidal.gif

Superb@ll
  • Superb@ll

    Gangsta

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2003

#9

Posted 23 October 2004 - 12:10 PM

Woot. Thanks for bumping it up, I was looking for it smile.gif

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004

#10

Posted 04 February 2005 - 07:59 PM Edited by aad, 04 February 2005 - 08:22 PM.

K i tried it with 3dsmax 7 but i ran into some slight problems but it seems to work i looked in zmodeler and it was lighted up so it works the only thing that i need to do is texture it and put it ingame.

*Marijn*
  • *Marijn*

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2005

#11

Posted 13 July 2005 - 02:17 PM

Could we start a database of some prefaps ? Like bins? And benches!

The site is not the problem, dough.. the problem is that i only find 404 lately! This little project need a good download site, ( and a boost biggrin.gif ) tounge.gif

sAdIsTiCmAcHiNe
  • sAdIsTiCmAcHiNe

    Ronald Reagan

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2003

#12

Posted 13 July 2005 - 02:51 PM

OMGWTFBBQLOCKED!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users