Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

2dfx Light Positioning

10 replies to this topic
Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#1

Posted 24 June 2004 - 05:02 PM Edited by Gangsta Killa, 29 May 2005 - 07:39 AM.

2DFX Lights Tutorial


In this tutorial I hope to show you how to use the 2DFX system to place lights.


[/tr]
Tools Required
Notepad On your computer
Zmodeler Here


Many people think that the co-ordinates for a light are relative to the game world. This is wrong, the light posistion is not relative to the game world but to the object that it is on.
For this example I'm going add four lights onto the corner of my hut.
user posted image
Ensure that you have the object in game and working, If you have an object and would like to get it in game then please follow this tutorial
http://www.gtaforums...pic=124507&st=0


First off we need to get the co-ordinates of our object from zmodeler, zmodeler messes the co-ordinates up slightly, X: -29.312 Y: 3.21 Z: -420.123 is what you'd get from zmodeler. But its really,
X: 29.312 Y:420.123 Z:-3.21 zmodeler switches the Z and Y around and the X is the opposite of what zmodeler report it as. (Thanks To Deathsquad For The Co-Ordinates in Zmod)
In zmodeler you need to locate on the object where you want the light, so open up zmod and import your object, I'll be using a Top and Side view, to locate where I want them.
user posted image
Click Picture For Bigger Picture
This is where you'll find the co-ordinates
user posted image
I'm only going to do one light as the rest should be basicly the same to do
In a view (I chose top first) hover the mouse over roughly where you'd like the light to be, without moving the mouse look at the co-ordinates at the bottom right
user posted image
In my case we are after the X and Z co-ordinates which are
Z = 2.7110 and X = 1.1046 Thats what zmodeler reports they are, we'll wait till we have a full set, Now do the same for another view (I chose left) And zmodeler gives me the Y value to be 2.095, we now have a full set of co-ordinates
Z = 2.7110 Y = 2.095 X = 1.1046 These are correct and don't need fixing, sometimes zmod reports them wrong and sometimes it doesn't.
We are now finished with zmod so you can close that


We are now into notepad, you need to open up the IDE that the object is in, eg if you had an object called hut in roads.ide then then open roads.ide.
364, 0, 0, 0, 255, 255, 0, 200, 0, "coronastar", "shad_exp", 100, 8, 1, 0, 40, 0, 0, 0, 0 that is a 2dfx light code for a day and night light there are others, if you'd like to know more on these then read this
http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=102833
This is the screen you'd be presented with when you've opened your IDE file
user posted image
CODE

ID       X  Y  Z
364, 0, 0, 0, 255, 255, 0, 200, 0, "coronastar", "shad_exp", 100, 8, 1, 0, 40, 0, 0, 0, 0,


For this step change the ID number to the ID number of your object, and add the apporiate co-ordinates at the correct part

So it would look something like this
CODE
4805 1.1046, 2.095, 2.7110, 255, 255, 0, 200, 0, "coronastar", "shad_exp", 100, 8, 1, 0, 40, 0, 0, 0, 0


And that should be it, save that and test and you should end up with something like this, the color I've given you should be yellow you can change this, read this http://www.gtaforums...howtopic=102833 for more details.
user posted image
It takes a bit playing around with the co-ordinates to get it perfect

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#2

Posted 29 June 2004 - 12:02 PM Edited by Cerbera, 02 June 2005 - 06:08 AM.

Burying your tutorial amongst tables and other formatting crap just makes the topic fifty kilobytes bigger and makes everything twice as unclear. Punctuate your damn sentances too. This really isn't a finished tutorial. Still, as it's a good subject and you have lots of useful info in it, here's the code for my revised version. You need to check links, spelling, punctuation and grammar yourself. You should have sorted that basic stuff out before you posted it.

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#3

Posted 29 June 2004 - 11:08 PM

For f*cks sake Cerb, I swear you're against people helping others.
FORMATTING IS sh*t.
Ignore it. It's the content that counts. I don't care if you could optimize the trigonitrimgram by reusing tables with SQL or some sh*t, I can read every tutorial in this forum fine.

Back on topic: Great work! I used to use Webslayers 3DS exporter for my 2dfx, but it's suddenly decided to stop working. This explains the methods really well, and it's even taught ME something.

That is all.

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#4

Posted 01 July 2004 - 05:19 PM Edited by Cerbera, 02 June 2005 - 06:08 AM.

QUOTE (Opius @ Jun 29 2004, 23:08)
For f*cks sake Cerb, I swear you're against people helping others.
FORMATTING IS sh*t.
Swearing at me after I have taken the time and made the effort to clean up a messy tutorial shows that it is entirely you who is opposing helpful membership of this forum. His topic actually has broken formatting, including tables which can disrupt the topic structure.

I have fixed these formatting errors and also supplied a format which is easier to read, easier for him to add updates and which downloads faster. All the changes I've made benefit all those who will use this thread.

ghost of delete key
  • ghost of delete key

    aggronormical

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2003
  • None

#5

Posted 01 July 2004 - 07:04 PM Edited by ghost of delete key, 01 July 2004 - 07:08 PM.

Yikes! meeOW!

I really don't see what the problem is... so maybe the formatting suxx0rz...

It's really neither here nor there. This is what feedback is for.

BTW, you should put the [WIP] tag up for C&C on a WIP paper like this, GK.
This way you'll get more than just Cerbera picking at the carcass, and get a feel for how people respond to your content, layout, decor sensibilities wow.gif etc.

If the public thinks the formatting blows pez, they will say so.

Boy, will they say so.
Reference: Cerb's last post.



BTW, I don't think it sucks, but it IS just a bit thick.

You don't want to go to Church with THAT much makeup on nervous.gif

You may want to try "de-layering" it by 1 or 2 levels.

Wicked stuff inside.
It made fine sense to me, and I'm generally senseless, so clean it up a bit so that the Cro-Mags can read it.

Looks Good user posted image 8/10 huzzah colgate.gif


QUOTE
I have fixed these formatting errors and also supplied a format which is easier to read, easier for him to add updates and which downloads faster. All the changes I've made benefit all those who will use this thread.


You can lead a horse to porno, but you can't make him jerk off...

I just leave the magazines on the table. They'll check it out when the lights are off. bored.gif

Gforce
  • Gforce

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003
  • United-Kingdom

#6

Posted 04 July 2004 - 07:56 PM Edited by Gforce, 04 July 2004 - 08:29 PM.

thanks for the tut gangsta, this is gonna help me out bigtime, and thanks for fixing it Cerb, and thanks to opius for making me aware that there is a tool to help do this........cookies all round cookie.gif cookie.gif cookie.gif yin-yang.gif

edit:@opius where can i find webslayers tool ? i've tried searching the boards here, but can't find it

wijiwang
  • wijiwang

    Trick

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2004

#7

Posted 09 July 2004 - 10:33 PM

any chance a technique like this can be used to place a light on a vehicle?

i want to place a green light in the hunter to make it look like the cockpit glows.. just wondering if this is possible WITHOUT hardcoded the .exe

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#8

Posted 09 July 2004 - 10:47 PM

Not a pray its hardcoded...

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#9

Posted 01 June 2005 - 09:22 AM

Update: Screenshots are working again, for whatever reason they were linked to localhost.. This tutorial is among a list of others of mine that are going to be updated.

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#10

Posted 02 June 2005 - 06:13 AM

I started developing a simple CoronaStudio editor ages ago but never had time to find out exactly what all the parameters did:
user posted image
large image

The tool allows you to type in an absolute position for the coronastar effects and, as long as you entered the absolute position of an existing object, it will automatically calculate the relative position. This is good for people who want to use MooMapper or KEd rather than a full 3D modelling program since you can navigate the entire map at once, selecting items visually rather than scouring the IPL files for the correct instance.

If someone knows what all the parameters do, it would be a great help.

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#11

Posted 06 June 2005 - 06:30 AM

When I do the updates, I'll have a play around with it cerb.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users