Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

Installing Vehicle Mods Manually

29 replies to this topic
Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#1

Posted 12 April 2004 - 03:42 PM Edited by Gangsta Killa, 25 April 2009 - 09:40 PM.

It seems that many mod managers/installers have been screwing up installs of vehicles. So I'm here with a walkthrough on how to manually install mods.

So, you've downloaded, unzipped/rared/whatevered a mod. In MOST cases, you'll have a DFF, a TXD, and a readme file. It's strongly recommended you read the readme, as they usually contain important information about the vehicle, like known bugs, extra steps for installing, etc.


First, the number one problem people have when installing mods is that the files are read-only, meaning they can't be modified. Right click on your Vice folder, click on Properties, UNcheck "read-only" in the box that comes up, then click OK. If another box comes up, make sure to select "Apply to all subfolders and files", then click OK.

Now, browse to wherever you installed GTA3/Vice City. There will be a folder called 'Models'. Open it. There should be a file named GTA3.IMG. This will be the same for both games. Open it with the IMG TOOL (Click for download location).



Take note of the filenames of the DFF and TXD files that the mod contains. For this example, lets say they are called 'banshee.dff', and 'banshee.txd'. This means they would replace the Banshee. So, in the IMG Tool, go to 'Edit', 'Search'. Type in the name of the vehicle it would replace, eg "banshee".

You'll get two results. Rename (Commands - Rename) them both to "banshee-old". Then Add (Commands - Add) the DFF and TXDs that you downloaded. Once they are inserted, rebuild the archive (Commands - Rebuild Archive).

IF your game has a file called TXD.IMG, delete it, and its sister file "TXD.DIR". Don't worry, the game will rebuild it on the next start up.

Now, the mod will work at this point, however, the wheels probably aren't going to look very good, and the handling will stay unchanged.

Most cars use D-Magic's Wheel Mod (Click for download location). Make sure you have that installed, though thats beyond the scope of this article.

Refer back to the readme. Most will have two lines of code, similar to the ones below somewhere in them.

CODE
BANSHEE         1400.0 2.3 4.5 1.6 0.0 0.0 -0.25 70  1.10 0.84 0.53 5 200.0 33.0 R P 11.1  0.52 0 34.0  1.8  0.18 0.30 0.49 45000 0.25 -0.18 0.5  0.3  8183  1  1

CODE
159,  banshee,  banshee,  car,  BANSHEE, BANSHEE,   null, executive,  10,  7, 0,  237, 0.7

The first one is the handling information, the second is the main definition for the vehicle. So, highlight and copy the first one, browse to 'Data' and open up 'handling.cfg' with Notepad (or any other PLAIN-TEXT editor, MSWord not recommended). Search (CTRL-F) for 'banshee". You'll find a line with the word 'banshee' at the start, and a whole heap of numbers after it. Highlight the entire line, and paste the line from the readme over it, making sure no other lines are disturbed. Save that file.

Now open up default.ide. Do the same thing. If the readme only mentions wheel size, find the line for your vehicle, and look at the very last number. Change it to whatever the readme says. Save this file too.

Now, start Vice, and your installed vehicle should work perfectly.

If you still have any problems, THEN start a new topic.

Also, I'd like to thank Victim of a Down for providing me with the files I needed, as I was away from my computer when I wrote this.

ketis
  • ketis

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2004

#2

Posted 08 May 2004 - 07:03 AM

i did every thing when i was installing the demon motorcycle for the freeway but when i drove it would scrape when i did a wheelie and when i went by a tiny curve it would catch i have no idea what the problem is



i replyed here because it wont let me make a new topic

DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#3

Posted 09 May 2004 - 09:04 AM

it sounds like you have some kind of collision problem...

spacebobfloatypants
  • spacebobfloatypants

    Import-Tuner Guru

  • Members
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2003

#4

Posted 18 May 2004 - 10:55 PM

Most Def put this as a pinned topic!!!

then no more n**bs will ask this question!!!

(oh and P.S. is my signature within an acceptable size??)

pozer
  • pozer

    Square Civilian

  • Members
  • Joined: 21 Jan 2004

#5

Posted 29 May 2004 - 08:46 AM

Thanks for your tutorial. Please can I replace any other vehicle apart from what it's meant to be replaced?

][llusive
  • ][llusive

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2004

#6

Posted 03 January 2005 - 11:34 PM

Is there an easyer way to do it cus im a noob when it comes to computers the only thing i know how do is play games and use the internet angry.gif

. _-Ŧhěŗőγ-_.




volvo_junkie
  • volvo_junkie

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2005

#7

Posted 04 February 2005 - 09:55 PM

I keep trying to replace a in the game that I have downloaded (i.e. one of them is replacing a BlistaCompact with a Dodge Daytona) and everytime I hit replace and find the file path to where I saved the Daytona I get an error message that says the file is too big. all of the files I have downloaded are .rar files and this is driving me insane mad.gif

Pagnell
  • Pagnell

    a.k.a. petebog

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 May 2002

#8

Posted 04 February 2005 - 11:47 PM

You need to delete then add, rather than replace.

volvo_junkie
  • volvo_junkie

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2005

#9

Posted 04 February 2005 - 11:53 PM

I tried its not letting me delete I am getting a cannot be deleted file might be in use error message

Pagnell
  • Pagnell

    a.k.a. petebog

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 May 2002

#10

Posted 05 February 2005 - 11:15 AM

Have you done this?

QUOTE (Opius @ Apr 12 2004, 15:42)
First, the number one problem people have when installing mods is that the files are read-only, meaning they can't be modified. Right click on your Vice folder, click on Properties, UNcheck "read-only" in the box that comes up, then click OK. If another box comes up, make sure to select "Apply to all subfolders and files", then click OK.

volvo_junkie
  • volvo_junkie

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Feb 2005

#11

Posted 06 February 2005 - 05:08 AM Edited by volvo_junkie, 06 February 2005 - 05:46 AM.

K, so now I got the cars in, but liek I'll load up the game, and the cars have just disapeared
like I replaced one car with an INFERNUS and now when I leave my mansion there is no INFERNUS parked outside my garage, and I replaced another car with an Admiral and I had an Admiral in my garage and now my garage won't open

Lijer
  • Lijer

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2005

#12

Posted 07 February 2005 - 12:39 PM

I've also problems installing new cars. I did that editingtrick several times but it still doesn't work for me.

For example, when I install the "corgette_stock" I first change the gta3.img with "IMG Tool v1.3" and replace the two cheetah files (I also tried to remove and rename the files and then add the two new cheetah files but that didnt work either). Then I edit the other files (default.ide/carcols.dat/ handling.cfg).

But then, when I start up GTA:VC I only see the normal Cheetah instead of the one I just added (the "corgette_stock" thing) so what I supose is that the gta3.img isn't being updated.

I did all the tricks such as setting the data-maps to NON-readonly and install the wheelmod etc. but it still doesn't work!

!!!!! - I'm playing this game on Xbox so maybe is this the bottleneck, I just don't know. - !!!!!

sinister0009
  • sinister0009

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2005

#13

Posted 18 February 2005 - 02:09 AM

suicidal.gif
I've been trying to do this stupid car mod for a while and i keep having the same problem. I've read over the tutorial and done it multiple times with multiple different files and it either:
1 - Doesn't change the car in Vice city
2 - Makes the car disappear altogether

This is very frustrating so if somebody could help me I'd really appreciate it

johnnyjj
  • johnnyjj

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2005

#14

Posted 20 February 2005 - 09:23 AM Edited by johnnyjj, 20 February 2005 - 09:30 AM.

i have tried and understand everything you are saying yet i seem to find that i get stubg by a message saying " Dir file error! It may be in use...exiting" . In my ig tool it says gta3 as well. is this correct?
JJ

btw i have made it so it isnt read only

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#15

Posted 26 February 2005 - 10:10 PM

You cannot edit the files whilst the game is loaded. I wrote a tutorial about GTA3 & GTAVC Setup: Multiple Installs tutorial which shows how best to disable the read-only attribute. Disable if for every file in the game folder, even files you do not think you are using. This is because the IMG files are indexed using a DIR file, so unless both of these are not read-only then the modification will fail. This is why Opius says it is the biggest problem for everyone that tries to install a mod.

I have also written my own GTA3 & GTAVC Setup: Installing Cars tutorial which is split up a lot more and is structed as step-by-step lists of what you need to do. Some people might find it easier to follow than the normal prose of other tutorials.

tattmanxxx
  • tattmanxxx

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 May 2005

#16

Posted 29 May 2005 - 11:51 PM

Don't know if this is the place for this question but is there a problem with adding cars over different ones than they are made for..ie.

could i change a freeway.dff or txd to the angel and vise versa..?

BenMillard
  • BenMillard

    aka Cerbera

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2002
  • United-Kingdom

#17

Posted 30 May 2005 - 03:27 PM

QUOTE (the top of the Tutorial Forum)
The Tutorial Forum is only for posting work-in-progress/finished tutorials for GTA modification purposes.
The Tutorial forum is not a questions & answers forum.

All queries, help requests and such should be posted in the pinned Quick Help topic.

bellows
  • bellows

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2005

#18

Posted 18 August 2005 - 05:46 PM

whats the maximum amount of vehicles tht can be adjusted?

Or is there a way to uppper te filesize that can be used on vehicles?

DrigZ`
  • DrigZ`

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2006

#19

Posted 27 February 2006 - 04:42 AM Edited by DrigZ`, 27 February 2006 - 05:58 AM.

yeah adding vehicle models is really hard is there a easier way to do so? woot nvm i got it =)

lilliam
  • lilliam

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2006

#20

Posted 04 December 2006 - 06:09 PM

that was awsome advice cheers but the only thing is, is on my IMG tool whilst addin the loading icon jus wont disapear

hotroder9
  • hotroder9

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2007

#21

Posted 16 June 2007 - 03:31 PM Edited by Gangsta Killa, 17 June 2007 - 05:56 PM.

QUOTE (Opius @ Apr 12 2004, 15:42)
DONT QUOTE THE WHOLE DAMN TOPIC -> GK

can you make that to were a 11 year old could understand please

Andrew
  • Andrew

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2003
  • None

#22

Posted 17 June 2007 - 05:55 PM

Why would he want to rewrite a 2 year old tutorial, just so you can understand it? Regardless of age, you should be able to understand it. If not...

Oh and please don't quote the whole damn topic.

Thanks

J.Cash fan
  • J.Cash fan

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2007

#23

Posted 19 September 2007 - 12:21 AM

QUOTE (Opius @ Apr 12 2004, 15:42)

So, you've downloaded, unzipped/rared/whatevered a mod. In MOST cases, you'll have a DFF, a TXD, and a readme file. It's strongly recommended you read the readme, as they usually contain important information about the vehicle, like known bugs, extra steps for installing, etc.

I don't have a DFF or TXD, all I have is a RAR thing, what can I do with that???

Justin
  • Justin

    have a cigar

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2004
  • None

#24

Posted 19 September 2007 - 12:22 AM

QUOTE (J.Cash fan @ Sep 19 2007, 10:21)
QUOTE (Opius @ Apr 12 2004, 15:42)

So, you've downloaded, unzipped/rared/whatevered a mod. In MOST cases, you'll have a DFF, a TXD, and a readme file. It's strongly recommended you read the readme, as they usually contain important information about the vehicle, like known bugs, extra steps for installing, etc.

I don't have a DFF or TXD, all I have is a RAR thing, what can I do with that???

UnRAR it.

xcarlosx2011
  • xcarlosx2011

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2007

#25

Posted 28 October 2007 - 08:36 PM

hey do mods work on my ps2??? confused.gif sad.gif

rish99
  • rish99

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2007

#26

Posted 18 November 2007 - 09:29 PM

I have understood that tutorial and i have done everything that it says.
When i start up the game again it will just stop at the loading screen half way thought i have been trying to get this vehicle mods for along time and i keep getting this fault

please help thankyou smile.gif

Mercedes CLS 55 AMG
  • Mercedes CLS 55 AMG

    Knight Industries Modding

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2007

#27

Posted 27 December 2007 - 07:41 PM

D-Magics Wheel Mod.

Information

Downloads are temporarily disabled

Damn!

Can someone upload it please and give me the link

Mercedes CLS 55 AMG
  • Mercedes CLS 55 AMG

    Knight Industries Modding

  • Members
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2007

#28

Posted 27 December 2007 - 07:42 PM

QUOTE (xcarlosx2011 @ Oct 28 2007, 20:36)
hey do mods work on my ps2??? confused.gif sad.gif

GTA has been telling people over and over again!

Let me make it clear!

Mods are NOT for PS2!

Matt_Jefferson
  • Matt_Jefferson

    Player Hater

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2010

#29

Posted 29 March 2010 - 08:58 AM

QUOTE (][llusive @ Jan 3 2005, 23:34)
Is there an easyer way to do it cus im a noob when it comes to computers the only thing i know how do is play games and use the internet angry.gif

. _-Ŧhěŗőγ-_.

Yes! Try Alci's IMG Editor 1.5, fast installing than IMG tool! Google it!

fireguy109
  • fireguy109

    It's a long way to the top

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2010
  • United-States

#30

Posted 27 November 2010 - 08:06 PM Edited by fireguy109, 27 November 2010 - 08:10 PM.

Yeah, I know this is a bump, but these whining noobs are is getting annoying. suicidal.gif 5 bucks says that people find this topic all the time and have questions. Installing cars is easy with practice. Just try a few times. A few tips-

1. Make sure (this mostly applies to gta3, but vice city is very similar) that you put the .txd in the txd.img file or whatever vc has, and the dff in the gta3.img! Otherwise, you get white interiors and textures, etc.
2. Don't try to replace dffs ot txds using IMGtool's replace feature, most mods are too big. Extract the original as a backup, delete it fro the list, and add the modded file, renaming it to whatever you were trying to replace. Rebuild the archive, etc.
3. If you put a semi in place of a motorcycle, you get weird results. To fix, you need colleditor by steve-m. Replace the bike's .col with either the one from the mod or the one the mod intended to replace- this helps if you get 2 mods to replace the same car but want both in the game. Remember to edit the handling and the wheel size.
4. If you want to edit some design on or off the car, open the txd with TXDworkshop and export that part as a BMP. Use paint to edit it, import it to replace the original, save the txd and put it in txd.img!

Good luck modding! cool.gif

PS, IMGtool is better wink.gif . Pro tip- to check out mods and new textures w/o running the game, get GGMM and use that. Nice job on the tutorial, Opius. Try not to double post, Mercedes CLS.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users