Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

GRAPHICS

185 replies to this topic
ModelingMan
  • ModelingMan

    Crackalacking!

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2004

#61

Posted 09 April 2004 - 08:43 PM

QUOTE (By Knux Posted on Apr 9 2004 @ 16:49)
Modeling man: do NEVER only ADD the files when using teh script installer), make it remove the old ones BEFORE or the game will crash because of similar files existing in the GTA3.img

If you run the scripter.exe that comes with Mod Installer you will notice one of the commands is "Add(or replace) File to GTA3.IMG" it writes [addtogta3img] in the script, even though it says add, it also replaces as killer.ip explained.

QUOTE (By killer.ip Posted on Apr 9 2004 @ 17:02)
...and as long as you rebuild your archive afterwards you'll have no problem.

I had no problem not rebuilding the archive.

QUOTE (By killer.ip Posted on Apr 9 2004 @ 17:02)
For example, you can delete the block the radar files occupy by locating them, dragging a box around the lot, then just deleting them as one file. This of course works for extracting files too.

Once I tried a mass delete and it deleted a file below the files I selected.

QUOTE (By spaceeinstein Posted on Apr 9 2004 @ 18:44)
Can I use Barton's installer for installing mods for LC?

Never used it so I don't know.

@Dem: Is the radar you have released the final, or is there another one going to be released?

Outback
  • Outback

    GTA:LC Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2003

#62

Posted 09 April 2004 - 09:00 PM

QUOTE (spaceeinstein @ Apr 9 2004, 18:44)
Can I use Barton's installer for installing mods for LC?

The Install Helper?

no1knowsWho
  • no1knowsWho

    Punk-ass Bitch

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Oct 2003

#63

Posted 09 April 2004 - 09:11 PM Edited by wnuczek, 09 April 2004 - 09:48 PM.

here is reason why you HAVE to rebuild archive after you are done tossing the files around it:

here is a sample gta3.img structure (and it's representation in gta3.dir):

[file1 - 10KB][file2 - 5KB] [file3 - 6KB][file4 - 12KB] [file5 - 20KB]
total size = 53KB

now, let's say you want to replace old model (represented by file3 & file4 ) with a new model ( file6 - 7KB & file7 - 9KB ).
you could replace file4 with file7 because the new one is smaller, but to stay on a safe side, i suggest removal of both files.
so, you delete old ones ( file3 & file4 ) and add new ones ( file6 & file7 ).

here is how our sample gta3.img structure will look like if you do not rebuild the archive:

[file1 - 10KB][file2 - 5KB] [------- 6KB][------- 12KB] [file5 - 20KB] [file6 - 7KB][file7 - 9KB]
total size = 69KB

as you can see there is still space allocated for file3 & file4 and the new files were just added at the end of the archive.
not only you've wasted 18KB of space but also you've increased possibility that your game will crash.

you can avoid that by simply REBUILDING the archive after you are done modifying gta3.img.
here is how our sample gta3.img structure will look like after you rebuild it:

[file1 - 10KB][file2 - 5KB][file5 - 20KB] [file6 - 7KB][file7 - 9KB]
total size = 51KB

as you can see you've saved some space and eliminated risk of a crash biggrin.gif .
this also applies to those who use GTA Mod Installer.

killer.ip
  • killer.ip

    GTA:LC Moderator

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2003

#64

Posted 09 April 2004 - 09:36 PM Edited by killer.ip, 09 April 2004 - 09:39 PM.

Initially, when we started releasing updates a few months ago we didn't think it would be necessary to rebuild you archive after running the installscript, but we started getting crash reports on files that I knew were okay... that I'd even edited & tested myself.

Spent a good few hours one Saturday trying to work out exactly what was going on, it was only when I started entertaining the idea of a rebuild being necessary that these crash bugs were eliminated.

That was somewhat of a rallying cry during the early days and it's served us well, to the point where I used to plaster the advice over my download pages. Basically, if your game's crashing and you've not rebuilt your archive that's the first thing I'd check. wink.gif

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#65

Posted 10 April 2004 - 02:36 PM

QUOTE (ModelingMan @ Apr 9 2004, 15:43)
@Dem: Is the radar you have released the final, or is there another one going to be released?

Official is such a fickle word here wink.gif Being that it is a direct port and lines up perfectly, I'd have to say yeah. For the official releases. Everybody is welcome to use what they choose locally. Hammer already converted one of JB's and both he and killer.ip have expressed a willingness to convert the other.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#66

Posted 06 June 2004 - 03:59 PM

Sorry for the bump but this is the graphics page, isn't it?

I updated the particle.txd to make no reflections on water and made the pink circle into a blue circle.

Sharkey
  • Sharkey

    Invisible

  • Andolini Mafia Family
  • Joined: 28 May 2003

#67

Posted 07 June 2004 - 08:21 PM

ts mods
heres a link to my post.
these are for vice but should work for lc too.
all new fonts huds and main menu screens, kinda goes with my mod so just install what you want. cheers to the lc team, still lovin the mod guys cool.gif

TwoZero
  • TwoZero

    Ghetto Star

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2003

#68

Posted 07 June 2004 - 08:38 PM

Dude this topic is about the official project, you should have posted that in the Unofficial mod topic.

The Warlock
  • The Warlock

    Six men with guns drawn.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 May 2003

#69

Posted 13 June 2004 - 02:15 PM

To get back on topic here, has anyone converted the fonts to the GTA3 standard instead of that wierd Vice stuff?

Samutz
  • Samutz

    if ($lol) { die(rofl()); }

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2003

#70

Posted 13 June 2004 - 05:02 PM

Someone was already working on it, I forgot who. You can't just cut and paste the font over because of the the way VC displays the vehicle names when you get in/on them.

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#71

Posted 13 June 2004 - 07:22 PM

Actually, Hammer made it display zones "properly" through code (most likely blanking out the zones GXTs). I don't see why code couldn't run to do exactly this.

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004

#72

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:43 AM Edited by aad, 16 June 2004 - 10:15 AM.

i tried to convert the fonts so here they are for download
right click save as... http://members.lycos...ta-lc/fonts.txd
i only need to adjust the colors so this is just a test version
or look at http://members.lycos.nl/aadhe1/gta-lc/ for the link and file
smile.gif
here is a screenie
user posted image

i know fixed the bugs with the hud textures and now every street name is named correctly plz if someone is interested converting the fonts email me at [email protected]


JamesSHF
  • JamesSHF

    :wub: GTA:LC

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2003

#73

Posted 17 June 2004 - 10:09 AM

I'd mostly done the fonts in my old LC install.
I'll dig the textures out.
I'd even worked around the letters overlapping and stuff.

aad
  • aad

    3d artist

  • Members
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2004

#74

Posted 17 June 2004 - 02:30 PM

JamesSHF said:
QUOTE
I'd mostly done the fonts in my old LC install.
I'll dig the textures out.
I'd even worked around the letters overlapping and stuff.


can you send me to them or add me to your mail adres it would be awesome inlove.gif

btw i passed my exams so i now got more time helping or just serving the forums biggrin.gif

Demarest
  • Demarest

    what could be

  • BUSTED!
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2003

#75

Posted 17 June 2004 - 03:58 PM

Always good news. But please don't ask for any files to be sent to you directly. This project is a PUBLIC effort wink.gif

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#76

Posted 21 July 2004 - 08:43 PM Edited by spaceeinstein, 22 July 2004 - 03:29 PM.

SUCCESS! Particle.txd v2
No more bubbles!

VGF
  • VGF

    Torrente en persona

  • Members
  • Joined: 08 May 2004

#77

Posted 22 July 2004 - 02:30 PM

-buzz- Wrong address. Page cannot be found (And I tried with http://www.geocities...particle_v2.txd in case of mistake)

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#78

Posted 22 July 2004 - 03:32 PM

Whoops. Link fixed. Save Target As. Was it always broken? Why didn't someone tell me sooner?

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#79

Posted 13 August 2004 - 03:18 AM Edited by spaceeinstein, 13 August 2004 - 03:22 AM.

GTALC Particle.txd v3
-New format for my readmes
-Some texture restoring
-More GTA3-like blue marker (thanks a lot to VGF)
user posted imageuser posted image
*Notice the phonebooth and ramp? WTF?! I thought this was a total GTA3 conversion.

Mark Pagliaro
  • Mark Pagliaro

    Minutes To Midnight

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2003

#80

Posted 13 August 2004 - 03:46 AM

The ramp lost its light data and the phone boot well that will have to be changed. Like the mission marker!

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#81

Posted 13 August 2004 - 03:58 AM

Looks great space. And you didn't even have to bug me to update the official page this time.

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003

#82

Posted 13 August 2004 - 04:16 AM

I only bug you if you haven't updated it in days after an official release.

KoLSPD2
  • KoLSPD2

    The Lurker

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2004

#83

Posted 11 October 2004 - 03:12 AM

People will say "Don't Gravedig" but I have to bump this up. Is it possible to change the font HUD's color (i.e. Health, Armor, time, etc.) to GTA3's? This could be hardcoded, but it's worth a shot.

-KoLSPD

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#84

Posted 11 October 2004 - 03:17 AM

We previously thought it was impossible, but there's been some things that make it seem like it can be done. But I don't think anybody knows quite yet though.

Keep those fingers crossed.

Black-hawk
  • Black-hawk

    Boss

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2004

#85

Posted 11 October 2004 - 04:19 PM Edited by Black-hawk, 11 October 2004 - 04:41 PM.

On the note about the HUD, I don't know if it's been mentioned, but:

I thought to mess with the HUD colors, and assign each symbol a color, this is what I got:

user posted image

As you see that the time and money bar have different colors when I assigned them the same one:

user posted image

user posted image

I think that color tints are hard coded, since the texture is white and the alpha isn't colored in any way, and the only way to change the colors to gta3 without messing with the .exe is to assign each symbol a color, and the ones that are 'tinted' should each be given a color, if the money bar in gta3 is blue but when given that color in the .txd, it's green ingame, that means the game (or exe) mixes it with another one, and those "tints" should be mixed with colors that create the required one (e.g. blue + yellow= green).

Now that didn't help/explain a bit eh? blink.gif

Hammer83
  • Hammer83

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2003

#86

Posted 12 October 2004 - 03:14 AM

IIRC, Delfi had addresses for colors of HUD items in is address topic. They could be easily modified with the launcher if this is indeed the case.

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004

#87

Posted 12 October 2004 - 08:40 AM

I just looked at the post Delfi made about the HUD addresses and I found this:
QUOTE (Delfi @ Jul 20 2004, 16:38)
sorry.. but no font colors were found..

Although ModelingMan and TwoZero have been looking at the exe in that particular area (the HUD) so maybe they'll find it.

Mark Pagliaro
  • Mark Pagliaro

    Minutes To Midnight

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Dec 2003

#88

Posted 12 October 2004 - 02:15 PM

Delfi found addresses to move them so if we move them offscreen and use spookys method we could draw our own hud. I have been reading into spookys stuff but that is not my area of expertise.

Hammer83
  • Hammer83

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2003

#89

Posted 12 October 2004 - 03:29 PM

All addresses are for VC 1.1:

Money color: 0x5582C3.
Health color: 0x5588D6 or/and 0x558BB9 or/and 0x558C75
Armor color: 0x558E36 or/and 0x558EE5
Time color: 0x5590DE or/and 0x55913C
Wanted stars color: 0x559187

There are also colors for [I assume] shadows etc in the area.

No time to test it now, hence ands and ors.

If somebody can play with these values, determine which one to use I could add this to launcher. I have to modify it anyway for cutscenes.

TwoZero
  • TwoZero

    Ghetto Star

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2003

#90

Posted 12 October 2004 - 05:50 PM

Well ModelingMan and I tested jsut about the whole HUD block defined in the exe, but no luck to find the colours.

Though I'll test what Hamer posted in a minute, if it works, it would be awesome smile.gif




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users