Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

The thread that started it all

18,738 replies to this topic
killer.ip
  • killer.ip

    GTA:LC Moderator

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2003

#841

Posted 01 February 2004 - 01:57 AM Edited by killer.ip, 01 February 2004 - 02:09 AM.

I see what you mean about the sky train Skidz, of the two shots it should be in the lower one that it doesn't make an appearance. It was there when I took the pic, but I've no idea why it wouldn't be in shot. dontgetit.gif

As far as I know there's only one more place that exhibits the green glass phenomenon... that's the security hut at Catalina's mansion (probably because it's also meant to have breakable glass), but there are more objects that'll need their flag values updated, one of them being Punk Noodles. wink.gif

Another one that Mark & I have been getting annoyed about are the 'glass' textures on the glass handrail barriers in Staunton, they're pretty visible and it's a bit obvious there's a problem as you're driving by. Now that we know what's going on hopefully a little editing should be enough to take care of it.

With the bridge textures still being dark is there going to be a v1.1 fix on the cards?

Steve, I'll head over there and take a look, but taking a guess it looks like the problem you get when you use the original 32bit textures. Have you tried the compressed texture pack?

[EDIT] Nope, they're definitely bugs, bit of retexturing should do the trick. Thanks for bringing those up man. smile.gif

freakin@
  • freakin@

    Freakin@

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2004

#842

Posted 01 February 2004 - 01:58 AM Edited by freakin@, 01 February 2004 - 02:08 AM.

Good job you guy's as always biggrin.gif well ive done my share of lookin for releases today,see ya later did anyone like the idea of making an html and I would post it on 250free you guy's could post updates and crap let me know
Freakin@

Outback
  • Outback

    GTA:LC Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2003

#843

Posted 01 February 2004 - 04:42 AM

Smithers2 already has a site up with an updates list.
And most of us have access to better hosts, anyway.

freakin@
  • freakin@

    Freakin@

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Jan 2004

#844

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:10 AM Edited by freakin@, 02 February 2004 - 03:40 AM.

Well I dont have better conections and if you would give me some links I would be thankful!And also you got the breaking glass under control but driving through is a little different,the only way to go through the glass is shoot through which is good still well just thought I would post it thanks!!
By the way [4D]Out Back If I've done somethin to piss you off I'm realy sorry confused.gif I realy did'nt mean to!!!!!!!!
Freakin@
user posted image

PineCreek-Skidz
  • PineCreek-Skidz

    Retired GTA Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2002

#845

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:59 AM

Just a pic to give the thread abit of color.
user posted image
rah.gif rah.gif

Anyway biggrin.gif
SteveM: thanks for the bug report, that first pic really scared me cry.gif
killer.ip: Ill look into the darkness of the bridge, the problem is that the light-data has somehow been lost. Ive seen this with the sky-train pieces as well. I could recover the road pieces but I cant seem to fix the bridge.
But ill look into it.


skidz (Ryan)

SteveM
  • SteveM

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2003

#846

Posted 01 February 2004 - 06:09 AM

PineCreek-Skidz: where did u get the gta3 character model from i tried to convert it myself but failed...(as seen in ur previous post)

Outback
  • Outback

    GTA:LC Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2003

#847

Posted 01 February 2004 - 06:39 AM

It's just a skin, I think.

MN316
  • MN316

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2003

#848

Posted 01 February 2004 - 07:46 AM Edited by MN316, 01 February 2004 - 07:48 AM.

download the gta3 guy here

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None

#849

Posted 01 February 2004 - 08:59 AM

I got the Fido model working, I don't think I had the latest file when I was trying it before.

QUOTE
Craig, I've taken a look in the area of Staunton I think you're referring to but haven't been able to come up with anything. These are in the area of the Casino & Police station? If you could look up the model names in Moo Mapper that would be a great help.


Here are the areas I've found that still have the old glass.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image


PineCreek-Skidz
  • PineCreek-Skidz

    Retired GTA Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2002

#850

Posted 01 February 2004 - 10:44 AM

Has anyone tryed to install Odies Stunt Park? I tryed with no luck sad.gif
I only spent 10 min on it tho, so maybe someone else will have better luck than me.

largopredator
  • largopredator

    Largopredator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2004

#851

Posted 01 February 2004 - 12:23 PM

Just a quick question...
WTF is this??? notify.gif
user posted image
its in that 'glass-room' opposite the subway in the RLD. Also, a bit further on, at the intersection with the hospital at the right the same problem arises.
You can see straight trough the pillar. But not every pillar... sarcasm.gif

killer.ip
  • killer.ip

    GTA:LC Moderator

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2003

#852

Posted 01 February 2004 - 03:51 PM Edited by killer.ip, 01 February 2004 - 05:10 PM.

That's a seriously moody looking shot there Skidz, the bikes fitting in perfectly. colgate.gif Thanks for your map.zon update by the way, does this mean we can go ahead and delete the old Ultra LOD's?

Craig, thanks for the info on the windows in Staunton there, I'll get on the case with those this afternoon. The Security Hut outside Catalina's was a goer last night, it's looking a lot better, they will be making it into the release. smile.gif

Largo, pull down the console and type /x-ray specs 0... j/k. biggrin.gif No idea what the see through girder's about I'm afraid, but I noticed the door to it's right is looking a little invisible itself, no problem to fix, cheers. wink.gif

freakin@, breaking those panes of glass is wholly speed dependant... too slow you bounce off, at the right speed you'll go right through:

user posted image

Craig Kostelecky
  • Craig Kostelecky

    GTA:LC Team Leader

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2004
  • None

#853

Posted 01 February 2004 - 04:03 PM

Is anybody working on converting the HUD to the GTA3 look? If not, and if it isn't a difficult process, I could give it a shot. I've never done it before, but I think I could figure it out.

SteveM
  • SteveM

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2003

#854

Posted 01 February 2004 - 04:22 PM Edited by SteveM, 01 February 2004 - 04:23 PM.

Brace Yourselves 3 more bugs
user posted image
and
user posted image
and
user posted image

i hope im helpin and not stessing u guys out

spaceeinstein
  • spaceeinstein

    巧克力

  • Members
  • Joined: 17 Jul 2003
  • None

#855

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:13 PM

Anyone notice that when far away you can see buoys floating in the air above the water?

Run Down That Guy
  • Run Down That Guy

    Hmmm

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2002

#856

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:15 PM

*yawn* im back from my break, anyways, the train track is a simple fix, in the IDE, set the flags for all the el train tracks, and the support, set the flags to 0.

killer.ip
  • killer.ip

    GTA:LC Moderator

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2003

#857

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:31 PM

Okay, the fix for the panes of glass mentioned previously is now up. They're all breakable apart from the Security Hut at the mansion, took a look in GTA3 and they're not meant to be. There's a few files there so read the readme as I've outlined where they're meant to relocated. smile.gif

No problems with the bug reports Steve, you keep 'em coming. With the 1st pic I don't think the pine trees are meant to be there, are you using Skidz mapfix v2? I'm am getting the levitating tree on the right though, just need to tweak the IPL file there. What's the problem in the 2nd pic? I just can't seem to see it. confused.gif

Craig, that would be a great idea. I think some of the hud is hardcoded, so I'm not sure if we can get rid of the pink lettering but the radar should be do-able. We had some weapon icons made up around Christmas, but I remember Dem saying they didn't fit in with the projected weapon plan, you'll have to ask him about that though. You can pick those up at Smither's page here if you'd like to take a look. smile.gif

largopredator
  • largopredator

    Largopredator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2004

#858

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:35 PM

@spaceeinstein-the buoys are a pain yeah. because the original water level was higher, you get the raised wake and the floating buoys. But when you get closer they fall down tho.

@killer.ip-what are you talking bout? we got see-thru pillars here, not just that one but at several places in town. dont tell me thats not a bug.
ill post another screenie soon.

Luke
  • Luke

    suckmyrocket

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2003
  • None

#859

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:44 PM

Im makin an updated page now, i got my new computer, it looks so much better at 1024x768 with the draw distance on full biggrin.gif .

Im gona update the site quite soon. I hear that the cars are coming soon, that should be a major step forward.

Thanks.

Run Down That Guy
  • Run Down That Guy

    Hmmm

  • Members
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2002

#860

Posted 01 February 2004 - 05:51 PM

PFFFFF, I dont want to have to repeat myself, so I will put it in larger letters:
The train track is a simple fix, in the IDE, set the flags for all the el train tracks, and the support, to 0.

SteveM
  • SteveM

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2003

#861

Posted 01 February 2004 - 06:09 PM

@Killer-ip. ill show u a bigger pic of the second one. the ground is the wrong texture in places. user posted image

largopredator
  • largopredator

    Largopredator

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2004

#862

Posted 01 February 2004 - 06:15 PM

dont get TOO cocky there rdtg.

Anyway, the black tracks are most likely caused by the recent portland road fix. So i cant make screenshots of the see-thru pillars now cos they're all black.
Also: is it just me, or is this grass suddenly looking rather retarded?
user posted image

SteveM
  • SteveM

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2003

#863

Posted 01 February 2004 - 06:25 PM

This kinda relates to wut LargoPreadator just stated but the grass is mixed up as shown

user posted image

killer.ip
  • killer.ip

    GTA:LC Moderator

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2003

#864

Posted 01 February 2004 - 07:01 PM Edited by killer.ip, 01 February 2004 - 07:57 PM.

Run down that guy!! you can leave that attitude of yours outside, wtf was up with that? Especially since you were talking out of your derrière... the problem stemmed from using Moo Mapper to adjust the flag value, I've just reuploaded the fix with hand edited files and hopefully that should be it dealt with. sarcasm.gif

largo, try out the new files and see if the problem goes away... if it does I can recommend to anyone using Moo Mapper to edit the flags by hand.

Thanks again Steve, now that you've been bringing up these bugs I've started noticing them in quite a few places around the city. Do you fancy taking charge and organising yourself & anybody else interested in retexturing those models?

Skidz, after todays debacle I know exactly where you're getting at with the L-Train girders, I'll get on the case with moving them, shouldn't take too long. smile.gif

[EDIT] Actually, scratch that last one, just checked up in GTA3 and the L-Train's girders are perfectly positioned after all. biggrin.gif

SteveM
  • SteveM

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Dec 2003

#865

Posted 01 February 2004 - 08:46 PM

@killer-ip. i would be glad to but funny to say im only 14. and have no clue about texturing. but ill keep on looking for bugs though colgate.gif

Outback
  • Outback

    GTA:LC Team

  • Members
  • Joined: 20 Dec 2003

#866

Posted 01 February 2004 - 09:23 PM

QUOTE (spaceeinstein @ Feb 1 2004, 17:13)
Anyone notice that when far away you can see buoys floating in the air above the water?

Anything that floats is stuck at the VC level until you get close, then it falls into the water.

crazydude
  • crazydude

    Blah!

  • Feroci
  • Joined: 25 May 2003

#867

Posted 02 February 2004 - 12:51 AM

killer.ip I found the texture problems. They are caused by the gtaiii.txd !

Seems as though when you compressed the textures with the DXT compression they messed up.

killer.ip
  • killer.ip

    GTA:LC Moderator

  • Members
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2003

#868

Posted 02 February 2004 - 01:30 AM

There was something strange going on earlier and that's for sure, but I've just downloaded v1.1 there myself and applied it to a fresh pair of data & model folders (from WO's original release) and it came up fine, no texture bugs. Opened up gtaiii.txd and I can't see anything wrong with it either.

Did you make sure you were using the new .ide files? I did some testing earlier and came to the conclusion the originals were at fault, the current download has files that I believe have corrected the problem.

PineCreek-Skidz
  • PineCreek-Skidz

    Retired GTA Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2002

#869

Posted 02 February 2004 - 01:35 AM Edited by PineCreek-Skidz, 02 February 2004 - 01:37 AM.

I know it wasnt the road fix becouse it had nothing to do with the textures, just the light data, and this problem occured befor the road fix was release.

[EDIT]
crazydude is right, the gtaiii.txd is definatly messed up, I looked at (some) of the textures and they resemble the problematic textures we have been seeing around town, im going to test this theory abit further, if its just the txd then it shouldnt take long to correct.

PineCreek-Skidz
  • PineCreek-Skidz

    Retired GTA Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2002

#870

Posted 02 February 2004 - 01:59 AM

I just put the old gtaiii.txd back into the IMG and the texture problem is gone now. The one I got with the windows fix might have somehow gotten corrupt, but other people seem to be having the same problem.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users