Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

[REL] VC Limit Adjuster

41 replies to this topic
steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#1

Posted 25 July 2003 - 11:04 PM

I've finished and released the VC Limit Adjuster, which is able to change the hardcoded limitations for objects und other stuff in VC.

[ Download VC Limit Adjuster ]


With it it should now be possible to add more than 222 static object instances and more than 4 dynamic object instances (IPL). But it can't increase the maximum amount of objects (IDE) yet, which is 76. It comes with a useful statistic, which counts the objects and tells you, how much you can add/must increase until the game crashes.

Don't forget to keep me updated about new findings!!

kman2003ko
  • kman2003ko

    A learning decoder and a programmer

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2002

#2

Posted 26 July 2003 - 02:30 AM

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS. It's the Great Genius!

DiCanio
  • DiCanio

    Foot Soldier

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2002

#3

Posted 26 July 2003 - 05:17 AM

kool stuff smile.gif

would it be possible to increase the number of vehicles
at some point

hotFDLC
  • hotFDLC

    the thought train has left the station....without me

  • Members
  • Joined: 06 May 2002

#4

Posted 26 July 2003 - 06:41 AM

This is FAN-F***ING-TASTIC!!!

Hey ReSpawn, how about working with the ReSpawn District a little more so you can add most, if not all, of what you originally wanted??

Joey2003
  • Joey2003

    The Twelfth Jesus

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Apr 2003

#5

Posted 26 July 2003 - 07:22 AM

Well done, we'll have to use this in the Fun world mod, wont we guys biggrin.gif

i love you steve

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#6

Posted 26 July 2003 - 09:10 AM Edited by opius, 26 July 2003 - 09:13 AM.

Two great tools in one day! Steve, you are the king! Would you be interested in trying to find the physical limits of the gameworld? Where the game throws you back, and where it will crash? I think you should be able to, because if you teleport outside the game, it doesn't crash, only if you go over the line.

[EDIT]Ooooh! Streaming memory editor! Should help patch up the LOD problems the game has!

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#7

Posted 26 July 2003 - 10:33 AM

QUOTE (opius @ Jul 26 2003, 11:10 AM)
Two great tools in one day! Steve, you are the king! Would you be interested in trying to find the physical limits of the gameworld? Where the game throws you back, and where it will crash? I think you should be able to, because if you teleport outside the game, it doesn't crash, only if you go over the line.

[EDIT]Ooooh! Streaming memory editor! Should help patch up the LOD problems the game has!

I've already tried to find these limits, but that's harder to find than the other stuff. And I thought having read that the "borders" are at different places (not the same distance from the center of the map), right?

I've incresed the streaming mem to 64 MB, that works a bit better, especially when you use my draw distance tool.

FlipperK
  • FlipperK

    Rat

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2003

#8

Posted 26 July 2003 - 01:45 PM

You said you tried to release it the 25th and you did it. It also works without any problems. Good job man! Now I can create part 2 of my map biggrin.gif .

*is happy with the tool of Steve M. tounge.gif *

PineCreek-Skidz
  • PineCreek-Skidz

    Retired GTA Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2002

#9

Posted 27 July 2003 - 04:20 AM

I also want to be kept aware of the 76 object limit. If anyone gets over it, let me know plez.
I dont do vice city anymore becouse of the limit.

Steve M: This is way better than the beta, wasnt expecting the Streaming memory. Would you advise only 64mb?

Opius
  • Opius

    General

  • Members
  • Joined: 27 Jun 2002

#10

Posted 27 July 2003 - 07:01 AM

About 64MB is right, otherwise you'll have load times of up to 30 seconds when moving between islands, mine was set to 192MB smile.gif .

Koko4
  • Koko4

    \m/ (^-^) \m/

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2003

#11

Posted 27 July 2003 - 07:27 AM

Yesss!! Thanks man!!

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#12

Posted 27 July 2003 - 10:37 AM

QUOTE (PineCreek-Skidz @ Jul 27 2003, 06:20 AM)
I also want to be kept aware of the 76 object limit. If anyone gets over it, let me know plez.
I dont do vice city anymore becouse of the limit.

Steve M: This is way better than the beta, wasnt expecting the Streaming memory. Would you advise only 64mb?

LithJoe also tries to find the value for the 76 object limit, I hope he is successful...

I've also tried 128 MB, but didn't see any differences to 64 MB. You should also try 10 MB, that's fun... smile.gif

GTAGuy
  • GTAGuy

    Muten Roshi

  • Members
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2002

#13

Posted 31 July 2003 - 05:01 PM Edited by GTAGuy, 31 July 2003 - 05:01 PM.

Would upping the streaming memory value help VC render high poly models more efficiently?

KCINKCIN
  • KCINKCIN

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2003

#14

Posted 19 August 2003 - 04:27 PM Edited by KCINKCIN, 19 August 2003 - 04:42 PM.

Upon changing any of the limits with the limit adjuster, all of the dynamic cars and peds disappear from my saved game.

If I start a new game, it works fine.

I tried saved games from all over and no cars appear after I have changed a setting in the limit adjuster.

Any idea what's going on??? Thanks.

PineCreek-Skidz
  • PineCreek-Skidz

    Retired GTA Modder

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2002

#15

Posted 19 August 2003 - 05:00 PM

what changes are you making exactly?
We couldnt help you without having the info of all your changes.

skidz

KCINKCIN
  • KCINKCIN

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2003

#16

Posted 19 August 2003 - 05:09 PM Edited by KCINKCIN, 20 August 2003 - 05:21 AM.

Ok, none of the changes work but I'll tell you what I've tried.

Streaming Memory - 44,46

Vehicles - 111

Buildings - 7001, 8000

Dummys - 2341

Thanks for the reply, hope this problem can be solved.



******** UPDATE *********

I reinstalled Vice City, and immediately saved a game.

Then I increased the buildings from 7000 to 7001 in the Limit Adjuster and loaded the game I saved.

Again, all cars disappear.

I know most of you guys are running on XP, but I'm playing off of WinMe, could this have something to do with it?

I have no clue what else it could be.

Thanks.

herre
  • herre

    Crackhead

  • Members
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2003

#17

Posted 29 December 2003 - 07:32 PM

same problem dude tounge.gif
im running XP so that's not the problem

death_entry
  • death_entry

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2003

#18

Posted 29 December 2003 - 08:27 PM

I was wondering if you can look at the code that gives the police their weapons, I want to give the fbi pythons (coz i have changed the to deset eagles) this is all I need to finish off my matrix mod, as I want the fbi to be matrix agents, everything works but I have to make their mp5's look like and fire like the deset eagle. Has anyone written to rockstar asking for some help about this kinda thing? Would they help out their community or are they go away type?

JasonB
  • JasonB

    GTA-SA/GTA-VC/GTA3 Modder Extraordinaire

  • Members
  • Joined: 24 Aug 2002

#19

Posted 02 January 2004 - 09:20 AM

i seriously dought that rockstar would help us modify the game EXE, seing as it says not to in the EULA

[mta]kyeman
  • [mta]kyeman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2004

#20

Posted 27 January 2004 - 05:57 AM

Is this 76 limit still a problem? I don't have time to go through all the posts.

[mta]kyeman
  • [mta]kyeman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2004

#21

Posted 27 January 2004 - 08:42 AM

I'll just post my findings anyway. Someone might find it useful.

Since I'm not a mapper, I'm not able to test if changing these values will allow more IDEs, but this information should be helpful for anyone trying to figure it out.

CODE

0055FEC0 initModelStores proc near
0055FEC0                 push    3885    <---
0055FEC5                 push    68
0055FEC7                 push    offset loc_5602C0
0055FECC                 push    offset sub_5602D0
0055FED1                 push    offset dword_709EB0
0055FED6                 call    sub_6402D0
0055FEDB                 add     esp, 20
0055FEDE                 mov     ideStoreStaticCount, 0
0055FEE8                 push    offset dword_709EA0
0055FEED                 push    offset ideStaticCallback
0055FEF2                 push    offset ideStoreStaticCount
0055FEFC                 add     esp, 0Ch
0055FEFF                 push    385    <---
0055FF04                 push    80
0055FF06                 push    offset loc_560260
0055FF0B                 push    offset sub_560280
0055FF10                 push    offset dword_74A6B4
0055FF15                 call    sub_6402D0
0055FF1A                 add     esp, 14h
0055FF1D                 mov     ideStoreDynamicCount, 0
0055FF27                 push    offset dword_74A6A4
0055FF2C                 push    offset ideDynamicCallback
0055FF31                 push    offset ideStoreDynamicCount

.....

005602A0 ideStaticCallback proc near
005602A0                 push    ebx
005602A1                 mov     ebx, ecx
005602A3                 lea     eax, [ebx+4]
005602A6                 push    3885    <---
005602AB                 push    68
005602AD                 push    offset loc_5602C0
005602B2                 push    eax
005602B3                 call    sub_640300

.....

00560240 ideDynamicCallback proc near
00560240                 push    ebx
00560241                 mov     ebx, ecx
00560243                 lea     eax, [ebx+4]
00560246                 push    385    <---
0056024B                 push    80
0056024D                 push    offset loc_560260
00560252                 push    eax
00560253                 call    sub_640300
.....

0048DD04 loc_48DD04:
0048DD04                 mov     ecx, ds:ptrModelStoreBase[ebx*4]
0048DD0B                 test    ecx, ecx
0048DD0D                 jz      short loc_48DD14
0048DD0F                 mov     ebp, [ecx]
0048DD11                 call    dword ptr [ebp+28]
0048DD14
0048DD14 loc_48DD14:
0048DD14                 inc     ebx
0048DD15                 cmp     ebx, 6500   <---
0048DD1B                 jl      short loc_48DD04


DexX
  • DexX

    Black Hat

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 16 May 2002

#22

Posted 27 January 2004 - 08:52 AM

ooo, indeed! im gonna have a look, how did you find this anyway? what methods do you use?

JernejL
  • JernejL

    Big Homie

  • Feroci Racing
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2002

#23

Posted 27 January 2004 - 10:48 AM

Kyeman, what disassembler do you use? *hits win32dasm with a baseball bat*

[mta]kyeman
  • [mta]kyeman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2004

#24

Posted 27 January 2004 - 11:33 AM

I use IDA mainly and sometimes w32dasm. I'm usually able to find stuff by building a large names list and then back-tracing the calls.

It might be as simple changing the instructions at:
0x55FEC0 push 3885
and
0x5602A6 push 3885

but I'm not completely sure. I could not find a call to GlobalAlloc associated with these procedures, which has me wondering if there's also something else that needs to be changed. I've also searched for an allocation (3885*68) 264184 but did not find it. The place where the stucture data for these models is stored is called the SimpleModelStore.

ghost of delete key
  • ghost of delete key

    ಠ_ಠ ... otter ...

  • The Connection
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2003

#25

Posted 28 January 2004 - 02:38 AM

Huh.
My Ida doesn't love me anymore cryani.gif
No wonder I can't find anything valuable in here...

user posted image

I suppose you're using IDA Pro?

[mta]kyeman
  • [mta]kyeman

    Player Hater

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2004

#26

Posted 28 January 2004 - 06:25 AM Edited by [mta]kyeman, 28 January 2004 - 06:26 AM.

Heh. Yeah, I use IDA pro alien.gif

Hammer83
  • Hammer83

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2003

#27

Posted 26 March 2005 - 08:58 PM

I'm sorry for bumping this very, very old topic. I just want to list the meanings of some of the unknown parameters in Limit Adjuster:

- EntryInfoNode: number of pickups, checkpoints and other pickable items you can create through the script.
- Peds: number of actors you can create through the script.
- Vehicules: number of cars that can be created through the script. Possibly includes the parked cars.
- Objects: number of objects that can be created through the script (those objects defined in the first section of main.scm).
- AudioScriptObj: number of sounds that can be created through the script.

The limits also exist in GTA 3 (gta3.exe v. 1.1 - 0x4A1860) and their values are as follows:
- PtrNode: 30000
- EntryInfoNode: 5400
- Peds: 140
- Vehicules: 110
- Buildings: 5500
- Treadables: 1214
- Objects: 450
- Dummys: 2802
- AudioScriptObj: 256

LimitAdjuster 2.0 maybe? wink.gif

Pagnell
  • Pagnell

    a.k.a. petebog

  • Members
  • Joined: 22 May 2002

#28

Posted 27 March 2005 - 12:26 AM

Treadables?

steve-m
  • steve-m

  • Members
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2002

#29

Posted 27 March 2005 - 01:03 AM

If Andy's findings about the ide limits and world boundaries can be included, it would certainly be a good idea to make a new version.

Hammer83
  • Hammer83

    Hustler

  • Members
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2003

#30

Posted 27 March 2005 - 07:09 AM Edited by Hammer83, 27 March 2005 - 07:12 AM.

QUOTE (Pagnell @ Mar 26 2005, 19:26)
Treadables?

I am not entirely sure what it stands for, but there is more than thousand times more of them in GTA3 than in GTA VC.

QUOTE (steve-m @ Mar 26 2005, 20:03)
If Andy's findings about the ide limits and world boundaries can be included, it would certainly be a good idea to make a new version.


If I understood Andy's findings correctly, he has to reallocate all the memory from one place to another and then change the references from the addresses normally used by exe to the ones he allocated. This is something doable only with the asi. But I might be totally wrong on this issue.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users