Quantcast

Jump to content

» «
Photo

8Mb Graphics Card

10 replies to this topic
Suction Testicle Man
  • Suction Testicle Man

    Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.

  • Moderator
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2002
  • None

#1

Posted 12 June 2003 - 02:16 PM

Look what my crappy 8Mb ATi RAGE Mobility does to Vice City:


What can I do to improve it? (I have a laptopo so cannot upgrade g card)


Vicetopia
  • Vicetopia

    Factory Overclocked

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2003
  • United-States

#2

Posted 12 June 2003 - 10:14 PM

What the hell is an 8 MB video card?!  How old is that thing?

Sheesh...

Atomic
  • Atomic

    teh PC chat rapist....

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2003

#3

Posted 13 June 2003 - 12:07 AM

i think your pretty much screwed on this one, ecspecialy since you cant upgrade you video card, which would fix this problem

GTA3Freak-2001
  • GTA3Freak-2001

    Run out of Cake.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2001

#4

Posted 13 June 2003 - 05:36 AM

Man that's a nice screenshot :p

Its probably using your system RAM to make the graphics card have 32MB or 64MB and the card itself only has 8MB on it so if you have 256MB of system RAM the graphics card will use 24Mb of that to make it 32MB or 56MB of system ram to make it 64MB. So basically its the video card being intergrated that causes those graphical errors.


Atomic
  • Atomic

    teh PC chat rapist....

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2003

#5

Posted 13 June 2003 - 06:57 PM

its not really because he doesnt have enough memory for it, its because it simply lacks the power needed to render those objects.

GTA3Freak-2001
  • GTA3Freak-2001

    Run out of Cake.

  • Members
  • Joined: 25 Nov 2001

#6

Posted 14 June 2003 - 01:34 AM

Yeah I know the main culprit is the card can't produce enough power but the card sucking memory from the system Ram doesn't really help either.

Vicetopia
  • Vicetopia

    Factory Overclocked

  • Members
  • Joined: 18 May 2003
  • United-States

#7

Posted 14 June 2003 - 03:38 AM

I'd throw that thing out the window and shell out $20 to $30 some-odd for a GeForce 2...

ManOfAThousandNames
  • ManOfAThousandNames

    Free Falling

  • Members
  • Joined: 04 Jun 2003

#8

Posted 14 June 2003 - 05:37 AM

He already said he can't upgrade the graphics card.

Listen, you're going to have to invest some cash into a new rig. If you have money to throw around, go with an Alienware or Falcon Northwest computer. If you don't, then build your own (really cheap! )


stealthsniper
  • stealthsniper

    24: Vice City Is Here Early! Go Read Episode 3!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2003

#9

Posted 14 June 2003 - 10:37 PM

what are your other specs? is the FPS okay? id like to know, i could use that information!   :D

Atomic
  • Atomic

    teh PC chat rapist....

  • Members
  • Joined: 28 Apr 2003

#10

Posted 15 June 2003 - 06:39 AM

with that state-of-the-art video card it doesnt really matter, no amount of processor power can fix that   :D

well mabe a 10Ghz P6 but thats beside the point..... :sarcasm:

stealthsniper
  • stealthsniper

    24: Vice City Is Here Early! Go Read Episode 3!

  • Members
  • Joined: 10 Jun 2003

#11

Posted 16 June 2003 - 01:41 AM

lol, Atomic. P6, i bet thats not too far in the future though... :D




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users